Bathurst 1000 progress report: Lap 80

The safety car is getting more laps in than some drivers.

It’s been an unusually messy and odd Bathurst 1000. A large majority of the cars have taken damage in some way, shape or form due to the track conditions. With the race being temporarily suspended to repair the track surface at Griffin’s Bend, this is only the third time a red flag has been flown at Bathurst in its illustrious history.

DJR is out

Dick Johnson Racing is living a horrendous dream as both of their cars have crashed out. Scott Pye lost a wheel coming down Conrod Straight and Steve Johnson (teammate of David Wall) spun it by himself and couldn’t get it going again.

Whincup a lap down

After going into the sand while going through The Chase, Whincup made contact with a Jack Daniel’s Nissan. After pitting for repairs, he was later black-flagged for an unsafe re-entry onto the track. He currently sits one lap down.

Becoming a dangerous track

Turn 2 proving to be very dangerous as we’ve seen many cars going into the wall at that spot. Citing a degrading track along with debris, we’ve seen Taz Douglas, Scott Pye, Dale Wood and Paul Morris (just to name a few) go into the same wall at the exact same spot and without any assistance from another driver. What makes matters worse is that the track appears to be getting worse as the race goes on. So much so that Douglas, after crashing for the second time at the same spot, said that he’s “glad” he doesn’t have to go out anymore because the track is degrading so fast.

Scott Pye also suffered a race-ending crash, as seen below.


Volvo still on top

The #33 Volvo still holds a strong lead and have shown incredible pace so far. He’s being pursued by Nick Percat, Shane van Gisbergen, Mark Winterbottom and Lee Holdsworth.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Bathurst
Track Mount Panorama Circuit
Drivers Paul Morris , Mark Winterbottom , Lee Holdsworth , Steve Johnson , Dick Johnson , David Wall , Shane van Gisbergen , Dale Wood , Taz Douglas , Nick Percat , Scott Pye
Teams Nissan Motorsport
Article type Race report