Australian V8 Supercars Townsville 400 Race 1 Report

Australian V8 Supercars Townsville 400 Race 1 Report

Townsville Street Circuit

Story Highlights

  • Tander earns 49th series victory
  • Holds off Whincup for the win
  • Davison finishes third

Tander Wins First Race Of Sucrogen Townsville 400

Toll Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander has won the opening race of the Sucrogen Townsville 400 today, holding off TeamVodafone’s Jamie Whincup to take his second race win of the season.

Podium: race winner Garth Tander, second place Jamie Whincup, third place Will Davison
Podium: race winner Garth Tander, second place Jamie Whincup, third place Will Davison

Photo by: Chris Von Wieldt

Today’s win is the 49th race win of the 34 year-old’s career and it moves him into third place on the list of most ATCC/V8 Supercar Championship wins.

It also marks the Holden Racing Team’s 199th race win since the team was formed in 1990.

“Everyone wrote us off after Darwin and said we were done, but the team just kept believing. They gave me a great car today and this is just awesome,” said Tander.

“I think fatherhood agrees with me!”

Trading Post Racing’s Will Davison held off a late race charge from Craig Lowndes to claim the final spot on the podium – his second since switching to the factory Ford team at the beginning of this year.

“I thought we were looking alright with five to go and then I hit a cliff. I knew Lowndes was coming and I thought ‘I’m not letting this podium go’,” said Davison.

“Our speed was really encouraging and I had a lot of fun.”

Ford Performance Racing’s Mark Winterbottom finished fifth, ahead of Lee Holdsworth (Fujitsu Racing), Rick Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing), Steve Owen (VIP Petfoods Racing), Jason Bright (Team BOC) and Russell Ingall (Supercheap Auto Racing).

Stratco Racing’s David Reynolds maximised his start on the soft tyre and led the early stages of the race, but he was forced to pit with alternator problems that subsequently left him without a cool suit for most of the race. He eventually finished 24th.

Shane van Gisbergen was tapped by SBR teammate Tim Slade at the final turn. Slade received a drive thru penalty for the incident, while Van Gisbergen recovered to finish 11th.

Qualifying for tomorrow’s final 200-kilometre race of the Sucrogen Townsville 400 starts at 11.40am, ahead of the race start at 3.35pm.

by: v8supercars.aus

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers Garth Tander , Will Davison , Jason Bright , Russell Ingall , Rick Kelly , Craig Lowndes , Jamie Whincup , Mark Winterbottom , Steve Owen , Lee Holdsworth , Tim Slade , Shane van Gisbergen , David Reynolds
Teams Holden Racing Team
Tags australia, ausv8, davison, queensland, tander, whincup