AUS Utes: Series Townsville Sunday report

Elsegood closes in on V8 Ute Series Lead while a Rockstar takes his first Win Coopers Clear Racing's Jack "The Hustler" Elsegood claimed Round 4 of the 2010 Yokohama V8 Ute Racing Series & ...

Elsegood closes in on V8 Ute Series Lead while a Rockstar takes his first Win

Coopers Clear Racing's Jack "The Hustler" Elsegood claimed Round 4 of the 2010 Yokohama V8 Ute Racing Series –protected by Armor All at Townsville, Sunday, 11th July.

The Hustler battled it out with Hi Tech Motorsport teammate Grant Johnson all weekend with Johnson finishing second for the round after claiming the Race 1 win yesterday and the Race 3 win this afternoon. Johnson still managed to hold on to his Series lead although a penalty in race 2 for turning around NZ champ Chris Pither dropped his lead back to just 21 points ahead of Elsegood.

Race 2, which was a reverse of top 12 finishing positions from Race 1, saw the Rookies in the limelight. Jeremy Gray (Rockstar Energy Drink) claimed the Race 2 win ahead of veterans Gary Baxter and Elsegood. NRW Holdings, Rhys McNally drove well to end in fourth ahead of fellow Rookie Rival, David Sieders in 5th.

Charlie "Handlebars" Kovacs (Wilson Security) drove well to pass 21 Utes to claim the SS Inductions Hard Charger Award and $500 cash.

Thirsty Camel Racing's Craig Dontas was handed a drive through penalty after a false start (was on P3 at the time) and in with a good chance for a win. Ryal Harris was also given a black flag after his bonnet lifted up in the first lap – the Gold Coaster managed to drive the car into Pit Lane.

CNW Electric's Peter Burnitt received a drive through penalty for a coming together with Ben Dunn (Storage King/Red Ass Mexican Food).

Bob Jane T-Marts driver Kim Jane was also docked 9 series points for an incident with Andrew Fisher, Brad Patton (Chill/Wicked Energy Drink) for contact with David Sieders and Rob Jarvis (BVC Racing) was reprimanded for taking out Nandi Kiss at turn 13.

Ford and Holden shared the front row for the final which was set to be a blinder. Elsegood was on pole with Johnson alongside, Gray and Sieders on the second row.

Johnson was on fire from the start and was never headed, although Elsegood pushed hard all race. Jeremy Gray continued his great form pushing Elsegood all the way in the Rockstar Ford.

Rob Jarvis in the BVC Ford was unlucky to be turned around by local newcomer Graham Edwards (QDP Directional Boring/WBR) on the first lap of the race, however the big battle was for the top ten spots with Jane (4th), Pither (5th), Sieders (6th), McNally (7th), Fisher (8th) and Paul Williams (GBF Underground Minings) who managed to round out the top ten. West Aussie Williams got off to a great start and was awarded the Champion Spark Plugs Hole Shot Award and $500 cash for his efforts.

Pither's Ice Break Holden and David Sieder's Nulon Ford staged a thrilling street fight with Pither getting around the outside of the former V8 Supercar driver's Ford in a stunning move at Turn 1, although Sieders continued to push Pither all the way and finished 4th for the round.

Jesus Racing's Andrew Fisher finished 5th overall after copping a short back and sides in every race due to the close action all weekend. Fisher deserved a better result however the Jesus/Gloria Jeans Ford will be re-born for the next round and is still sitting a close 3rd in the series.

Adelaide's Craig Dontas managed 10th for the round behind, Pither in 9th, SAGE Automation's Gary Baxter in 8th birthday boy Rhys McNally in 7th and Jane in 6th.

The V8 Utes will be back on the track for Round 5 at Phillip Island in September but to re-cap on all of the action from Townsville tune into Network Seven, Saturday, 24th July at 1:30pm.

-source: aus v8 utes

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series V8S
Drivers Grant Johnson , Bob Jane , Chris Pither , David Sieders , Andrew Fisher , Jeremy Gray , Ben Dunn , Brad Patton , Phillip Island
Teams Williams