AUS Utes: Seires Adelaide race 2 report

'Super' Sieders Dashes to Maiden V8 Ute Win In his first ever V8 Ute race, David "Sideways" Sieders scored an emphatic win in front of a lively and vocal Clipsal 500 crowd to lead home some of the superstars of the category in Race Two of Round...

'Super' Sieders Dashes to Maiden V8 Ute Win

In his first ever V8 Ute race, David "Sideways" Sieders scored an emphatic win in front of a lively and vocal Clipsal 500 crowd to lead home some of the superstars of the category in Race Two of Round One of the 2010 Yokohama V8 Ute Racing Series -protected by Armor All.

The 25 year old Londonderry (NSW) based lead foot started on pole position for the 8-lap race but had to out-drive the 2007 Series Champion Grant Johnson before he could record the historic win.

"I'm thrilled," he grinned after his Channel Seven interview, "considering what we went through just to get here, it's an awesome result. The guys from XL Express had to rush the car down from Queensland for us to get to Adelaide in time and in the end all their hard work has paid off."

It wasn't all beer and skittles however for Sieders, he almost coughed up the race lead with only two laps to go.

"I saw him out brake himself in turn nine," said Grant Johnson, "but I just couldn't get close enough to take advantage. I missed a gear coming out of turn seven and that hurt my momentum really badly. I couldn't get close enough to really put the pressure on unfortunately."

Johnson sped the largely un-sponsored Permacoat SS Holden to second place at the fall of the chequers to lead home "The Boss" Gary MacDonald in the Ice-Break Ice Coffee Holden in third, defending series champion Jack "The Hustler" Elsegood in the Coopers Clear XR8 Falcon in fourth and Ryal Harris rounding out the top five in the Barnacle Bill's SS Holden.

Andrew Fisher brought the Jesus All About Life #9 Falcon home in sixth (another solid result for the team) with Kim Jane bringing back his Bob Jane T-Marts SS Holden in seventh, followed by an outstanding debut by Jeremy Gray in the ex George Miedecke XR8 Falcon in eighth.

Brad Patton steered the DC Shoes / Chill XR8 Falcon home in ninth ahead of Ben Dunn's #99 in tenth, Charlie Kovacs in the newly liveried Wilson Security #69 SS Holden and Ben Kavich in twelfth after his devoted crew pulled an ‘all nighter' to repair the once pristine blue and yellow Workhorse Collision Repair XR8 Falcon after it was involved in a major shunt the day before.

Home in thirteenth was the Samboy Chips / Hungry Jacks SS Holden of Scott "Slamboy" Jennings after he battled with Wollongong racer Gary Carson in the SelecTV XR8 Falcon.

20 year old V8 Ute rookie Rhys McNally continues to impress in his elder brother (from last year) Glenn's NRW SS Holden and he placed fifteenth in his first ever V8 Ute event.

"I'm pleased," smiled his supportive Dad Gary post-race, "I think he's going very well. He's very smooth and he looks after the car. I think his Formula Ford experience really helps him keep the car straight and keep the momentum up. I'm very happy with his debut."

Greg Willis brought his Grove Fruit Juices XR8 back in 16th ahead of Peter "Gangsta" Burnitt in one of his best results in the CNW Electrical Falcon to score 17th.

Craig Dontas soldiered through in his Thirsty Camel SS Holden to 18th ahead of "Captain" Robert Jarvis in the BVC Coaches XR8, Jason Gomersall (I-SEEK Falcon) in 20th, George Elliot (Vittoria Coffee VE) rookie Grant Ludbey (Variety Motorsport VE) Steve "Boss Hogg" McFadden in the #5 DDS Transport XR8 Falcon, Warren Millet (Wake Up #88 VE), Paul Williams (GBF Underground Mining Holden), Pedro Marusic (Ice-Break Racing Holden) and Noel Edge's SEW Eurodrive Falcon rounding out the finishers.

One of SA's biggest hopes for victory Gary "Chucky" Baxter exited the event in spectacular fashion for the second time in as many rounds when his Sage Automation / HMNS Holden blew the motor and erupted in smoke.

The Holden hero was in a position to challenge for the lead when his Holden created a major smoke hazard coming out of the Senna Chicane on lap three.

2008 V8 Ute Series Champion Layton Crambrook got caught up in an incident with Ryal Harris, the result seeing Harris penalised post race with a 25 second penalty that dropped him from 5th to 16th.

Post-race however several penalties were handed out including:

Jason Gomersall being handed a 25 second penalty for contact/blocking (driver conduct) with the #55 of George Elliot.

Ryal Harris handed a 25 second penalty for blocking (driver conduct) the Layton Crambrook #71.

Tomorrow race will be telecast LIVE on Network Seven at 1pm and will feature a two driver format with pit stop and compulsory driver change mid race. Grid positions are based on the aggregate results of Race 1 and 2 and will see Jeremy Gray and George Miedecke on Pole position for Ford with Gary MacDonald and Luke Youlden sharing the front row for Holden.

Kim Jane/Steve Owen and Grant Johnson/Tony Longhurst will start from the second row ahead of Andrew Fisher/Rick Bates and Jack Elsegood/Andrew Miedecke. Local favourite Charlie Kovacs driving with his son will start from position 9 in the Wilson Security Holden.

-source: aus utes

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series V8S
Drivers Steve Owen , Luke Youlden , Rick Bates , Tony Longhurst , Grant Johnson , Bob Jane , Charlie Kovacs , Jack Elsegood , Layton Crambrook , Greg Willis , Andrew Fisher , Jeremy Gray , Andrew Miedecke , Jason Gomersall , Ben Dunn , Brad Patton
Teams Williams