USF2000 Championship goes down to the wire

Florian Latorre is the 2014 USF2000 champion.

The Cooper Tires USF2000 Chamionship Powered by Mazda came down to the last race at Sonoma Raceway and fans were not disappointed.

RC Enerson started second alongside Florian Latorre heading into the first turn and led the first ten laps of the 15 lap race.  However, Latorre was able to get around Enerson to lead the last five laps of the season and clinch the USF2000 championship a day after disaster struck the Frenchman.

Latorre had finished last in the previous day’s race, so today was the last chance for this season’s most consistent driver to put in a drive worthy of a championship.  Enerson was doing all he could but unfortunately had to settle for second.  The other championship contender, Jake Eidson, finished third with Aaron Telitz finishing fourth.

Latorre will win the scholarship package from Mazda to move to Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires next season while it is unsure what Enerson will do for 2015.  Rumors are around that he and Team E might move to the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires championship, but nothing has been confirmed.

Other notable drivers from this weekend had less than stellar second races.  Colton Herta did manage a top ten finish, but earlier in the weekend had a top five car in practice.  Peter Portante, yesterday’s fastest lap winner, could only manage a 17th place finish.

This concludes the action for the 2014 USF2000 championship and congratulations to Florian Latorre for winning the championship.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series USF2000
Drivers R.C. Enerson , Peter Portante , Jake Eidson , Colton Herta , Florian Latorre , Aaron Telitz
Article type Race report