Kiwi racer Munro enters USF2000 with Pelfrey

James Munro will race for Team Pelfrey in the 2016 edition of the USF2000 series, making his first foray into the American single-seater scene.

Munro, 19, was the 2013 New Zealand Formula Ford champion and won the Formula Masters China title the year after.

Last season, he did two rounds of FIA's Japanese F4 series and took a class win in December's Sepang 12 Hours.

“I'm really looking forward to joining the Mazda Road to Indy," Munro told "With Team Pelfrey I feel like I'm in the right team to challenge at the front of the field.

"All the tracks will be new to me this year but I'm sure that, with the previous experience I have of all sorts of different cars and tracks, I can adapt quickly.”

Pelfrey entered USF2000 in 2015, running an all-rookie line-up in its four cars and scoring a sole podium courtesy of Luke Gabin.

With Munro's signing, its 2016 line-up is likewise comprised of four newcomers, the Kiwi joining Robert Megennis, Jordan Cane and TJ Fischer.

2016 USF2000 line-up so far:

Team Driver
Cape  Parker Thompson
 Nikita Lastochkin
Chastain  Sam Chastain
JCR  Ayla Agren
Pabst  Garth Rickards
 Yufeng Luo
Pelfrey  Robert Megennis
 Jordan Cane
 TJ Fischer
 James Munro
RJB  Michai Stephens
Spencer  Eric Filgueiras
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series USF2000
Drivers James Munro
Teams Team Pelfrey
Article type Breaking news