Ayla Agren joins JCR for second USF2000 season

Norwegian racer Ayla Agren will continue in Mazda Road to Indy's USF2000 series in 2016, having signed with John Cummiskey Racing.

Agren, 22, contested the F1600 series in 2013 and 2014, winning the championship title on her second attempt with Team Pelfrey.

Her and Pelfrey moved to USF2000 last year, where she ended up 10th overall, with a best finish of sixth.

“Team Pelfrey and I accomplished a lot together, especially during the 2014 season,” Agren told Motorsport.com.

“We are all on good terms, and they are still a big part of my racing family. But I felt that, for my driving development, it would be good to work with some new people.”

John Cummiskey Racing entered USF2000 full-time in 2015 and took its main driver – rookie Anthony Martin – to fourth in the standings.

Agren is the team's only confirmed 2016 signing thus far, although it is believed JCR will run a multi-car squad.

“I was very impressed with John Cummiskey Racing's results and progress last year,” Agren added. “I am super excited to see what we can do together.”

“Our goal is to win the championship – and taking it one race at a time, I believe we will get there.”

2016 USF2000 line-up so far:

Team Driver
Cape  Parker Thompson
 Nikita Lastochkin
Chastain  Sam Chastain
JCR  Ayla Agren
Pabst  Garth Rickards
 Yufeng Luo
Pelfrey  Robert Megennis
 Jordan Cane
 TJ Fischer
RJB  Michai Stephens
Spencer  Eric Filgueiras


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series USF2000
Drivers Ayla Agren
Article type Breaking news