TSM files two entries for PAS Oval Nationals

TONY STEWART MOTORSPORTS ENTERS 2 IN BUDWEISER OVAL NATIONALS! (OCTOBER 12, 2006, PERRIS, CA) The Tony Stewart Motorsports duo of Levi Jones and Josh Wise head the latest group of entries for the 11th Annual Budweiser Oval Nationals presented by...


(OCTOBER 12, 2006, PERRIS, CA) The Tony Stewart Motorsports duo of Levi Jones and Josh Wise head the latest group of entries for the 11th Annual Budweiser Oval Nationals presented by Temecula Valley Pipe & Supply at Perris Auto Speedway on November 2nd, 3rd and 4th. The Oval Nationals is a full points paying race for the USAC National Sprint Car Series and the USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series. Saturdays 40-lap A main event will pay $30,000.00 to the winner.

In entering Wise and Jones, Tony Stewart Motorsports, a two-time Oval Nationals car owner team, is entering the two leading drivers in the USAC National Sprint Car Series. Wise, a 23 year-old who grew up in Riverside, California, is no stranger to victory circle at The PAS as he posted main event wins with SCRA and the VRA 360 Nationals at the track in the past. He currently leads teammate Jones by 113-points in the USAC National Sprint Car Series. Wise has made the final of the Oval Nationals three times in the past with a best finish of 11th in 2003.

Jones, who is a native of Olney, Illinois, won the 2005 USAC National Sprint Car championship. He has made the Oval Nationals A main event the past four years. His best finish came in 2004 when he finished third behind Cory Kruseman and Josh Ford. He was 11th in 2005.J Speaking of Josh Ford, he is another one of the recent entries. In the 2004 A min event, Ford lost to Kruseman in a photo finish. Ford, who makes his home in Camarillo, California, was the USAC National Sprint Car Rookie of the Year in 2004. He has one USAC/CRA main event win and that came at The PAS in 2005. By the way, rookie Brian Camarillo will be making his Oval Nationals debut as a teammate to Ford.

One of the hottest drivers on the West Coast, Norco, California's Tony Jones, has thrown his hat in the ring as well. Driving for the Alexander Motorsports team, Jones has posted a career best five wins in 2006. He has won three of the four 40-lap main events at The PAS this season and that bodes well as the Oval Nationals A main will be 40-laps this year. Jones won the Oval Nationals in 2000 and finished a close second to Campbell, California's Bud Kaeding in the 2001 running of the event. However, the likeable veteran has missed the Oval Nationals A main event the past three years.

Speaking of Kaeding, the two-time Oval Nationals Champion just submitted his entry as well. As stated above, Kaeding won the 2001 Oval Nationals and became the first two-tome winner in 2002 when he beat Troy Rutherford and JJ Yeley to the checkered flag. The newly crowned USAC Silver Crown Champion ended up third in the 2003 Oval Nationals.

Another top California driver, Mike Spencer of Temecula, just signed his entry on the dotted line. The Cal Poly Pomona graduate recently notched the first two 410 sprint car main event wins of this career. In addition to the victories, Spencer, 25, has parlayed several other podium finishes to fourth in the USAC/CRA standings. Spencer has made the Oval Nationals A main event the last four years and has never finished worse than seventh! His best finish in the prestigious race came last year when he finished fourth.

The always-entertaining Danny "Showtime" Sheridan, driver of the pretty blue Kittle Plumbing #18, has submitted his entry in the $30,000.00 to win race. After coming close on numerous occasions, the 1997 IMCA and 1998 Bandit Sprint Car Champion finally bagged his first USAC/CRA main event win last Saturday (October 7th) at The PAS. The veteran driver has made the Oval Nationals A main event five times with a best ever finish of 12th in 2004.

Plainfield, Indiana's Bill Rose has been entered as the driver of Anne Wilkerson's #11 car. Rose has spent the 2006 season racing with the World of Outlaws and is currently 16th in WoO points. Rose finished sixth in the 1997 Oval Nationals. Another Indiana driver, Scotty Weir of Marion, will be making his Oval Nationals debut this year. Weir is currently ranked 11th in USAC National Sprint Car points.

Corona, California veteran Steve Ostling, who has only missed one Oval Nationals A main event since the race began in 1996, will be steering the Warren Dorathy owned red #21 when the action gets underway on November 2nd. Affectionately known as the Mexican National Champion, the former Jack Kindoll Classic champion's best finish in the Oval Nationals came in 1997 when he placed 5th.

Rocklin, California's 17 year-old sensation Robert Ballou heads into the Oval Nationals with some impressive wins in 2006. Known as the "Rocklin Rocket" or "Madman," Ballou recorded Golden State Challenge wins at Watsonville & Placerville and he scored another winged win at Chico. On August 15th in only his fourth ever non-wing race, he wrestled the lead away from talented Bud Kaeding and then held off Kaeding, Jon Stanbrough and Levi Jones to win the opening round of the O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Comp Cams Topless Tour at Nebraska Raceway Park's I-80 Speedway.J Other recent entries include: Ventura Racing Association star and 2003 USAC Western Sprint Car Rookie of the Year Greg Taylor. Fresno, California charger Michael Trimble, who finished seventh and eight respectively in the USAC Western Sprint Car Series in 2004 and 2005. Arizona's Mike Leslie and Banning, California's Joe Gunderson.JLong time car owner Don Blair has entered his #12 car with a driver yet to be named.

The Oval Nationals will encompass six days in 2006. On Tuesday night, October 31st, there will be a practice session for all entered cars that will be free for fans. November 1st will feature the 1st Annual Oval Nationals Golf Tournament in the daytime followed by the Golf Tournament Banquet that night. The first night of the racing will be Thursday, November 2nd. Friday November 3rd will the second night of preliminary action and practice for the quarter-midget races (on the pavement out front) that will be open to all quarter-midget drivers from around the nation. During the daytime on Saturday, November 4th, the quarter-midget races will take place and the 3rd Annual Pick-A-Part Oval Nationals Bean Bag (Cornhole as it is known in the Midwest) Tournament will be held as well. Saturday night will feature the main events including the $30,000.00 to win A main. The week will conclude with the Cory Kruseman Sprint Car Driving School on Sunday, November 5th.

Advance tickets for the 2006 Oval Nationals are on sale 24 hours a day by calling 1-800-595-4849. You can also order advance tickets on the Internet at tix.com or perrisautospeedway.com.

-credit: pas

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series USAC
Drivers Tony Stewart , Scotty Weir , Bud Kaeding , Tony Jones , Cory Kruseman , Levi Jones , Josh Wise , Jon Stanbrough , Mike Leslie , Josh Ford , Bill Rose , Mike Spencer , Troy Rutherford