JJ Yeley Returns at IRP

INDIANAPOLIS (May 19, 1999) -- Three and a half months after his last event in Phoenix, the No. 67 CARQUEST USAC Coors Light Silver Bullet Series car with Phoenix native J.J. Yeley will again take to the track, May 22, as Indianapolis Raceway...

INDIANAPOLIS (May 19, 1999) -- Three and a half months after his last event in Phoenix, the No. 67 CARQUEST USAC Coors Light Silver Bullet Series car with Phoenix native J.J. Yeley will again take to the track, May 22, as Indianapolis Raceway Park hosts the USAC Coca-Cola 100. A week ago, Yeley wheeled the Zarounian-Helmling Motorsports' CARQUEST car at IRP in anticipation of the Coca-Cola 100. Team owner Rollie Helmling was pleased with the team's progress.

"When we went out to IRP to test Sunday, we tried to simulate what condition may be like Saturday night," Helmling said. "Defending series champion Jason Leffler was also at the track and he was a bit faster than us, but overall we were happy with the consistent numbers J.J. was able to turn in. I think were are in good shape for Saturday night."

Defending series champion Jason Leffler will be just one of a handful of drivers that will compete with CARQUEST's J.J. Yeley for the Coca-Cola 100 title. Also entered are Dave Steele of Tampa, Fla. in the Johnny Vance Racing Team No. 2; USAC Sprint Car champion Tony Elliott of Kokomo, Ind. in the Gene Nolen No. 20; Jack Hewitt of Troy, Ohio in the Dewit Racing No. 23; and NASCAR Craftsman Truck Driver Mike Bliss in the Snider/Foyt car.

In addition, at least three outstanding supermodified veterans will be among those in the field. Already entered are Kenny Hamilton of Boise, Idaho; Doug Didero of Mooresville, N.C.; and Rebel Jackson Jr. of Buckley, Wash.

The top 20 qualifiers in time trials will automatically advance to the 100-lap Silver Bullet feature, while the remaining ten spots will be filled by the top finishers in a 15-lap qualifying race. If an extremely large number of entries are received, there will be two qualifying races with the top five in each making the feature.0

Spectator gates at IRP will open at 3:00 p.m. (CST) on Saturday, May 22. USAC Silver Bullet practice will start at 5:00 p.m., followed by qualifications at 6:00 p.m. The EVTC feature is scheduled to take the green flag at 7:45 p.m., and the Silver Bullet qualifying race will begin at 8:30 p.m.

Additional information on the event, as well as ticket information, may be obtained by contacting Indianapolis Raceway Park at (317) 291-4090. To listen to the CARQUEST Silver Crown radio frequency, tune to (461.250). Track records up for grabs Saturday night include Jim Keeker's 1-lap 1995 mark of 119.143 mph and Johnny Parsons' 100-lap 1991 record of 97.630 mph.

ESPN2 will televised the event LIVE at 8:30 (CST) with Yeley carrying the CARQUEST On-Board Camera.


      1. Dave Steele     114     6. Billy Puterbaugh, Jr.             75
      2. Brian Tyler     108     7. Mike Bliss                         63
      3. Ryan Newman     105     8. Todd Kane                     63
      4. Russ Gamester    96     9. J.J. YELEY                     62
      5. Jason Leffler    93    10. Brad Noffsinger             58

The Zarounian-Helmling Motorsports team is co-owned by Rollie Helmling and Gary Zarounian. Helmling is a Vincennes, Indiana businessman who is owner and president of Harold's Supermarkets and a business partner with NASCAR Winston Cup and seven-time Indy 500 driver John Andretti in Andretti-Helmling Automotive Corporation, which owns CARQUEST auto parts stores. Helmling has owned championship USAC cars that were driven by today's NASCAR stars: Ken Schrader, John Andretti, Jeff Gordon, and Tony Stewart. Team co-owner Gary Zarounian is a central California businessman with interests in automobile dealerships and real estate. He has owned many West Coast championship USAC cars with his most success coming with driver Sleepy Tripp.

J.J. Yeley is a Phoenix, Arizona native, the 22-year-old Yeley is one of the brightest stars of open wheel racing today. The son of Judy and "Cactus" Jack Yeley, a seven time Arizona midget and two-time "World of Outlaws" midget champion, J.J. has made his presence known in midgets, sprint cars, Silver Crown and Indy Cars. J.J. was the youngest driver to compete in the 1998 Indianapolis 500 and he finished 9th. After winning many Sprint Car races in Arizona and California, J.J. came to the Midwest in 1997 to tackle the USAC Sprint Car Series, winning 5 events in his first season. Last he finished the season sixth in USAC Silver Crown points, with victories at Sacramento and St. Louis, his first two career Silver Crown victories. He had four top five finishes and was the only competitor in 1998 to win on dirt and pavement. This season J.J. will wheel the CARQUEST Silver Crown car at all fifteen of the United States Auto Club - Coors Light Silver Bullet Series races with his ultimate goal winning the USAC Silver Crown Championship for the CARQUEST-sponsored Zarounian-Helmling Motorsports team.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series USAC
Drivers John Andretti , Jeff Gordon , Jason Leffler , Ken Schrader , Ryan Newman , J.J. Yeley , Dave Steele , Jack Hewitt , Brian Tyler , Tony Elliott , Mike Bliss , Brad Noffsinger , Johnny Parsons , Russ Gamester