Indianapolis Fair Grounds results

Indianapolis, Ind. - Results Friday night (September 22) from the running of A.J. Foyt's True Value "Hulman-Hoosier Hundred" Coors Light Silver Bullet Series Race at the Indiana State Fairgrounds, with starting position in parentheses, ...

Indianapolis, Ind. - Results Friday night (September 22) from the running of A.J. Foyt's True Value "Hulman-Hoosier Hundred" Coors Light Silver Bullet Series Race at the Indiana State Fairgrounds, with starting position in parentheses, driver, hometown, laps completed, reason out if any and money won:

Tony Elliott of Kokomo, Ind. won A.J. Foyt's True Value "Hulman/Hoosier Hundred" Friday night at the Indiana State Fairgrounds, leading the final 20 laps after Ed Carpenter grazed the inside guardrail in turn three and spun. Carpenter had led the first 80 laps after winning the pole position, his first in the Coors Light Silver Bullet Series. "We kept getting faster as the race wore on," said Elliott after the race, "but Ed had a strong car and I'm not sure we could have caught him. I think he just went into the turn too hard and caught the inside guardrail with his left front tire." Elliott started third in his's Interstate Brick & Block Special and passed Tracy Hines for second on the 46th lap. He remained there until Carpenter's misfortune. The race was red-flagged on lap eight when Tom Capie of Trevose, Pa. hit the outside wall and flipped end-over-end while running second. He was uninjured. "We didn't make any changes on the red," said Elliott. "We just switched from four-wheel to three-wheel brakes and that helped." Jack Hewitt of Troy, Ohio finished second in his bid to score a career record 24th victory. "I knew if I stayed in the groove at the end Jack couldn't get me," added Elliott. Hines finished third and emerged with the series point lead over Dave Darland by one point. Darland finished ninth. John Heydenreich and Brad Noffsinger rounded out the "top-five" at the checkered flag. Brian Tyler, who led the standings before the race, won the "qualifying race" but hit the wall coming out of turn four on the 15th lap and slipped to third in the new standings as a result. Kasey Kahne of Enumclaw, Wash. earned the Oliver Trucking "Rookie of the Race" Award for his 10th-place finish. Indy Racing League veterans Donnie Beechler and J.J. Yeley brought out two of the four yellow flags when their cars stalled on laps 16 and 93 respectively. <pre> 1. (3) Tony Elliott, Kokomo, Ind., 100, $9,100, No Speed due to red flag. 2. (9) Jack Hewitt, Troy, Ohio, 100, $4,650. 3. (4) Tracy Hines, New Castle, Ind., 100, $3,000. 4. (11) John Heydenreich, Bloomsburg, Pa., 100, $2,000. 5. (7) Brad Noffsinger, Concord, N.C., 100, $1,800. 6. (8) Jay Drake, Val Verde, Calif., 100, $1,600. 7. (17) Gary Hieber, Langhorne, Pa., 100, $1,400. 8. (12) Jerry Coons, Jr., Tucson, Ariz., 100, $1,200. 9. (18) Dave Darland, Kokomo, Ind., 100, $1,100. 10. (6) Kasey Kahne, Enumclaw, Wa., 100, $1,500. 11. (22) Jimmy Sills, Placerville, Calif., 100, $900. 12. (19) Russ Gamester, Peru, Ind., 100, $800. 13. (29) Brad Fox, Avon, Ind., 100, $700. 14. (13) Bill Rose, Plainfield, Ind., 100, $600. 15. (16) Paul White, Temple, Texas, 100, $500. 16. (24) Derek Davidson, Lafayette, Ind., 99, Out of Fuel, $500. 17. (20) Greg Wilson, Benton Ridge, Ohio, 99, $500. 18. (23) Joe McCarthy, Broomfield, Colo., 98, $500. 19. (5) J.J. Yeley, Phoenix, Ariz., 92, Drive Line, $500. 20. (1) Ed Carpenter, Indianapolis, Ind., 80, Accident, $500. 21. (26) Rich Tobias, Jr., Annville, Pa., 74, Egnine, $400. 22. (10) Terry Pletch, Frankfort, Ind., 69, Handling, $400. 23. (30) Jackie Burke, Houston, Texas, 59, Steering, $400. 24. (28) Donnie Beechler, Springfield, Ill., 39, Ignition, $400. 25. (25) Ryan Newman, South Bend, Ind., 29, Steering, $850. 26. (15) Robby Flock, Murrieta, Calif., 24, Engine, $350. 27. (21) Brian Tyler, Parma, Mich., 14, Accident, $350. 28. (2) Tom Capie, Jr., Trevose, Pa., 6, Accident $350. 29. (14) Todd Kane, Delaware, Ohio, 5, Engine, $350. 30. (27) Ricky Shelton, Huntington Beach, Calif., 4, Engine, $350.

Average Speed: NONE-Red Flag. Time of Race: NONE-Red Flag. Caution Flags: 4 for 16 laps Lead Changes: 1 among 2 drivers Lap Leaders: Laps 1-80 Carpenter, Laps 81-100 Elliott. Fastest Qualifier: Ed Carpenter - 32.490 seconds, 110.803 mph. Qualifying Race Winner: (15 laps) Brian Tyler Coors Light Silver Bullet Point Standings: 1-Hines-396; 2-Darland-395; 3-Tyler-389; 4-Noffsinger-347; 5-Heydenreich-324; 6-Yeley-322; 7-Hewitt-319; 8-Elliott-297; 9-Kahne-285; 10-Gamester-283.

The next Coors Light Silver Bullet race is the "4-Crown Nationals" September 29-30 at the Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. That will be FOLLOWED by the October 7 race at CalExpo in Sacramento, Calif.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series USAC
Drivers Ryan Newman , Donnie Beechler , Kasey Kahne , Dave Darland , J.J. Yeley , Tracy Hines , Jack Hewitt , Brian Tyler , Tony Elliott , Jay Drake , John Heydenreich , Brad Noffsinger , Russ Gamester , Paul White , Jerry Coons , Tom Capie , Gary Hieber , Jimmy Sills , Robby Flock , Jackie Burke , Greg Wil , A.J. Foyt , Bill Rose , Ed Carpenter , Ricky Shelton