Hawkeys Downs review, Anderson, Eldora previews

Lewis ...

Lewis #1 at Cedar Rapids; "Hulman Classic" to Yeley; Sprint Cars at Anderson Wednesday, Eldora Sunday.

The USAC National Sprint Car Series will compete Wednesday night at the Anderson (Ind.) Speedway, then travel to Rossburg, Ohio for Sunday night's race at the Eldora Speedway.

J.J. Yeley of Phoenix, Ariz. leads the series standings after his victory in Saturday night's 33rd "Tony Hulman Classic" at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track. He and teammate Cory Kruseman posted a 1-2 finish for the Tony Stewart Racing Team in the 30-lap race, the first 1-2 car owner sweep in the series since Tracy Hines and Dave Steele did it for GMS Racing at Indianapolis Raceway Park in June of 2000.

Yeley led all 30 laps at Terre Haute in his Twister/Mopar to beat Kruseman, Boston Reid, Levi Jones and Bud Kaeding. The previous night, Yeley finished fourth at Hawkeye Downs Speedway in Cedar Rapids, Iowa as Michael Lewis of Noblesville, Ind. won the 40-lap "Advance Auto Parts Hawkeye Downs Open Wheel Classic" presented by Papa John's. Bobby East, Jay Drake, Yeley and Jason McCord rounded out the "top-five." Lewis led all but one lap of the 40-lap race as McCord led by inches on lap 23. The win was the second straight for Lewis and the Hoosier Tire/Weld Wheels Beast/Chevy, who also won at Winchester, Ind. May 4.

Yeley's lead over Hines stands at 49 points going into Wednesday night's Anderson race, which will be featured on the Speed Channel at 8 pm ET on June 7. A 50-lap feature is on tap at the 1/4-mile paved oval, which will host the 55th running of the PayLess Delco Remy "Little 500" on Saturday night. Wednesday's "Little 500" practice gets under way at 11 am, while practice for the Wednesday night program starts at 3:30 pm. Qualifying begins at 5:45 and racing starts at 7:30.

Sunday night's events at Eldora Speedway, which hosts the "Mopar Million Sprint at Eldora" September 20-21, start with practice at 6:30. Qualifying is scheduled for 7 and racing gets under way at 8. The feature is 30 laps.

The June 7 USAC Sprint Car race, originally scheduled at Indianapolis Raceway Park, has been removed from the 2003 calendar.


1. J.J. Yeley 309
2. Tracy Hines 260
3. Bud Kaeding 240
4. Jay Drake 214
5. Levi Jones 207
6. Boston Reid 206
7. Brian Tyler 195
8. Dave Darland 193
9. Cory Kruseman 185
10. Eric Gordon 148


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series USAC
Drivers Michael Lewis , Dave Darland , J.J. Yeley , Tracy Hines , Dave Steele , Brian Tyler , Bud Kaeding , Cory Kruseman , Jay Drake , Bobby East , Eric Gordon , Levi Jones , Jason McCord , Boston Reid