24 drivers ready for Tata Prima truck race

The third race of Tata T1 Prima Championship will take place at the Buddh International Circuit this weekend, with Indian drivers competing for the first time in the one-make truck series.

Tata Motors received 550 entries from its customer base, out of which 17 Indian truckies have been shortlisted for Level Four of their development programme.

The number will be further trimmed to 12 drivers who will take part in the SuperClass category of T1 Prima Championship.

Like the previous two seasons, 12 international drivers will participate in the race, representing six different outfits.

2004 European Truck Racing Champion Stuart Oliver has been the most successful driver so far, having emerged victorious in both the seasons.

However, the British driver won't be taking part this year. 

"In season 1 we created history, by hosting the very first truck race here in India,’’ said R. Ramakrishnan of Tata Motors.

“In season 2, we showcased race trucks that were 'Bigger, Better & Faster'. In season 3, Tata Motors is unfolding a new chapter in the history of Indian trucking, with a theme of 'India to the World' involving Indian talent, and is all set to create history yet again, in the one of the world’s largest commercial vehicle markets.”

“With the T1 Racer Program having attracted over 550 nominations from our customers businesses, the ones shortlisted through the program today, are based on driving experience, average kilometers driven in a year, along with the experience of negotiating different terrains'' he added. 

For season three, Tata has made 43 different modifications to their race-spec T1 Prima truck, promising faster lap times.

International ProClass Drivers:



Mat Summerfield

Castrol Vecton

Adam Bint

Castrol Vecton

Richard Collett


Graham Powell


Ray Coleman

Dealer Daredevils

Simon Cole

Dealer Daredevils

Bern Horne

Dealer Warriors

Paul McCumisky

Dealer Warriors

David Jenkins

Tata Technologies Motorsports

Brian Burt

Tata Technologies Motorsports

Oly Janes

Tata Motors Finance

Tony Smith

Tata Motors Finance

Shortlisted Indian drivers:


Nagarjuna A

Bacchu Singh

Rabinder Yadav

Raghuveer Singh

Bhag Chand

Rajkumar Mahato

Jitendra Singh

Malkeet Singh

MD Parvez

Jagar Singh

Gobind Singh


Mohd. Iliyas

Padam Singh Bhati

Shankar Singh

Syed Akram Pasha

Bikash Mahato

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other truck
Article type Preview