Portland: Round two news of note, schedule

What: Albertsons Trans-Am 100, Round 2 of the 2004 Motorock Trans-Am Series championship When: Friday and Saturday, June 18-19, 2004 Race Day: Saturday, June 19, at approximately 3:45 p.m. Distance: 51 laps/100.419 miles or 75 minutes time ...

What: Albertsons Trans-Am 100, Round 2 of the 2004 Motorock Trans-Am Series championship

When: Friday and Saturday, June 18-19, 2004
Race Day: Saturday, June 19, at approximately 3:45 p.m.

Distance: 51 laps/100.419 miles or 75 minutes time certain, whichever comes first

Where: The race will be run on a 1.969-mile, 12-turn permanent road course

<pre> Trans-Am Schedule (all times local): Friday, June 18 11:45 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. Trans-Am Practice 4:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. Trans-Am Qualifying

Saturday, June 19 9 :00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. Trans-Am Final Practice 3:45 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Trans-Am Race (51 Laps, 100.419 miles or 75 Minutes)

</pre> Portland Particulars:


* 1992 Portland Trans-Am winner Paul Gentilozzi (No. 3 Jaguar R Performance XKR) is seeking his second Portland Trans-Am victory, and his first in a Rocketsports entry. Gentilozzi's 1992 victory came in George Robinson's Chevrolet Camaro.

* Gentilozzi has also competed here in IMSA GTS competition, finishing third in 1986 and fifth in 1992 and 1993.

* Trans-Am's only four-time champion Tommy Kendall has never won here, making it one of two tracks where the veteran driver hasn't won in some form of competition (Sebring is the other). Kendall's best Trans-Am finish at Portland was second in 1995. Trans-Am's all-time pole winner has also never recorded a top qualifying effort at Portland. Kendall, who has 40 poles in his career including a pole at this year's season opener, started second here in 1994.

* Kendall also competed in IMSA here, finishing second in GTU in 1986, 1987, and 1988 and fourth in GTS in 1993.

* Greg Pickett (No. 6 Cytomax Jaguar XKR) is also seeking his second victory here. If the 1978 Drivers' Champion, who won here in 1984, wins this weekend it will make him the first driver in Trans-Am history to win a race in each of four decades of competition. Pickett won the pole here five times: 1978, 1981, 1982, 1983, and 1984, a Portland record.

* Jaguar is seeking its second victory here. Bob Tullius won the 1981 event in a Jaguar XJS. Jaguar has never won the pole at Portland.

* If a Rocketsports entry wins this weekend, it will mark the team's third Portland Trans-Am victory, tying Roush Racing as the leading entrant winner here. Rocketsports won in 1990 with Darin Brassfield and in 1991 with Irv Hoerr, each driving an Oldsmobile Cutlass.

* The last three Portland races (1994, 1995, and 2001) were won by three marques (Ford Mustang, Chevrolet Camaro, and Dodge Viper).

* Chevrolet is the winningest manufacturer in Portland history with eight victories (Corvette, three and Camaro, five).

* Ford's Mustang last won here in 1994, while Chevrolet's Camaro last won in 1995. Chevrolet's Corvette last won in 1979 in the Category I class.


* The Motorock Trans-Am Series returns to Portland in 2004 for the first time since 2001.

* Twenty Trans-Am events have been held at Portland, beginning in 1975. A Trans-Am race was held every season through 1987. The Series returned to Portland in 1990 and competed at the venue every year through 1995. After a 1996 through 2000 hiatus, the Series returned to Portland in 2001.

* The 1976 through 1979 events were two-class (Category I and II) races and thus the 20 races have produced 24 victories among 21 drivers.

* Ron Fellows (three-straight victories from 1993-1995) and Wally Dallenbach, Jr. (two wins in 1985 and 1986) are the only multiple-time winners here.

* Tommy Archer is the most recent winner here. Archer won the 2001 race in a Cinjo Dodge Viper, earning the marque its first Trans-Am victory.

* Fourteen car models have taken the 24 wins in Portland history. Chevrolet's Camaro leads with five wins over the three taken by the Chevrolet Corvette. Three of the Camaro victories have been "overall" to only one for Corvette. Chevrolet's Monza has two (both "overall") wins, as do the Ford Mustang (1993 and 1994) Porsche 935, Mercury Capri, and Oldsmobile Cutlass. Dodge's Viper has one victory.

* By marque, Chevrolet has seven overall wins plus three class victories for a total of 10. Porsche is next with four wins, plus one class win for a total of five. Mercury has three victories, while Ford and Oldsmobile two apiece, and Jaguar and Dodge have one victory apiece.

* Greg Pickett is the leading pole winner here with five fast-qualifying efforts, including a Trans-Am track record four consecutive times (1981-84). Roush Racing posted a five-race Portland Trans-Am pole streak, 1986 through 1990. Irv Hoerr broke that streak for Oldsmobile in 1991, while Bobby Archer took his career-first pole in a Dodge Daytona at Portland 1992. Scott Sharp earned his first Portland pole in 1993. Ron Fellows won the pole for Gloy Racing in a Ford Mustang in 1994. Ray Kong was the pole winner for the 1995 race in a Chevrolet Camaro. Archer won the pole in 2001 in the Cinjo Dodge Viper.

* Six polesitters have won Trans-Am races here (25%): George Follmer (1977 Category II and overall), John Paul, Sr. (1979 Category II and overall), Pickett (1984), Hoerr (1991), Fellows (1994) and Archer (2001). The 1988-90 race winners all started second and Fellows joined them with his win from second in 1993. The record for lowest starting position by a Portland Trans-Am race winner was set by Fellows in 1995 when he won from 20th starting position to victory circle. The average starting position for the 15 current format race winners (1980-2001) is 5.467.

* Paul Gentilozzi set the fastest race lap in 1992 in a Camaro with Robinson Racing, and followed that up with another fast lap in 2001 for Rocketsports Racing. Chris Kneifel, now race director for the Champ Car World Series, is the only driver to have set consecutive Portland Trans-Am fast race laps, in 1988 and 1989. Pickett set the fastest race lap in 1982 and 1984. Fellows, Scott Pruett, and Dorsey Schroeder have one fast lap apiece.

* Only John Paul, Sr. (1979) and Greg Pickett (1984) have achieved "sweeps" of the Portland pole, fast lap, and the victory.

* Ten victory margins here are less than five seconds. Three sub-one second margins have been posted, led by Bob Tullius' 0.330 in 1981. The average victory margin for the 15 "current format" (1980-2001) races is 7.754 seconds, but the last six races (1991-1995, 2001) average only 2.522 seconds per race.

* The 1992 race produced a Portland Trans-Am record 13 lead-lap finishers, a record equaled by the 1994 race. The lead-lap finish average per race for the 15 "current format" (1980-2001) races is 6.733, but for the last six events (1991-1995, 2001) the average has been 10.83.

* The 1995 race set a Portland Trans-Am record for highest finishing percentage: 91.3%, as 21 of 23 starters finished the race. The last five events (1992-1995, 2001) produced finishing percentages in excess of 80%.

* Rocketsports (1990, Brassfield, 1991, Hoerr) has two Portland Trans-Am victories. Rocketsports (1991, Hoerr) has one Portland Trans-Am pole.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Trans-Am
Drivers Chris Kneifel , Scott Sharp , Ron Fellows , Scott Pruett , Tommy Archer , Paul Gentilozzi , George Follmer , George Robinson , Dorsey Schroeder , Greg Pickett , Darin Brassfield , Bobby Archer , John Paul , Bob Tullius , Tommy Kendall