VW India confirms NRC move, will start driver scouting for 2016

The Volkswagen Vento Cup organisers today confirmed its move to the National Racing Championship from 2016 and will start scouting for talents for the new season.

It was announced by Madras Motor Sport Club, last month that the one-make Indian touring championship will end its association with JK Tyres and move in the ambit of the NRC weekend.

The Indian branch of the German manufacturer confirmed the move in the statement released today joining hands with MRF tyres for until 2018.

Sirish Vissa, Head of VW Motorsport India said: “After successfully running our premium one-make series for six years, we are ready to explore new possibilities."

"MMSC and MRF have a long legacy with motorsport and we are keen to work closely with them and contribute towards strengthening the sport further in India.

"In 2016, we hope to accomplish the very things that VW Motorsport stands for – nurturing talent, cultivating racing skills and providing a strong platform for young racers in the country," he added.

"So far we have nurtured over 75 racing drivers in India and have given international exposure through our global programmes to the champions and we are looking forward to extending this support to many more.”

The move also confirms the series return to the Madras Motor Race Track [in Chennai] after three years.

Driver scouting to begin

With the new season approaching, VW India also announced the selection process for 2016 in a 'wide-spread' programme through karting.

The scouting process will cover seven cities starting from January 20 with drivers having to register themselves in seven of the designated karting arenas.

Having recorded their best time, the drivers have to send it across to VW Motorsport with the form for final selection to be held in Pune.

The shortlisted drivers will compete against each other in Pune to land themselves a seat for the new season.

The seven designated arenas being ECR Speedway [Chennai], Chicane Circuit [Secunderabad], Torq03 [Bangalore], Marina Kart Arena [Chennai], Meco Kartopia [Bangalore], Indi Karting Track [Pune] and Wonder Speedway [Noida].

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Touring
Article type Breaking news