Volkswagen reveals 20-driver list for Vento Cup season

Volkswagen Motorsport India have announced a 20-driver entry list for the 2016 Vento Cup season with 12 new names after a rigorous selection process last week.

From among the 560 entries received from across India, Volkswagen shortlisted 62 drivers for the final round of the seclection process held last week.

The 62 drivers battled out in a two-day event at the Indi Karting Track in Pune looked upon by driver coach Rayomand Banajee.

The drivers were judged on criteria such as fitness, driving skills, grasping and learning ability and discipline, 12 drivers were selected for the season through a karting race among the finalists. 

The newly selected one's join the eight returning drivers from the previous seasons. They will now undergo a fitness camp along with the pre-season testing before the 2016 season commences.

They will now undergo a fitness camp along with the pre-season testing before the 2016 season commences.

“Every year we receive a number of entries from aspiring racers showing their willingness to participate in the Vento Cup," said Sirish Vissa, head of VW Motorsport India.

“This year too we witnessed some very talented individuals who are willing to learn the skills of racing and make their mark in Motorsport.

"We have selected 12 new drivers this year who will join eight drivers from our previous seasons and battle for championship honours," he added.

"Interestingly 17 drivers are up to the age of 26 years, which is good because they are the young ones whom we really want to groom.”

The returning driver list includes 2010 Volkswagen Polo Cup champion Sailesh Bolisetti, last year's second runner-up Ishaan Dodhiwala with Neha Dabas, the only female in the list among others.

The youngest among the 20 drivers is 17-year-old Harjee Wadia while the eldest being 29-year-old Nachappa Sivanesan.

VW also added that the season commencing in June will see a total of four rounds taking place at Buddh International Circuit, Madras Motor Race Track and Kari Motor Speedway. 

2016 Driver entry list:



Aditya Mhatre


Amit Mete


Arfath Mohammed


Arunshowry Vallabhaneni

New Delhi

Eswar Bolisetti


Gowdham Murugan


Harjee Wadia

New Delhi

Harshavardhan Saravanan


Hatim Shabbir


Ishaan Dodhiwala


Ishan Bhardwaj

New Delhi

Keith Desouza


Mohamed Jamil


Nachappa Sivanesan


Neha Dabas

New Delhi

Niranjan Todkari


Pradeep Rao


Rashad Khan


Sailesh Bolisetti


Venkatraj Ellendula


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Touring
Drivers Niranjan Todkari , Amit Mete , Pradeep Rao , Sailesh Bolisetti , Neha Dabas , Ishaan Dodhiwala , Harkishan Wadia
Article type Breaking news