Volkswagen India finalises 15 drivers for 2017 Ameo Cup

Volkswagen Motorsport India successfully conducted its selection process for drivers' who will compete in the 2017 Ameo Cup.

The two-day activity was held at the Indi Karting track in Pune on December 17-18, under the guidance of VW's driver coach, Rayomand Banajee and VW's Head of Motorsport, Sirish Vissa.

From over 600 applicants from around the country, 50 hopefuls took part in the selection procedure where they were judged on 'their overall driving skills that covered consistency in performance, understanding of racing lines, driving attitude, lap times and ability to learn.'

In addition, the drivers were guided on techniques to improve their skills and they were also put through the much required fitness programme to test their 'stamina and core physical strength.'

At the end of the process, 15 drivers were finalised for the new season and a further five to be added to make it a strong grid of 20 drivers.

The names of all the racers will be revealed at the end of January. "We have seen some promising racing talent come forward this year," said Vissa.

"I look forward to seeing them put their learnings to practice in the competitive rounds.

"With the introduction of Ameo Cup, we expect to see more action on the tracks which will help take this the sport to the next level in this season."

The 2017 season of the Indian one-make touring car championship will feature the brand new Ameo race-spec cars replacing the Vento, which ran in the 2015 and 2016 seasons.

Wildcard opportunity

The organisers also announced for a sponsored drive opportunity in the new season, for drivers having prior experience in racing.

In the process, 16 competitors can enter on a 'first come, first serve basis', where VW India will stage races at the Buddh International Circuit on January 27-29 to determine the winner.

The drivers will go through the usual race weekend procedure with practice, qualifying and three races, at the end of which the top three will get a sponsored drive in the 2017 Ameo Cup season.

The winner, chosen on the basis of the highest points scored, will have all of his participation fees paid by Volkswagen, while the second and third placed drivers will get a funding of 40 and 20 percent on their fees, respectively.

During the weekend, which will run alongside the MRF Challenge's third round and season opener of MRF F1600 series, the experienced campaigners will drive the Vento race-spec cars.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Touring
Event 2017 Ameo Cup Drivers Selection
Article type Breaking news