Engine trouble hampers Vandoorne's debut Super Formula test

McLaren protege Stoffel Vandoorne was only 17th quickest in his first run in the Japanese Super Formula series, with engine issues cutting into his programme.

Driving for the Honda-powered Docomo squad, Vandoorne managed only 20 laps in the morning session - much less than anybody else in the field - and had no chance of improving his time in the afternoon due to rain.

He finished the morning session in 17th, and was eighth-quickest in the wet.

The Belgian will sit out the second part of the test tomorrow as he will be travelling to Yas Marina for the GP2 season finale.

Formula Renault 3.5's Jazeman Jaafar and Japanese F3 champion Nick Cassidy finished right ahead of Vandoorne in the day's overall rankings, while GP2 rival Richie Stanaway was immediately behind.

Stanaway, however, was fifth in the afternoon, with IndyCar's Stefano Coletti, taking over from Jaafar, posting the 11th-best time.

As for the series regulars, the day's proceedings were topped by 2010 champion Joao Paulo de Oliveira, ahead of 2013 champion Naoki Yamamoto and 2015 champion Hiroaki Ishiura.

Super GT regular Yuhi Sekiguchi posted the quickest time in the rain.

Combined test results

Pos. Driver Team AM PM
1  Joao Paulo de Oliveira Lenovo Team Impul 1'37.831 1'49.990
2 Naoki Yamamoto Team Mugen 1'38.331 1'53.126
3 Hiroaki Ishiura Inging 1'38.574 1'57.501
4 Koudai Tsukakoshi Real Racing 1'38.749 1'52.155
5 Takashi Kogure Drago Corse 1'38.794 1'53.154
6 Yuji Kunimoto Inging 1'38.862 1'58.953
7 Yuhi Sekiguchi Lenovo Team Impul 1'38.948 1'46.873
8 Daisuke Nakajima Nakajima Racing 1'38.951 1'58.031
9 Yuichi Nakayama KCMG 1'38.963 2'00.253
10 Andre Lotterer Petronas Team TOM'S 1'38.969 1'47.353
11 Kamui Kobayashi Team LeMans 1'39.005 1'56.228
12 James Rossiter Kondo Racing 1'39.258 1'58.581
13 Ryo Hirakawa Team LeMans 1'39.282 1'57.385
14 Kazuki Nakajima Petronas Team TOM'S 1'39.417 1'56.860
15 Jazeman Jaafar Docomo Team Dandelion 1'39.422 No Time
16 Nick Cassidy Kondo Racing 1'39.721 1'58.547
17 Stoffel Vandoorne Docomo Team Dandelion 1'39.904 1'52.615
18 Richie Stanaway Team Mugen 1'40.252 1'51.757
19 Bertrand Baguette Nakajima Racing 1'40.503 1'50.916
20 Toshihiro Kaneishi Real Racing 1'41.615 No Time
21 Takuya Izawa Real Racing No Time 1'51.843
22 Stefano Coletti Docomo Team Dandelion No Time 1'54.260

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Super Formula
Drivers Stefano Coletti , Jazeman Jaafar , J.P.L. De Oliveira , Hiroaki Ishiura , Yuhi Sekiguchi , Naoki Yamamoto , Richie Stanaway , Nick Cassidy , Stoffel Vandoorne
Teams McLaren
Article type Testing report