Zanesville results, other news

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor Email address: Web site: ...

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor

Email address: Web site: =================================== CONTENTS: May 23-25 results (published May 26) STARS: Francis wins at Zanesville for first win of season CAPSULES: Other Memorial Day weekend events =================================== SHORT TRACK AUTO RACING STARS (STARS) Dunn/Hartman/Lutz Memorial 75

ZANESVILLE, Ohio (Saturday) Defending STARS champion Steve Francis finally broke into the win column in 1997, starting from the outside pole and leading all 75 laps freight-train style in the third annual Dunn/Hartman/Lutz Memorial 75 at Muskingum County Speedway. The Ashland, Ky., driver collected $10,000 for his first series victory since Oct. 5 at Portsmouth (Ohio) Raceway Park.

Polesitter Steve Shaver was second followed by Gary Stuhler, Tim Hitt and Rick Eckert in a feature delayed more than three hours after thundershowers hit the speedway just after the second heat race. Mike Balzano, Todd Andrews, Doug Dodd, Aaron Scott and Davey Johnson finished sixth through 10th on the 4/10-mile oval in eastern Ohio. Donnie Moran, who skipped the consolation races at the rain-plague Show-Me 100 in Missouri to return to his hometown racetrack, finished 11th.

CAR COUNT: 45 late models.

FAST QUALIFIER: Darrell Lanigan, 16.550 seconds.

FAST DASH: Steve Shaver, Steve Francis, Tim Hitt, Gary Stuhler, Rick Eckert, Darrell Lanigan.

HEAT WINNERS: Doug Dodd, Aaron Scott, Davey Johnson, Todd Andrews.

CONSOLATION WINNERS: Steve Barnett, Bart Hartman.

FEATURE (Pos., driver, car no., laps, purse) 1. Steve Francis (15), 75 laps, $10,000 2. Steve Shaver (30), 75 laps, $4,000 3. Gary Stuhler (19), 75 laps, $2,500 4. Tim Hitt (68), 75 laps, $1,500 5. Rick Eckert (24), 75 laps, $1,400 6. Mike Balzano (E1), 75 laps, $1,300 7. Todd Andrews (42), 75 laps, $1,200 8. Doug Dodd (12), 75 laps, $1,100 9. Aaron Scott (33), 75 laps, $1,000 10. Davey Johnson (1j), 75 laps, $900 11. Donnie Moran (99), 75 laps, $800 12. Bart Hartman (75), 75 laps, $740 13. Jack Boggs (B4), 75 laps, $600 14. Delmas Conley (71), 75 laps, $550 15. Chub Frank (1*), 75 laps, $500 16. Tye Long (55), 75 laps, $450 17. Barry Bragdon (77), 74 laps, $400 18. Rod Conley (71r), 74 laps, $440 19. Mike Benedum (25), 50 laps, $440, cooling 20. Steve Barnett (89), 23 laps, $440, cooling 21. Darrell Lanigan (29), 19 laps, $400, cooling 22. Scott Peltz (15), 7 laps, $400, tire

CREDIT: Bret Emrick of STARS. ------------------------------------------------------------- FRIDAY'S RACE CAPSULES

STUHLER WINS MACS RACE AT BEDFORD: Gary Stuhler of Greencastle, Pa., fought past C.S. Fitzgerald to win the 35-lap Mid-Atlantic Championship Series race at Bedford (Pa.) Speedway. Stuhler took the lead when he and Fitzgerald were battling side-by-side and a caution was thrown for a spin elsewhere on the track. Officials ruled Stuhler was ahead by a nose at the line and Stuhler led the next restart and went on to the victory. Mike Altobelli, the third-place finisher, led the first 13 laps until he was overtaken by Fitzgerald. There were 42 late models on hand. FEATURE (35 laps): (1) Gary Stuhler, (2), C.S. Fitzgerald, (3) Mike Altobelli, (4) Jack Pencil, (5) Miles Stitzinger, (6) Scott Haus, (7) Rick Singleton, (8) Bob Wearing Jr., (9) Rick Eckert, (10) Tom Myers.

MISSISSIPPI RACE AT PIKE COUNTY POSTPONED: The opening race of the Mississippi State Championship series at Pike County Speedway in Magnolia, Miss., was rained out and rescheduled for June 7. ------------------------------------------------------------- SATURDAY'S RACE CAPSULES

WEAVER WINS SUMMER SIZZLER 75 AT ATOMIC: Randy Weaver won $3,000 for his victory in the Summer Sizzler 75 Hall of Fame Race at Atomic Speedway in Kingston, Tenn. Weaver took the lead when polesitter Patrick Duggan dropped out on lap 56 with a blown engine. Duggan led the first 30 laps before cutting down a tire on debris, and returned to the race on the tail and worked his way to the lead again by lap 47 before bad luck struck again nine laps later. FEATURE (75 laps): (1) Randy Weaver, (2) Billy Ogle Jr., (3) Dave Bilbrey, (4) Tommy Kerr, (5) Jeff Monger, (6) Rick Williams, (7) Terry Shannon, (8) Dan Duggan, (9) Jason McMahan, (10) Bill Ogle Sr., (11) Patrick Duggan, (12) Anthony White.

SCOGGINS WINS SOUTHERN-ALL STARS RACE: Hometown driver Lamar Scoggins capped a march from the seventh row by nipping Stan Massey for the victory coming out of Turn 4 in the Southern All-Star 20th annual Johnson Coca-Cola Tennessee Memorial Race at Cleveland Speedway. Massey was back in a dirt late model for the first time in three months, piloting the Calvin Cheek-owned No. 23 Warrior chassis. Massey was the fastest among 36 qualifiers at 14.513 seconds. FEATURE (50 laps): (1) Lamar Scoggins, (2) Stan Massey, (3) Mike Head, (4) Jamie Perry, (5) Kevin Gibson, (6) John Jones, (7) Jake Lowry, (8) Roger Best, (9) David Millians, (10) Rodney Dickson.

DURRANCE WINS NLMS RACE AT EAST GEORGIA: Wendell Durrance became the first driver to win two series events in 1997, leading flag-to-flag 75 laps at East Georgia Speedway in Swainsboro, Ga., for a $4,000 victory in the National Late Model Sportsman Series. "I really have to give this win to Dennis (Bennett)," Durrance said. "That is an awesome motor, it was so strong we almost burned the rear tires completely off the car. " It was the fifth race of 14 series events in 1997. FEATURE (75 laps): (1) Wendell Durrance, (2) Cecil Eunice, (3) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (4) Andy Stewart, (5) Jimmy Lee Davis, (6) Ricky Brant, (7) Joe Kump, (8) Skip Pannell, (9) Tracy Walden, (10) Everett Phillis. ------------------------------------------------------------- SUNDAY'S RACE CAPSULES

BILLY DRAKE WINS $10,000 AT HAUBSTADT, IND.: Billy Drake of Bloomington, Ill., took the lead from Jimmy Burwell with 10 laps remaining and held off Doug McCammon to win the Midwestern Late Model Championship at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind. The 100-lap victory worth $10,000 is Drake's biggest winning purse ever. Randy Korte and Randy Sellars were among other leaders on the quarter-mile oval. Tri-State regular Kevin Claycomb charged from his 17th-starting spot to fifth, but fell out with mechanical problems. Eddie Pace was the fast qualifier in 13.641 seconds. FEATURE (100 laps): (1) Billy Drake, (2) Doug McCammon, (3) Jimmy Burwell, (4) Jeff Wilson, (5) Randy Korte, (6) Bill Millikan, (7) Kris Patterson, (8) Terry Eaglin, (9) Steve Casebolt, (10) Gary Keeling.

STARS RAINED OUT AT INTERSTATE 79: The STARS-sanctioned Frank Paker/Paul Richards Memorial at Interstate 79 Speedway in Shinnston, W.Va., was postponed because of rain. The $5,000-to-win race was rescheduled for June 22.

NASCAR BUSCH ALL-STARS RAINED OUT: The NASCAR-sanctioned Nebraska Furniture Mart/RCA Digital Satellite 50 at Sunset Speedway in Omaha, Neb., was postponed by rain. The race will be rescheduled either July 20 or Aug. 30.

SOUTHERN ALL-STARS RAINED OUT AT DUCK RIVER: The $3,000-to-win Southern All-Stars race at Duck River Speedway in Wheel, Tenn., was rained out. No makeup date has been announced. ------------------------------------------------------------- CAPSULE CREDITS: Phil Roberts of NASCAR, Steve Hixson <> of Cleveland Speedway, Erick Seager <>, Roby Helm <> of Atomic Speedway, John Kaiser <71623.762@CompuServe.COM> of NLMS and Todd Turner <> of DirtNews Digest. -------------------------------------------------------------

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Donnie Moran , Rick Eckert , Aaron Scott , Jeff Wilson , Rick Williams , Steve Francis , Lee Davis
Teams Williams