Weekend race capsules (Sept. 9)

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: ...

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor

Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: http://members.aol.com/dirtnews/digest =================================== CONTENTS: Sept. 5-7 race capsules (published Sept. 9) =================================== FRIDAY'S RACE CAPSULE

WAGNER GETS DEERY BROTHERS VICTORY AT BOONE: Dean Wagner Jr. passed Boone McLaughlin on the backstretch of the 35th lap, then held off Kyle Berck the final 15 circuits for a Deery Brothers Summer Series victory at Boone (Iowa) Speedway. The 42 late models were on the undercard of the 15th annual IMCA Super Nationals for modifieds, and Mark Noble came away victorious the next night among more than 300 entrants. Highlights from the races are scheduled to appear on Fox Sport Network rebroadcasts. FEATURE (50 laps): (1) Dean Wagner Jr., (2) Kyle Berck, (3) Boone McLaughlin, (4) Tommy Elston, (5) Harry Walker, (6) Doug Nigh, (7) Ronnie Wallace, (8) Gary Webb, (9) Chris Smyser, (10) Steve Ihm, (11) Al Humphrey, (12) Kevin Pittman, (13) Greg Kastli, (14) Thad Trump, (15) Todd Cooney, (16) Darrel DeFrance, (17) Dick Ploog, (18) Jeff Guengrich, (19) Brad Osborn, (20) Todd Johnson, (21) Kevin Kirkpatrick, (22) Lonnie Bailey, (23) Jim Swank, (24) Mike Merrill, (25) Ben Schaefer, (26) Gary Pederson, (27) John Logue, (28) Ron Gustaf, (29) Craig Jacobs. ------------------------------------------------------------- SATURDAY'S RACE CAPSULES

WEBB GRABS IMCA VICTORY AT KNOXVILLE: Gary Webb of Blue Grass, Iowa, won the 40-lap Deery Brothers Summers Series feature at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway to collect $2,500 and edge into a virtual tie with eighth-place finisher Harry Walker for the series points lead. Webb ran the high side to take the lead from Kevin Pittman on a lap-19 restart, and pulled away to win by eight car lengths over Pittman. Half of the 26 starters were running at the end of the IMCA-sanctioned event. Walker was running sixth early in the race when he nearly spun and lost several positions. There were 49 late models in attendance. FEATURE (40 laps): (1) Gary Webb, (2) Kevin Pittman, (3) Chris Smyser, (4) Tom Hearst, (5) Dean Wagner Jr., (6) Darrel DeFrance, (7) Tommy Elston, (8) Harry Walker, (9) Ronnie Jackson, (10) Denny Osborn, (11) Steve Ihm, (12) Lonnie Bailey, (13) Billy Allen, (14) Doug Hopkins, (15) Ted Pallister, (16) Jeff Guengrich, (17) Boone McLaughlin, (18) Dick Ploog, (19) Mark Burgtorf, (20) Ronnie Wallace, (21) Al Humphrey, (22) Craig Jacobs, (23) Brent Slocum, (24) Ron Gustaf, (25) Greg Kastli, (26) Kirkpatrick.

LACKEY WINS $5,000 AT NORTH ALABAMA: Ted Lackey of Talladega, Ala., won $5,000 for a victory in the River 94 at North Alabama Speedway in Tuscumbia. Fast qualifier Johnny Stokes of Columbus, Miss., appeared to have the race in hand, but spinning lapped cars caused him problems on the 67th lap and he could only manage a 15th-place finish on the final night of the two-day event. FEATURE (94 laps): (1) Ted Lackey, (2) Danny Peoples, (3) Noland Smith, (4) Doug McKleroy, (5) Kenny Merchant.

POCHE SCORES EIGHTH SUPR VICTORY OF YEAR: Polesitter Ronnie Poche fought off a charge from Ronnie Warman in the closing laps at Jackson (Miss.) Motor Speedway for his eighth Southern United Professional Racing victory of the season. Jason Ingalls, who started on the front row next to Poche, finished fourth and took the Rookie of the Years points lead away from Bubba Mullins, who was 21st. FEATURE (40 laps): (1) Ronnie Poche, (2) Ronnie Warman, (3) Rusty Cummings, (4) Jason Ingalls, (5) Eddie Taylor, (6) Dennis Duncan, (7) Larry Ritter, (8) Marlon Wild, (9) Butch Patton, (10) Donald Watson, (11) Scott Slay, (12) Brent McGee, (13) Brady Adams, (14) Rob Litton, (15) Ricky Idom, (16) Buzz Miles, (17) John Lovas, (18) George Paul, (19) Kenneth Mitchem, (20) David Ashley, (21) Bubba Mullins, (22) Rusty Cooper.

MITCH JOHNSON SUPERIOR IN WISSOTA VICTORY: Mitch Johnson outdueled Rick Egersdorf early in the race then drew away for an easy 40-lap WISSOTA victory in the Northern Nationals at Superior (Wis.) Speedway. Egersdorf dropped out with mechanical problems after 16 laps and Steve Laursen rallied from the back of the pack to finish second ahead of Mike Chamernick. Mike Nutzman lost a top-five finish when he weighed in light after the race. FEATURE (40 laps): (1) Mitch Johnson, (2) Steve Laursen, (3) Mike Chamernick, (4) Kevin Montieth, (5) Wade Field, (6) Harry Hanson, (7) Tom Waseleski, (8) Tim McMann, (9) Bob Reed, (10) Steve Roseen. ------------------------------------------------------------- SUNDAY'S RACE CAPSULE

FRANK INHERITS MACS VICTORY AT TRI-CITY: Todd Andrews cruised to an apparent Mid-Atlantic Championship Series victory at Tri-City Speedway in Franklin, Pa., but his car was too light at the scales and Chub Frank was awarded the $5,000 victory in the 50-lapper. Davey Johnson, who outdueled Robbie Blair and brother Mike Johnson to cross the finish line third, was also disqualified for being too light. The victory was Frank's fourth MACS win of the year. There were 40 late models on hand. FEATURE (50 laps): (1) Chub Frank, (2) Robbie Blair, (3) Mike Johnson, (4) Ron Davies, (5) Nick Jones, (6) Denny Chamberlain, (7) Dutch Davies, (8) Mickey Wright, (9) John Britsky, (10) Ron Slavic, (11) Rodney Phillips, (12) Bob Craig, (13) Mike Blose, (14) Ryan Markham, (15) Dick Barton, (16) Dan Armbruster, (17) Wally Fox, (18) Ed Ferree, (19) Miles Stitzinger, (20) Dennis Curry, (21) Lynn Geisler. The following drivers were disqualified: Todd Andrews, Davey Johnson, Nolan Dalton. ------------------------------------------------------------- CAPSULE CREDITS: Bob Wilson, Monte Hines <mhines@DerbyTech.net>, Brian Burnam <rustie@netins.net>, Brian Spaid <speedway@tricityspeedway.com> of Tri-City Speedway, Weldon Martin of North Alabama Speedway, Greg Holmes of SUPR and Brad Sexton <cerealkiller@discover-net.net> of Superior, Wis. -------------------------------------------------------------

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Mike Johnson , Nick Jones , Bob Reed , Mickey Wright