Weekend race capsules 97-08-18

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: ...

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor

Email address: DirtNews@aol.com Web site: http://members.aol.com/dirtnews/digest =================================== CONTENTS: Aug. 15-17 results (published Aug. 18) CAPSULES: Roundup of weekend results =================================== FRIDAY'S RACE CAPSULES

JEWELL TRIUMPHS AT PONDEROSA SPEEDWAY: Mike Jewell of Scottsburg, Ind., continued his winning ways at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky., earning $2,500 in a feature celebrating the 25th anniversary of the 3/8-mile track. FEATURE: (1) Mike Jewell, (2) Timmy Yeager, (3) Darrell Lanigan, (4) Bobby Carrier Jr., (5) Finn Watson, (6) Paul Feistritzer, (7) Duane Chamberlain, (8) Dustin Neat, (9) C.J. Rayburn, (10) Jesse Lay, (11) Billy Carroll Woodridge, (12) Adam Stevens, (13) Josh Tarter, (14) Tony Lay, (15) Dan Sturgeon.

HEAD WINS RICK'S SERIES RACE IN FLORIDA: Mike Head of Ellenwood, Ga., won $2,000 in a Rick's Dirt Late Model Series race at Southern Raceway in Milton, Fla. FEATURE: (1) Mike Head, (2) Eddie Rickman, (3) Jerry Inmon, (4) Johnny Stokes, (5) Randy Little. ------------------------------------------------------------- SATURDAY'S RACE CAPSULES

RICKY INGALLS WINS ARMADILLO NATIONALS: Ricky Ingalls led all 50 lap at his hometown track for a victory worth $6,000 in the Armadillo Nationals at Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, Texas. Ingalls won by less than two car lengths over Ronny Adams, who lost the runner-up spot to Wendell Wallace for a few laps before regaining the position on the 36th lap. Polesitter James Taylor hit the wall in the feature, taking out Howard Willis. Wallace set fast time among 34 entrants. FEATURE (50 laps): (1) Ricky Ingalls, (2) Ronny Adams, (3) Wendell Wallace, (4) Ronnie Warman, (5) Kenny Merchant, (6) Jimmy Ewing, (7) Lee Davis, (8) Trey Beene, (9) Rusty Cummings, (10) Waymon McMillian, (11) Michael Coleman, (12) Waylon Morris, (13) Jason Ingalls, (14) Duke Whiseant, (15) Jeff Chanler, (16) Lee Jay Haddox, (17) Ray Ingalls, (18) Donnie Barnhart, (19) Brady Adams, (20) James Taylor, (21) Eddie Provence, (22) Howard Willis.

BARNETT WINS INDIANA DEBUT FOR AMERICAN LATE MODEL SERIES: Steve Barnett of Franklin, Ind., won the first-ever American Late Model Series event in Indiana, earning $2,000 for the 35-lap victory at Brownstown Speedway. Mike Jewell finished second while Jim Curry rallied from his 13th starting spot to finish third. ALMS regular Shane Yoder missed the race because of stomach surgery, so Rody and Todd Schroyer piloted cars Yoder normally drives. There were 51 late models in attendance. FEATURE (35 laps): (1) Steve Barnett, (2) Mike Jewell, (3) Jim Curry, (4) Mark Barber, (5) Ernie Barrow, (6) Dion Deason, (7) Kris Patterson, (8) John Gill, (9) John Gill, (10) Rick DeLong, (11) Gary Barrow, (12) C.J. Rayburn, (13) Doug Ault, (14) Scott Graham, (15) Greg Williams, (16) Jerry Bowersock, (17) Greg Johnson, (18) Dan Sturgeon, (19) Kevin Claycomb, (20) John Lawhorn, (21) James Huff, (22) Steven Godsey.

STOKES TRIUMPHS AT SOUTHERN RACEWAY: Johnny Stokes of Columbus, Miss., won the second feature of a two-day Rick's Dirt Late Model Series stop at Southern Raceway in Milton, Fla., a victory worth $2,000. FEATURE: (1) Johnny Stokes, (2) Mike Head, (3) Curtis Galbreath, (4) Eddie Rickman, (5) Frankie Peoples. ------------------------------------------------------------- SUNDAY'S RACE CAPSULE

PHILLIPS GETS 40th MLRA VICTORY: Polesitter Terry Phillips, leading all 40 laps the State Fair Speedway half-mile oval in Sedalia, Mo., won his 40th career Midwest LateModel Racing Association event. Phillips pocketed $3,000 for his fifth series win of the year. There were 34 late models on hand. FEATURE (40 laps): (1) Terry Phillips, (2) Al Purkey, (3) Gary Gorby, (4) Leslie Essary, (5) Robert Dunn, (6) Jack Simmons, (7) Chad Lyle, (8) Scott Drake, (9) Kenny Shelton Jr., (10) Steve Hennies, (11) Randy McGraw, (12) Bill Street, (13) David Turner, (14) Joe Conway, (15) Larry Jones, (16) Alan Vaughn, (17) Steve Walters, (18) Chad Clark, (19) Jason Bodenhammer, (20) Darrell Mooneyham, (21) Terry Muskrat, (22) Dave Myer. ------------------------------------------------------------- CAPSULE CREDITS: James Essex of Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway and Larry Olson<lwolson@mtnhome.com> of MLRA. -------------------------------------------------------------

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Greg William , Lee Davis , Jay Lee
Teams Williams