Utica-Rome results 2005-05-15

DAVE CAMARA TAKES UTICA-ROME SPEEDWAY GOLD ON CANASTOTA KART SPEEDWAY NIGHT VERNON, NY (MAY 15)- Dave Camara finally got his 1st win since becoming a regular at the Utica-Rome Speedway on Canastota Kart Speedway night, as he ...


VERNON, NY (MAY 15)- Dave Camara finally got his 1st win since becoming a regular at the Utica-Rome Speedway on Canastota Kart Speedway night, as he dominated the later stages of the 358-Modified event. Mike Button took the Sportsman main, with Eric Vanderhoof, Russ Marsden, George Catanzano, Ken Carson, and Jared Fink were also victorious.

Jeff Kotary and John Ramsey led the 24-car 358-Modified starting field to Matt Burdick's green flag with Kotary taking the early lead. Lap 3 saw Ramsey gain the top spot with Holmes also getting by Kotary to take the 2nd spot. By lap 5, Holmes had gotten by Ramsey for the lead and drove off looking for his 1st win since July 16, 2000. Starting 12th on the starting grid, Dave Camara made his way through the field, and by lap 7, he was riding in 2nd behind Holmes. A lap 9 caution would group the field together, giving Camara the chance he was looking for. Camara took advantage of the situation and took over the lead, ending Holmes bid for the win. At halfway it was Camara, Mitch Gibbs, Willy Decker, Ron Holmes, and Paul Kinney in the top 5 spots. Camara was easily the fastest car on the track in the second half of the event, as he pulled away from the rest of the field. Camara's only problem came on lap 25 when a lapped car nearly forced Camara off the track, but Camara survived and would race off the his 1st win of the season at the speedway. Gibbs, Decker, Todd Burley, and Holmes chased Camara to the checkered with Mark Flach, Kinney, Ted Lamb, Gus Schmidt, and Jamie Christian filling out the top 10.

In Sportsman action, John Scarborough went from 4th to the lead by the completion of lap 1 of the 20-lap main. Scarborough, searching for his 1st Utica-Rome Speedway win, would hold the top spot until lap 6 when Mike Button took advantage of a restart and took over the lead. As Button sped off, a fierce battle was taking place for the runner up spot between Scarborough, Jessica Zemken, and Alan Barker. By lap 12, Zemken had taken over the 2nd position, only to have Barker take it on lap 15. Barker quickly reeled in the front running Button and over the last 2 laps, Barker repeatedly attempted to take the lead, but Button would not relinquish the lead. Button would take the checkers with Barker, Zemken, Billy Price, and Scarborough rounding out the top 5.

Eric Vanderhoof led the opening lap of the Pro Stock 20-lap feature event, looking for his first career Pro Stock win. Vanderhoof held off the challenges of Jerry Holmes early with John Pietrowicz challenging for the lead by lap 5. Lap 7 saw Pietrowicz take the top spot only to have mechanical problems on lap 8, ending his bid for the win. Vanderhoof would be the benefactor of Pietrowicz's problems. Jim Normoyle and Tom Denton would move into the 2nd and 3rd spots and looked to run down the leader. Vanderhoof was too strong however, and race off with the victory. Normoyle, Denton, Bret Belden, and Roy Fifield would follow Vanderhoof across the line. Fifield's top 5 run would be disallowed after post race technical inspection, moving Holmes into 5th.

In the action packed Pure Stocks, George Schulz took command early of the 15-lap event. By lap 4, Dan Hoffman Sr. was scored the leader with Buck Mills following Hoffman by Schulz. The dominant driver in the Pure Stock at Utica-Rome for the past season, Russ Marsden, was up to the 3rd position by lap 5 and was looking to continue his winning ways. Lap 9 saw Marsden get by Mills for 2nd and go after the leader Hoffman. Marsden tried continuously to get the lead, only to have Hoffman shut the door. Turn 4 on the final lap, Marsden made one last bid for the win and succeeded, slipping by Hoffman to take his 3rd win of the season. Hoffman, Mills, Dave Janczuk, and Ron Marsden filled out the top 5.

Sean Lias quickly took advantage of his outside front row starting position to lead the first 2 laps of the 15-lap IMCA Modified main. Defending Utica-Rome Speedway IMCA Modified champion George Catanzano was a man on a mission, as he drove from his 6th starting spot to lead by the completion of lap 3. Despite several cautions that put 2-time feature winner Bill Anderson and the rest of the field on his rear bumper, Catanzano was not to be denied. At every restart, Catanzano would pull away and easily take his 1st win of the season at the Utica-Rome Speedway. In victory lane, Catanzano stated "we're here for the season, and we're here for a reason." Catanzano was followed by Anderson, Kevin Buff, Aaron Jacobs, and Bob Banks.

Ken Carson recovered from a lap 6 spin to win his first Utica-Rome Speedway Four Cylinder Super Stock feature event. Carson passed Rich Murtaugh, who led from the start, on lap 13 of the 15 lap-event. Chuck Powelczyk, Joey Delacruz, Doug Farnsworth, and Murtaugh chased Carson across the line.

The Central New York Mini-Sprints also saw action this evening, with Jared Fink taking the checkered flag.

Notes- A total of 138 cars crowded the Utica-Rome pits. The Central New York Mini-Sprints brought a total of 29 cars with them for their first visit of the season. During intermission, the IMCA Modified drivers went through the stands to collect money for fellow injured driver Skip Pabis. Their total collected was $1155.

Next Sunday, May 22, Canastota Kart Speedway will present a regular show of 358-Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, Pure Stocks, IMCA Modifieds, and Four Cylinder Super Stocks. Gates will open at 3 p.m. with racing at 5:30 p.m. For more information, log on to www.uticaromespeedway.com or call the speedway office at (315) 829-4557.


PRO STOCK FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)- ERIC VANDERHOOF, Jim Normoyle, Tom Denton, Bret Belden, Jerry Holmes, Bill Knapp, AJ Digsby, Chad Ray, Dale Guernsey, Cheryl Guernsey, Craig Hale, John Pietrowicz, Scott Tift, Mark Effner, Dave Moyer, Jason Rood, and Roy Fifield. DNS- Ed Ostrander.

IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- GEORGE CATANZANO, Bill Anderson, Kevin Buff, Aaron Jacobs, Bob Banks, Ken Rogers, Don Alvord, Mark Chrzarnowski, Mike Jacobs, Dave Bargabos, Rodney True, Dale Caswell, and Sean Lias.

358-MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (30 LAPS)- DAVE CAMARA, Mitch Gibbs, Willy Decker, Todd Burley, Ron Holmes, Mark Flach, Paul Kinney, Ted Lamb, Gus Schmidt, Jamie Christian, Don Mattison, Tim Clemons, Jeff Kotary, Ben Bushaw, Ken McGuire, David Orr, Mark Tily, Darren Keyser, Todd Thomas, John Ramsey, Bill Trexler Jr, Bobby Varin, and Bob Henry Jr. DNS- Brian Weaver.

SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)- MIKE BUTTON, Alan Barker, Jessica Zemken, Billy Price, John Scarborough, Steve Way, Kenny Stafford, Kyle Lewis, Jeremy Vunk, Paul Carey, Matt Janczuk, Tim Nye, Jim Rothwell, Tim Mayne, Tom Juhl, Casey Williams, Mike Zimmerman, Todd Town, Waylan Wilczek, Jeff Leslie, Mike Bowman, Bob Mills, and Shawn Donath.

PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- RUSS MARSDEN, Dan Hoffman Sr., Buck Mills, Dave Janczuk, Ron Marsden, Georege Schulz, Glen Forward, Phil Norman, Chris Cunningham, Dana Aikens, Tim Janczuk, Jim Thomas, George Ritchie Jr., Rick Condes, Chris Mackey, Abbey Thorp, Eric Chapman, Stan Clark, Mike Harrison, Shawn Dunn, and Art Newman Jr. DNS- Ron Hawker and Dave Emmons.

FOUR CYLINDER FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- KEN CARSON, Chuck Powelczyk, Joey Delacruz, Doug Farnsworth, Rich Murtaugh, Chris Kranz, Lorraine Powelczyk, Lee Hartzog, and Kevin Fassett.

CNY MINI-SPRINTS TOP 10 (20 LAPS)- JARED FINK, Don Harvey, Rich Wood Jr, Skip Travis, Johnny Guarino, Brint Hockenberry, Daniel Lampron, Clint Roehers, Jeremy Quick, and Jerry Sehn.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Bobby Varin
Teams Williams