Utica-Rome results 2004-08-08

VERNON, NY- Todd Burley took the early lead of the DIRT 358-Modified event and held on to win on Pro Tire & Service and Triple B Welding night. Paul Carey, Jerry Homes, Russ Marsden, Sean Lias, and Chuck Powelczyk also were victorious...

VERNON, NY- Todd Burley took the early lead of the DIRT 358-Modified event and held on to win on Pro Tire & Service and Triple B Welding night. Paul Carey, Jerry Homes, Russ Marsden, Sean Lias, and Chuck Powelczyk also were victorious in their respective divisions.

The 358-Modifieds took to the track for their 30-lap affair with Willy Decker getting the early jump on the field. Decker would hold on to the advantage in the early going despite some early cautions for minor incidents. Lap 6 saw 7th place starter Todd Burley storm into the lead until the caution on lap 7 brought the field back together. Decker used the restart to his advantage as he retook the top spot but Burley wasn't going give up easily as regained the lead on the following circuit. The caution flew again on lap 9 when the cars of John Ramsey, Bobby Varin, Tony Ross, Don Mattison, Dave Rauscher, and Brian Weaver tangled in turn with Weaver and Rauscher both losing wheels. Weaver and Rauscher were done for the evening.

The restart saw Burley again jump out in front of the field and open up a huge margin over 2nd place runner Decker. When lap 15 was scored it was Burley over Decker with Stewart Friesen moving into 3rd, Dave Camara in 4th, and Paul Jensen in 5th. Friesen made the move into second on lap 18 and went after the front running Burley who was negotiating heavy traffic. On lap 26, as Friesen was attempting to get around a lapped car, Friesen made hard contact with the front stretch wall which brought out the final yellow. Friesen was able to continue but the car was heavily damaged. Burley was able to hang on until the end with Camara, Decker, Mitch Gibbs, and Jensen filling out the top 5.

Tim Nye grabbed the early lead in the 20-lap Sportsman main event and looked to strong early as he was searching for his first win of the season. Butch Reiter, using the high side, repeatedly pulled along side of the Nye machine only to have Nye pull away. Paul Carey was quickly moving up from his 9th starting position and began to pressure front duo and by lap 5 he was looking to get by. At halfway, it was Reiter, Nye, Carey, Jessica Zemken, and Mike Button. Lap 11 saw Carey make his move to the front as he was able to by both Nye and Reiter and began to pull away from the field. As Carey sped away in search of his 2nd win of the 2004 season, Reiter and Nye continued to battle for the runner-up with Reiter taking the position on lap 16. At the finish, it was Carey with the win, Reiter in 2nd, Button sneaking by Nye for 3rd, Nye in 4th, and Zemken in 5th.

AJ Digsby led lap 1 of the 15-lap Pro Stock feature with Roy Fifield taking over the next circuit. Fifield would lead at the halfway point with Jerry Holmes, Bob Mills, Bret Belden, and John Pietrowicz chasing. Coming off turn 4 on the final lap as the leader Fifield was making his way through heavy lapped traffic, Holmes was able to sweep around Fifield and take the victory by a couple of feet. Mills, Pietrowicz, and Tom Denton filled out the top 5.

Dave Janczuk led the opening 4 laps of the Pure Stock main until yielding the lead to the previous week's winner Chris Cunningham on lap 5. Cunningham's lead was short-lived as Russ Marsden took over on the following circuit to lead lap 8. Marsden would lead the rest the way as Art Newman, Jim Thomas, Dave Pope, and Phil Norman followed.

Sean Lias was the leader of the opening lap of the IMCA Modified 15-lap affair and would hold off all challenges from Kevin Buff and George Catanzano to record the win. Buff, Catanzano, JoJo Donato, and Dale Caswell were the remainder of the top 5 finishers.

Chuck Powelczyk passed teammate Rich Murtaugh on lap 3 and motored away for his 6th win of the season. Jim Money, Joey Delacruz, Rich Murtaugh, and Lorraine Birmingham filled out the top 5.

This Sunday August 15, Mirabito "The Energy Leader" will present a regular show of 358-Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, Pure Stocks, IMCA Modifieds, and Four Cylinder Super Stocks. Gates will open 3 p.m. with racing at 5:30 p.m. For more information, log on to www.uticaromespeedway.com or call the speedway office at (315) 829-4557.


DIRT 358-MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (30 LAPS)-TODD BURLEY, Dave Camara, Willy Decker, Mitch Gibbs, Paul Jensen, Mark Flach, Jamie Christian, Paul Kinney, Tony Ross, Stewart Friesen, Ben Bushaw, Don Mattison, Bobby Varin, Mark Tily, Todd Thomas, Joel Thomas, Ken McGuire, John Ramsey, Brian Weaver, Dave Rauscher, and Gus Schmidt.

DIRT SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)- PAUL CAREY, Butch Reiter, Mike Button, Tim Nye, Jessica Zemken, Kyle Lewis, Bill Shantel, Jr., Bill Price, John Cunningham, Kenny Stafford, Waylan Wilczek, Steve Way, Kevin Crave, Matt Janczuk, Steve Kotary, Pat O'Hanlan, Daryl Hagen, JJ Courcy, and Jeremy Vunk.

DIRT PRO STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- JERRY HOLMES, Roy Fifield, Bob Mills, John Pietrowicz, Tom Denton, Bret Belden, Jason Rood, Mark Effner, Jim Normoyle, Bill Knapp, Ryan Lund, Brian Belden, Craig Hale, Dave Moyer, Dale Guernsey, Chris Palmer, AJ Digsby, Scott Tifft, and Dan Rickard. DNS-Eric Vanderhoof.

PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- RUSS MARSDEN, Art Newman, Jim Thomas, Dave Pope, Phil Norman, Dave Janczuk, Rick Condes, Chris Cunningham, Walter Koperda, Steve Delano, Ricky Marshall, Frank Hyatt, Bob Bird, Shawn Dunn, Rob Seavy, Chuck Cushman, Ted Crawford, and Dan Hill.

IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- SEAN LIAS, Kevin Buff, George Catanzano, JoJo Donato, Dale Caswell, John, Carr, Skip, Pabis, Chris Thurston, Ken Rogers, Aaron Jacobs, Bill Anderson Sr.

FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCK FEATURE FINISH (8 LAPS)- CHUCK POWELCZYK, Jim Money, Joey Delacruz, Rich Murtaugh, Lorraine Birmingham, Lee Hartzog, and Jack Hill. DNS- Jeff Leslie.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Bobby Varin