Utica-Rome results 2004-06-20

VERNON, NY- On a beautiful Sunday evening, fans were treated to a intense night of racing on Wilber-Duck Chevy/Gates-Cole night. Todd Burley took home his first win of the season at the speedway, with Steve Way, Roy Fifield, Russ Marsden, and...

VERNON, NY- On a beautiful Sunday evening, fans were treated to a intense night of racing on Wilber-Duck Chevy/Gates-Cole night. Todd Burley took home his first win of the season at the speedway, with Steve Way, Roy Fifield, Russ Marsden, and Chuck Powelczyk also victorious.

Paul Jensen and Paul Kinney brought the 358-Modified field down to starter Matt Burdick's green flag with Kinney out front early. After an early caution for a spun car on lap 1, Brian Weaver took off like a rocket from his fourth postion and grabbed the lead by the end of lap 2. Weaver sped off leaving a battle for second behind between Kinney, Jensen, and Bobby Varin. Varin would win that battle on lap 5 with Jensen settling for third, and Kinney falling to fourth. On lap 10, Weaver was out front with Varin, Jensen, Todd Burley, and Kinney rounding out the top five.

Burley began to make his presence felt as he got by both Varin and Jensen as lap 12 was scored. As lap 15 was clicked off, Weaver was still out front with Burley trying to run him down, Varin holding on to third, Stewart Friesen making his way to fourth, and Jensen still riding in fifth. On lap 19, Friesen slipped into third and made it a three-way battle for the top spot.

Burley used a textbook slide job to get by the front running Weaver on lap 24, leaving Weaver to hold off Friesen. As Burley stretched his lead, Weaver and Friesen fought back and forth for the runner-up spot. At the checkered, it was Burley taking his first win of the season at Utica-Rome, with Friesen using a last turn pass to take second, Weaver falling to third, and Varin and Jensen in fourth and fifth respectively. Varin, Jensen, and Gus Schmidt were the heat race winners.

Tim Nye took early command of the Sportsman main event from his outside pole starting position and led the first 5 circuits. Coming from the 4th starting position, Steve Way took advantage of a lap 5 restart to take over the top spot and continued to lead at the halfway point of the 20-lap affair with Mike Button, Bill Shantel, Jr., Tim Nye, and Butch Reiter chasing. Despite several more cautions, the most serious when Nye slammed the turn 4 wall hard, Way would lead the rest of the way. After a race long battle, Button held on to second over Shantel, with Ken Stafford nipping Jessica Zemken for 4th at the line. The qualifying heats were taken by Nye and Paul Carey.

Searching for his first career Pro Stock victory, Mark Effner held on to the early lead in the main event. Despite the challenges of Jason Rood and Tom Denton early part of the 15-lap event, Effner would continue to hold on to the lead. At lap 6, Roy Fifield broke into the top 5 and started to close in on the top 3. By the halfway point, Fifield made his way into second behind Effner, with Denton, Rood, and Jerry Holmes. On lap 9, Fifield nosed ahead to lead the lap but Effner managed to regain the lead on lap 10. Fifield then passed Effner for the final time on lap 11, with Effner falling to second. Behind Fifield, the battle raged on again between Effner, Denton, and Rood until the the checkered flag. Fifield crossed first, Effner held on to second, Rood nipping Denton for third, and Holmes coming in fifth. Ed Ostrander and Rood took the checkers in the heat events.

Ted Crawford used the pole starting spot to take command of the Pure Stock main event. Crawford would spend most of the early part of the main holding off the charges of defending champion Art Newman until lap 7 when the winner of the two previous events, Russ Marsden, would slip into second. Crawford was leading at the halfway point, with Marsden, Bob Bird, Chris Cunningham, and Newman. Crawford would fend off the charge of Marsden until lap 12 when Marsden got a good run off turn 2 to go around the leader Crawford. At the checkered, Marsden would cross the line in first, with Cunningham sliding by Crawford late for second, Crawford settled for third, Bird in fourth, and Newman in fifth. Marsden and Dana Aikens were the victors in the qualifying heats.

Chuck Powelczyk would charge from his third starting spot at the start of the Four Cylinder Super Stock feature event and would never be seriously challenged for the remainder of the 8-lap event. Jim Money, Jack Hill, Lee Hartzog, and Lorraine Birmangham would follow Powelczyk across the line.

This week will be a busy one at the Utica-Rome Speedway as racing action will return to the speedway this Wednesday June 23 with C-Weaver and Part Plus presenting a 50-lap Sunoco/A-plus 358-Modified Championship Qualifier that will pay $2500 to the winner. The DIRT Sportsman will also see action with $1000 going to the winner along with the Empire State Series for IMCA-Modifieds paying $500 to win. Gates will open 4:30 p.m. with racing starting at 7 p.m. Admission will remain at the regular Sunday admission prices at both the grandstand and pits. Then the following Sunday, June 27, Royce International Eyewear will present the 5th annual "Night of Legends Reunion" and NYSSCA Safety Awards night. On tap will be the Eastern Region Sunoco Race Fuels Super DIRT Series for Sportsman plus a regular show of DIRT 358-Modifieds, DIRT Pro Stocks, Pure Stocks, Four Cylinder Super Stocks. The Midstate Vintage Stock Car Club will also take part in the festivities. Pit gates open at 3 p.m., grandstands at 3:30 p.m., and racing at 5:30 p.m. For more information, log on to the speedway website at www.uticaromespeedway.com or call the speedway office at (315) 829-4557.


DIRT 358-MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (30 LAPS)- TODD BURLEY, Stewart Friesen, Brian Weaver, Bob Varin, Paul Jensen, Dave Camara, John Ramsey, Mark Flach, Jamie Christian, Gus Schmidt, Willy Decker, Dave Rauscher, Paul Kinney, Kory Gurney, Ken McGwire, Joel Thomas, Todd Thomas, Mitch Gibbs, Jeremy Smith, Tony Ross, Cass Bennett, Jim Rothwell, and Mark Tily.

DIRT SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)- STEVE WAY, Mike Button, Bill Shantel, Jr., Kenny Stafford, Jessica Zemken, Bill Price, Matt Janczuk, Paul Carey, Jeremy Vunk, Darryl Hagen, Joe Williams, Mike Zimmerman, Stewart Garrison, John Cunningham, Tim Nye, Kyle Lewis, Butch Reiter, Tim Mayne, and Sam Reakes, Jr.

DIRT PRO STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- ROY FIFIELD, Mark Effner, Jason Rood, Tom Denton, Jerry Holmes, Bret Belden, Todd Hurlburt, Dave Moyer, Ryan Lund, Brian Belden, AJ Digsby, Jim Normoyle, Ed Ostrander, Eric Vanderhoof, Craig Hile, and Bob Mills.

PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- RUSS MARSDEN, Chris Cunningham, Ted Crawford, Bob Bird, Art Newman, Jim Thomas, Rick Condes, Dana Aikens, Chuck Cushman, Frank Hyatt, Dave Janczuk, Shawn Dunn, Michael Barney, Dennis Wood, Ray Fancher, Phil Norman, Dave Pope, and Neil Dixon. DNS-Dave Arbes and Rick Marshall.

FOUR CYLINDER FEATURE FINISH (8 LAPS)- CHUCK POWELCZYK, Jim Money, Jack Hill, Lee Hartzog, Lorraine Birmingham, and Joe Delacruz.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Jeremy Smith , Bobby Varin
Teams Williams