Utica-Rome race results 2004-06-06

Stewart Friesen Wins Again on Law Manufacturing and Cushman's Automotive Night VERNON, NY- Stewart Friesen would continue his mastery over the DIRT 358-Modifieds while Bill Shantel, Jr., Roy Fifield, Russ Marsden, and Chuck Powelczyk were also...

Stewart Friesen Wins Again on Law Manufacturing and Cushman's Automotive Night

VERNON, NY- Stewart Friesen would continue his mastery over the DIRT 358-Modifieds while Bill Shantel, Jr., Roy Fifield, Russ Marsden, and Chuck Powelczyk were also victorious. The night's action was sponsored by Law Manufacturing Inc. and Cushman's Automotive.

Longtime Utica-Rome Speedway campaigner and pole sitter Paul Jensen would take the lead over fellow front row starter Don Mattison to lead the opening lap of the DIRT 358-Modified 30 lap affair. Brian Weaver would take over the lead at the completion of lap 2 from his 4th starting spot and at lap 10, it was Weaver over Stewart Friesen, Mitch Gibbs, Mark Flach, and Dave Rauscher. Friesen, charging from 15th and looking for his 4th straight win, would pass Weaver at the completion of lap 12. When lap 15 was scored, Friesen was out front with Weaver, Gibbs, Flach, and Rauscher trailing.

Friesen would easily control the remainder of the race, with Weaver and Gibbs battling for the runnerup position. Gibbs would prevail, slipping by Weaver on lap 20. The order would remain the same until the checkered with Friesen, Gibbs, Weaver, Flach, and Dave Camara crossing the line in the top five. Qualifying heats went to Willy Decker, Todd Burley, and Flach.

Kenny Stafford jumped from his fourth starting spot to take the lead of the Sportsman main at the completion of lap 1. Stafford, running his first full season in the DIRT Sportsman division, would hold on to the top spot until lap 5 when defending champion Bill Shantel, Jr. would take over. Looking for his first win of the 2004 season, Shantel would hold off the charges of Stafford, Paul Carey, and Jessica Zemken for the remainder of the 20 lap event to take home the victory. Shantel, Stafford, Carey, Zemken, and Butch Reiter would round out the top five. Steve Way, Shantel Jr., and Stafford were the heat winners.

Jason Rood grabbed the early lead at the start of the Pro Stock main event over pole sitter Ed Ostrander and by lap 3, Rood began to get pressured by AJ Digsby. Digsby's bid for the lead would be successful on lap 4 as he would be scored the leader at the line. Digsby's lead would be short however as Eric Vanderhoof would sweep around Digsby to gain the top spot on lap 5. Vanderhoof and Digsby would battle for the lead as Roy Fifield was slicing his was through the field. Fifield would grab second from Digsby on lap 12 and then set his sights on the leader Vanderhoof. Vanderhoof would bobble coming out of turn 4 coming down to the checkered flag, giving Fifield the chance he was looking for. Vanderhoof and Fifield would drag race to the finish line with Fifield taking the win by inches. At the line, it was Fifield, Vanderhoof, Digsby, Rood, and Bret Belden. Heat wins went to Vanderhoof and Fifield.

In the Pure Stock feature event, Phil Norman would relinquish the lead to Russ Marsden after leading the opening 2 laps with Marsden pulling away. Marsden would win by a large margin, leaving Dave Pope, Art Newman, Jim Thomas, and Chuck Cushman to battle for second. Pope would then battle for the runnerup spot, with Cushman, Thomas, and Newman trailing at the finish. Ted Crawford and Marsden were the winners of the qualifying heats.

Chuck Powelczyk would lead the entire distance of the 8 lap Four Cylinder Super Stock feature, taking the win over Joey Delacruz, Ken Clark, Bill Trexler, Sr., and Jack Hill. Powelczyk was the victor of the lone heat race.

The next event on the Utica-Rome Speedway schedule is on Sunday June 13 when Triple B Welding and Dig Safely New York present a regular show of DIRT 358-Modifieds, DIRT Sportsman, DIRT Pro Stocks, Pure Stocks, and Four Cylinder Super Stocks. Pit gates open at 3 p.m., with grandstands opening at 3:30 p.m., and racing beginning at 5:30 p.m. More information can be found at www.uticaromespeedway.com or you can contact the speedway at (315) 829-4557.


DIRT 358-MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (30 LAPS)- STEWART FRIESEN, Mitch Gibbs, Brian Weaver, Mark Flach, Dave Camara, Bob Varin, Dave Rauscher, Gus Schmidt, Jamie Christian, Jim Rothwell, Todd Thomas, John Ramsey, Don Mattison, Jeff Kotary, Cass Bennett, Todd Burley, Willy Decker, Ben Bushaw, Paul Jensen, Jeremy Smith, Chris Ostrowsky, Mark Tily, Ken McGuire, and Paul Kinney.

DIRT SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)- BILL SHANTEL JR., Ken Stafford, Paul Carey, Jessica Zemken, Butch Reiter, Mike Button, Steve Way, Scott Parliament, Bill Price, Tim Mayne, Jeremy Vunk, Marcel Pecore, Matt Janczuk, Mike Zimmerman, Stewart Garrison, John DeForest, Tim Nye, Clayton Brewer, Kyle Lewis, JJ Courcy, Dan Yankowski, and Adam Smith. DNS- Terry Knoblach.

DIRT PRO STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- ROY FIFIELD, Eric Vanderhoof, AJ Digsby, Jason Rood, Bret Belden, Ed Ostrander, Dave Moyer, Mark Effner, Tom Denton, Bob Mills, Brian Belden, Dave Briggs, Ryan Lund, Craig Hale, Chad Ray, Bob Johnson, Clint Wiest, and Jerry Holmes.

PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)- RUSS MARSDEN, Dave Pope, Chuck Cushman, Jim Thomas, Art Newman, John Cunningham, Rick Condes, Rick Trexler, Frank Hyatt, Phil Norman, Bob Bird, Rob Seavy, Dave Janczuk, and Shawn Dunn. DNS- Ted Crawford and Dan Hill

FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCK FEATURE FINISH (8 LAPS)- CHUCK POWELCZYK, Joey Delacruz, Ken Clark, Bill Trexler Sr., and Jack Hill. DNS-Lee Hartzog.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Adam Smith , Jeremy Smith , Dave Briggs