Utica-Rome August 23rd Modified preview

Advance Auto Parts Super Dirt Series Invades Utica-Rome Speedway Tonight For Tracey Road Equipment 100 VERNON, NY& ...

Advance Auto Parts Super Dirt Series Invades Utica-Rome Speedway Tonight For Tracey Road Equipment 100

VERNON, NY– A tight battle for the national Mr. DIRT Modified championship will be the focus tonight at Utica-Rome Speedway as round eighteen of the twenty-five race Advance Auto Parts Super DIRT Series visits Route 5 track in Vernon tonight for the Tracey Road Equipment / Freightliner Selec Trucks 100. This will be the second appearance of the DIRT Big Block Modifieds at Utica-Rome in fourteen years, and it will surely be a night to remember with an excellent weather forecast. Time trials for the midweek special will begin at 6:45pm, with race time on the fast half-mile set for 7:30pm.

The very best names in DIRT Motorsports racing will converge on the fast Utica-Rome half-mile clay oval for the $6,000 winners share of the 100-lap Tracey Road Equipment special. Last year’s winner Danny Johnson of Rochester will lead current Super DIRT Series point leader Steve Paine of Waterloo into Utica-Rome. A host of other popular stars will also be on hand including Tim McCreadie, Bob McCreadie, Jack Johnson, Alan Johnson, Billy Decker, Tim Fuller, Chuck Bower, Jimmy Horton, Brett Hearn, Dave Lape, Kenny Tremont, Doug Hoffman, Pat Ward, and A.J. Romano.

A very tight contest for the national Mr. DIRT Modified championship will be a focus of attention this evening, as current point leader Steve Paine leads former Utica-Rome track champion Brett Hearn by only one marker heading into the Tracey Road Equipment 100 at Utica-Rome. Tim McCreadie rides in third by only 15 points, and he also has a shot at taking the Super DIRT Series points lead this evening. Brothers Alan Johnson and Danny Johnson complete the top five in the standings, and Danny could very well be a favorite as he is the defending race champion.

A strong contingent of Utica-Rome’s regular 358-Modified teams will also be on hand, racing for bonus money as well as a coveted guaranteed starting position for Fulton Speedway’s Victoria 200, which will go to the first 358-Modified to finish the event. All track regulars supporting the event will be given 20 bonus points toward the season-long track point standings, and that could be very important with only one point race remaining on August 26. Expect Mitch Gibbs, J.J. Michaels, Roger Phelps, John Barker, Jason Barney, Gus Schmidt and possibly even this season’s track champion Todd Burley all on hand to challenge their Big Block counterparts.

The DIRT Pro Stock division will also be racing in a regular 15-lap track points event, and it will be a very important night for Jerry Holmes and Bret Belden, who are racing neck and neck for the Pro Stock track championship. Drivers such as Wayne Archer, Jason Rood, Dave Moyer, Gerry Newman, and Chad Ray will all be on hand trying to improve their positions in the standings. Invaders such as Tom Barron, Jipp Ortiz, and Joe Stefanski could be on hand to steal the glory from the track regulars.

This season on the Super DIRT Series, Paine leads all drivers in the standings as well as in the victory column with six victories. Both Brett Hearn and Tim McCreadie have four wins apiece, with Jack Johnson, Billy Decker, and Danny Johnson with one win each. Neither Paine, McCreadie, nor Billy Decker have won at Utica-Rome before, so there could very well be a new winner in victory lane at the conclusion of the Tracey Road Equipment 100.

Utica-Rome Speedway gates tonight will open at 5pm, with time trials beginning at 6:45pm and racing taking the green from Starter Dick Sweet at 7:30pm. The track is located on Route 5 in Vernon and is easily accessible from New York State Thruway Exit 33. Free parking and overnight camping is allowed on speedway grounds.

For more information, contact the speedway office at (315) 829-4557 or log onto the official website at www.newuticaromespeedway.com.

Past Super DIRT Series Events at Utica-Rome Speedway

August 17, 1982– 82 laps - Jack Johnson, Jimmy Horton, Danny Johnson, C.D. Coville, Dave Lape.

July 16, 1985– 85 laps– Dave Lape, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, John Birosh, Jimmy Horton.

July 15, 1986– 86 laps– Brett Hearn, Danny Johnson, Charlie Rudolph, Bob McCreadie, Doug Hoffman.

July 22, 1987– 87 laps– Kenny Tremont,Jr., Mike Romano, Jimmy Horton, Chuck Akulis, Dave Lape.

August 24, 200– 100 laps– Danny Johnson, Steve Paine, Jack Johnson, Brett Hearn, Alan Johnson.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Brett Hearn , Tim McCreadie , John Barker