USAR: USA-Lakeland II: Southern Division race report

Sarvis breaks Gill record. Lakeland, FL-- Jason Sarvis, driver of the ...

Sarvis breaks Gill record.

Lakeland, FL-- Jason Sarvis, driver of the #22 Naturally Fresh Foods/Black's Tire Service Chevrolet, collected his first career USAR Hooters ProCup victory Saturday night in the Jackaroo Sauces 250 presented by Discount Auto Parts at USA International Speedway, in Lakeland, FL. Sarvis beat teammate Hal Goodson to the checkered flag by .579 seconds. Local favorite Derrick Kelley finished third, while Bobby Gill and Clay Rogers rounded out the top-five.

"This has been a long, long dream of mine to win a Hooters ProCup race, and now to finally win one, here at Lakeland (USA International Speedway), it truly is a dream came true," commented Sarvis following his victory. Sarvis became the first driver to defeat Bobby Gill at the three-quarter mile track since Steven Christian won in November of 2000. Sarvis also broke Gill's streak of six consecutive wins for the 2002 season.

"To have a quality driver like Hal Goodson finish behind you, and both of us driving RBR cars, makes tonight special," said Sarvis.

"I'm happy to see Jason get his first win. My car was handling good, but we just could not beat the #22," said Goodson, driver of the #92 Black's Tire Service Chevrolet.

Steve Christian finished sixth, Shane Huffman collected seventh place, Miller Lite Rookie of the year point leader Billy Mowery finished eighth, while Shane Wallace and Rodney Childers finished out the top 10.

Sarvis collected the Buffalo Nickel Buffalo Burgers Pole Award earlier in the afternoon with a time of 21.988 seconds, 116.163 mph, along with the Southern Pride Lap Leader Award, in which he led 246 out of 252 laps. Joe Gaita, driver of the #06 ACS, Kimnach Ford, Towne Bank Ford collected the lead on lap 123, when Sarvis brought the car down pit road for the pit stop. Gaita collected the Lucas Oil Half-way Leader Award, and led six laps. Sarvis reclaimed the lead on lap 129 and held on for the win. Derrick Kelley, driver of the #21 Discount Auto Parts Chevrolet, collected the W.J. Plemons Investment Hard Charger Award. Billy Mowery, driver of the Miller Lite Rookie of the Race Award, was the highest finishing rookie. The #22 Ricky Benton Racing crew collected the CV Products Engine Builder of the Race Award.

The next race for the USAR Hooters ProCup Series Southern Division will be Saturday, June 15 at Myrtle Beach Speedway, in Myrtle Beach, SC.

For more information please visit our website at


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Clay Rogers , Shane Huffman