USAR: Team Gill grabs Goodyear Pit Crew Challenge honor

Lakeland, FL (Nov. 23, 2001)& ...

Lakeland, FL (Nov. 23, 2001)– While Bobby Gill was busy preparing to race his way to a third consecutive USAR Hooters ProCup Series National Championship his team grabbed the headlines about five hours before the checkered flag fell on the 2001 season. Gill Racing, led by crew chief and jackman Steve Dulzienski, won the first-ever Goodyear Pit Crew Challenge Saturday afternoon at USA International Speedway. The team of Shan Russ, Mark Williams, Bill Green, John Bland and Billy Rhine completed the error-free pit stop in a time of 25.78 seconds to outdistance the Balck’s Tire Service Team of driver Jason Sarvis. The winning team collected $3,000 from Goodyear Tire, the official race tire of the USAR Hooters ProCup Series. “ I want to thank all the guys for their hard work,” said Dulzienski.“ We had some new members from another team join us recently and helped up out. We just went out there and did what we had to do to win. “ USAR would like to thank Goodyear for sponsoring the pit crew challenge,” said USAR President Gene Cox.“ The competition was very exciting and provided a spotlight on the unsung heroes that contribute to winning a championship.” The Black’s Tire Service team won $2,000 from Goodyear for finishing second and BLV Motorsports, of driver Brian Vickers won third place honors and $1,000 from Goodyear. The top three finishing teams also won equipment provided by Lowes Lug Nut, Mechanix Wear, Ringer Resources, and Tri-Star, the official uniform supplier of the Series. “ I want to congratulate all 12 teams who participated in the challenge,” said Larry Robinson of Goodyear.“ Goodyear wanted to recognize the efforts of all the crew members who work hard all season long for their respective teams. Goodyear is proud to be the official race tire of the USAR Hooters ProCup Series.” Goodyear Tire and Rubber, Co. is based in Akron, Ohio and has been the official tire of the USAR Hooters ProCup Series since the series began competition in 1997.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Brian Vickers , Mark Williams
Teams Williams