USAR: South Boston fact sheet

<pre> WHAT: Naturally Fresh Dressings 250 USAR Hooters ProCup Series Race ...


WHAT: Naturally Fresh Dressings 250 USAR Hooters ProCup Series Race #22 of 30 (Southern Division Race #13)

WHERE: South Boston Speedway .4-Mile, semi-banked paved oval

WHEN: Saturday, August 18, 2001, 7:30 p.m. EDT

DISTANCE: 250 Laps, 100 Miles

TV: Speedvision (Tape-Delayed, Thursday, August 23, 9:00 p.m.) Speedvision (Tape-Delayed, Friday, August 24, 1:00 a.m. & 12 noon) Sunshine Network (Tape-Delayed, Monday, August 27, 8:00 p.m.) Sunshine Network (Tape-Delayed, Tuesday, August 28, 2:00 p.m.) ComCast Sports Southeast (Tape-Delayed, Saturday, August 25, 8:00 p.m.) ComCast Sports Philadelphia (Tape-Delayed, Saturday, August 25, 4:00 p.m.) Empire Sports (Tape-Delayed, Tuesday, August 28, 7:30 p.m.) Comcast Sports Net & Fox Sports South (TBA)


FIELD: 40 cars possible. Fastest 36 cars through time trials. Four provisional starting positions based on top 30 drivers' position in the final 2000 points standings. One provisional each may be added to the field for a former Hooters ProCup Series champion, or a former USAR Hooters ProCup Series Rookie of the Year who competed in 2000. (Starting Line-Up Format Could Change If Qualifying Races Are Needed.)

SCHEDULE: Friday, August 17, 2001 (USAR Reserves the Right to Change Schedule) 5:00-7:00 p.m. Early Parking & Registration

Saturday, August 18, 2001 8:00 a.m. Pit Gate Opens 8:30 a.m. Safety Tech Opens 9:00 a.m. Crew Chief Meeting (USAR Command Center) 9:15 a.m. Rookie Drivers Meeting (USAR Command Center) 11:00 p.m. Hooters ProCup Practice Begins 2:00 p.m. Hooters ProCup Practice Ends 2:30 p.m. Hooters ProCup Drivers Meeting 2:45 p.m. CHAPEL SERVICE (USAR Command Center) 3:00 p.m. Late Model Practice and Qualifying Begins 4:00 p.m. Front Gates Open 4:45 p.m. Late Model Practice and Qualifying Ends 5:00 p.m. Hooters ProCup Qualifying Time Trials (2 Laps) 5:45 p.m. Photographers Meeting (ASAP After Qualifying at Command Center) 6:30 p.m. Hooters ProCup Drivers Autograph Session 7:10 p.m. Drivers Introduction and Pre-Race Ceremonies 7:30 p.m. Naturally Fresh Dressings 250 Race Begins To Follow Late Model Race: 75 Laps

THE RACE: The track has hosted 3 Hooters ProCup Series events since 1997.

RECORDS: Driver Date Speed Time Qualifying: Michael Ritch 8/21/1999 90.028 mph 15.995 sec.

AUGUST 19, 2000 TOP 10 IN EVENT:     AUGUST 19, 2000 STATS:
1.     Hal Goodson                   Pole Winner: Hal Goodson
2.     Bobby Gill                    Time of Race: 1:52:46
3.     Brian Vickers                 Margin of Victory: .2 sec.
4.     Johnny Rumley                 Caution Flags: 9 for 59 laps
5.     Stacy Puryear                 Lap Leaders:  1-77 Hal Goodson, 78-131
6.     Regan Smith                    Brian Vickers, 132-140 Johnny Rumley,
7.     Jon Wood                       141-250 Hal Goodson
8.     Steve Christian
9.     Charlie Ford
10.    Billy Morris

PAST THREE HOOTERS PROCUP SERIES RESULTS AT SOUTH BOSTON SPEEDWAY Race Winners Pole Winners 1997 Mario Gosselin Brad May 1999 Jay Fogleman Michael Ritch 2000 Hal Goodson Hal Goodson


Lucas Oil Products; Miller Lite Beer; 2-Qwik Performance Shocks; Carolina Kit Cars,

W.J. Plemons Investments; Incentive Risk Management; CV Products; Charlotte Wheels, Inc.; Earl's Performance Plumbing; Eibach Springs; C & R Racing; Ferodo Brake Pad; Holley Ignitions; Isky Race Cams; Manley Performance Products; MSD Ignitions; K & N Engineering; Spin Tech; Wiseco Pistons, BSR Products; Quarter Master Industries; Racing Electronics; Rev Inc.; Tri-Star Racewear

<pre> HPCS Race Winners in 2001: HPCS Pole Winners in 2001:

1.  Bobby Gill, USA International Speedway                      1. Mario Gosselin, USA International
2.  Jay Fogleman, St. Augustine Speedway                        2. Steve Christian, St. Augustine
3.  Bobby Gill, Five Flags Speedway                             3. Shane Huffman, Five Flags Speedway
4.  Hal Goodson, Ace Speedway                                   4. Jay Folgleman, Ace Speedway
5.  Stacy Puryear, Jennerstown Speedway                         5. Charlie Ford, Jennerstown Speedway
6.  Shane Huffman, Coastal Plains Raceway                       6. Toby Robertson, Coastal Plains Raceway
7.  Bill Plemons, Jr. Thompson International Speedway           7. Regan Smith, Thompson International Speedway
8.  Shane Huffman, Peach State Speedway                         8. Brian Vickers, Peach State Speedway
9.  Sean Studer, Louisville Motor Speedway                      9. Regan Smith, Louisville Mtr Speedway
10. Bobby Gill, Hickory Motor Speedway                          10. Hal Goodson, Hickory Motor Speedway
11.  Sean Studer, Indianapolis Raceway Park                     11. Regan Smith, Indianapolis Racewy Park
12.  Hal Goodson, Myrtle Beach Speedway                         12. Hal Goodson, Myrtle Beach Speedway
13. Brian Vickers, Chemung Speedrome                            13. Mardy Lindley, Chemung Speedrome
14.  Shane Huffman, Lonesome Pine Raceway                       14.  Hal Goodson, Lonesome Pine Raceway
15. Sean Studer, Holland International Raceway                  15. Sean Studer, Holland Int'l Raceway
16. Steven Christian, Montgomery Motor Speedway                 16. Mario Gosselin, Montgomery Speedway
17. Jeff Agnew, Jennerstown Speedway                            17. Steven Christian, Jennerstown Speedway
18. Bobby Gill, New River Valley Spdwy                          18. Shane Huffman, New River Valley
19. Donnie Hill, Winchester Speedway                            19. Brian Vickers, Winchester Speedway
20. Mario Gosselin, Hickory Motor Speedway                      20. Mario Gosselin, Hickory Motor Spdwy
21. Brian Vickers, Illiana Motor Speedway                       21. Mario Gosselin, Illiana Motor Speedway


Driver                      Hometown                        Car Make      Pts.         Wins
1. Bobby Gill               Dalton, GA                      Ford          1592           4
2. Hal Goodson              Winston-Salem, NC               Chevrolet     1556           2
3. Steven Christian         Buford, GA                      Ford          1522           1
4. Jay Fogleman             Durham, NC                      Ford          1498           1
5. Shane Huffman            Hickory, NC                     Ford          1458           3
6. Mario Gosselin           Lake Wales, FL                  Ford          1384           1
7. Lee Tissot               Arden, NC                       Chevrolet     1374           0
8. Jason Sarvis             Concord, NC                     Chevrolet     1349           0
9. Stacy Puryear            South Boston, VA                Chevrolet     1341           0
10. Daniel Johnson*         Midland, NC                     Chevrolet     1277           0

* - Denotes Rookie


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Jon Wood , Brian Vickers , Regan Smith , Mario Gosselin , Shane Huffman , Johnny R , Jeff Agnew
Teams CIP