USAR: New River Valley Speedway fast facts

<pre> 2000 HOOTERS PROCUP SERIES RACE FACTS WHAT: KROGER 250 presented by Pepsi USAR Hooters ProCup Series Race ...


WHAT: KROGER 250 presented by Pepsi USAR Hooters ProCup Series Race #10 of 20

WHERE:  New River Valley Speedway; .416-Mile, Paved
WHEN:   Saturday, July 8, 2000 - 7:00 p.m. EDT

DISTANCE: 250 Laps, 103 Miles

TV: Speedvision (Tape-Delayed, Sunday, July 28, 8:00 p.m.& Midnight) Sunshine Network (Tape-Delayed, Monday, July 31, 8:00 p.m.) Home Team Sports (Tape-Delayed, August 2, 8:00 p.m.)

RADIO: USA Racing Network (USARN) (Live, 6:45, p.m., EDT) WPCC-AM 1410, Clinton, SC (Flagship Station) WKDY-AM 1400, Spartanburg, SC WMVA-AM 1450, Martinsville, VA


FIELD: 32 cars possible. Fastest 30 cars through time trials. Two provisional starting positions based on top 30 drivers' position in the current 2000 points standings. One provisional each may be added to the field for a former Hooters ProCup Series champion, or a former USAR Hooters ProCup Series Rookie of the Year who competed in 1999. (Starting Line- Up Format Could Change If Qualifying Races Are Needed.)

SCHEDULE: Friday, July 21, 2000 5 -7 p.m. Early Parking & Registration

Saturday, July 22, 2000 8:00 a.m. Pit Gate Opens & Park Haulers 9:00 a.m. Crew Chief Meeting (USAR Renegade Hauler) 9:15 a.m. Rookie Drivers Meeting (USAR Renegade Hauler) 10:30-12:30 p.m. Hooters ProCup Practice 1:00 p.m. Hooters ProCup Drivers Meeting 1:15-1:30 p.m. CHAPEL SERVICE (USAR Renegade Hauler) 2:30-3:30 p.m. Local Practice 4:00 p.m. Hooters ProCup Qualifying Time Trials (2 Laps) 5:00 p.m. Local Division Qualifying 6:00 p.m. Hooters ProCup Series Autograph Session 6:30 p.m. Drivers Introduction and Pre-Race Ceremonies 7:00 p.m. Kroger 250 presented by Pepsi Begins (USAR Reserves the Right to Change Schedule) THE RACE: The track has hosted two Hooters ProCup Series events.

RECORDS: Driver Date Speed Time Qualifying: Michael Ritch 7/24/99 90.326 mph 16.580

1999 TOP 10 IN EVENT: 1999 STATS: 1) Mario Gosselin Discount Auto Parts Pole: Michael Ritch 2) Jay Fogleman Time of Race: 1:46:00 3) Jeff Agnew Average Speed: N/A 4) Andy Thurman Margin of Victory: .9 seconds 5) Bobby Gill Caution Flags: 9 for 64 laps 6) Brian Sockwell Lap Leaders: 1-99 Michael Ritch; 99-104 7) Mike Laughlin, Jr. Jeff Agnew; 105-108 David Hyder; 8) David Hyder 109-250 Mario Gosselin. 9) Mart Nesbitt 10) Johnny Rumley

PAST RESULTS OF THIS EVENT Winner Discount Auto Parts Pole 1999 Mario Gosselin Michael Ritch 1998 Jay Fogleman Jeff Agnew


Discount Auto Parts, Lucas Oil Products, State Fair Brand Corn Dogs, Miller Lite Beer, W.J. Plemons Investments, Incentive Risk Management, BRC Performance, CV Products, Ford Motorsports SVO, Earl's Performance Plumbing, Eibach Springs, Griffin Thermal Products, Hawk Saw Blades, Holley Ignitions, Isky Race Cams, Landrum Springs, Manley Performance Products, MSD Ignitions, Quarter Master Industries, Racing Electronics, Rev Inc., Tri-Star Racewear


- 1998 Hooters ProCup Series Champion Jeff Agnew is a former track champion at New River Valley Speedway. - Jon Wood competed at the track in 1999 and won Rookie of the Year honors in Late Model Stock competition.

HPCS Race Winners in 2000: HPCS DAP Pole Winners in 2000: 1) Andy Thurman, USA International 1. Stacy Puryear, USA International 2) Bobby Gill, Florida Speedpark 2. Mario Gosselin, Florida Speedpark 3) Bobby Gill, Ace Speedway 3. Jon Wood, Ace Speedway 4) Mardy Lindley, Myrtle Beach Speedway 4. Clay Rogers, Myrtle Beach Speedway 5) Mardy Lindley, Peach State Speedway 5. Steven Christian, Peach State 6) Brian Vickers, USA International 6. Mario Gosselin, USA International 7) Bobby Gill, Montgomery Motor. Speedway 7. Mario Gosselin, Montgomery 8) Bobby Gill, Lonesome Pine Raceway 8. Bill Plemons, Jr., Lonesome Pine 9) Bobby Gill, Hickory Motor Speedway 9. Clay Rogers, Hickory Motor Speedway

Driver                  Pts  Wins    Driver             Pts.
Mario Gosselin          1,390 0   1. David Pletcher     1,188
Bobby Gill              1,331 5   2. Jon Wood           1,176
Steven Christian        1,260 0   3. Brian Vickers      1,153
Mardy Lindley           1,188 2   4. Clayton Rogers     1,132
David Pletcher*         1,188 0   5. Stacy Puryear      946
Jeff Agnew              1,178 0   6. Regan Smith        885
Jon Wood*               1,176 0   7. Sean Studer        859
Charlie Ford            1,163 0   8. Darryl Hayes       752
Brian Vickers*          1,153 1   9. Kertus Davis       711
Clay Rogers*            1,132 0   10. Shane Huffman     615

* Denotes Rookie

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Clay Rogers , Jon Wood , Brian Vickers , Regan Smith , Kertus Davis , Brian Sockwell , Mario Gosselin , Shane Huffman , Johnny R , Jeff Agnew
Teams CIP