USAR: Hickory Motor speedway fact sheet

<pre> 2000 HOOTERS PROCUP SERIES RACE FACTS WHAT: STATE FAIR CORN DOGS 250 presented by Johnsonville Bratwurst USAR Hooters ProCup Series Race ...


WHAT: STATE FAIR CORN DOGS 250 presented by Johnsonville Bratwurst
USAR Hooters ProCup Series Race #9 of 20

WHERE: Hickory Motor Speedway; .363-Mile, Paved

WHEN: Saturday, July 8, 2000 - 8:00 p.m. EDT

DISTANCE: 250 Laps, 91 Miles

TV: Speedvision (Tape-Delayed, Sunday, July 16, 8:00 p.m.) Sunshine Network (Tape-Delayed, Monday, July 17, 8:00 p.m.) Home Team Sports (Tape-Delayed, Saturday, July 22, 8:30 p.m.) RADIO: USA Racing Network (USARN) (Live, 7:45, p.m., EDT) WPCC-AM 1410, Clinton, SC (Flagship Station) WKDY-AM 1400, Spartanburg, SC WMVA-AM 1450, Martinsville, VA


FIELD: 32 cars possible. Fastest 30 cars through time trials. Two provisional starting positions based on top 30 drivers' position in the current 2000 points standings. One provisional each may be added to the field for a former Hooters ProCup Series champion, or a former USAR Hooters ProCup Series Rookie of the Year who competed in 1999. (Starting Line- Up Format Could Change If Qualifying Races Are Needed.)

SCHEDULE: Friday, July 7, 2000 5 -7 p.m. Early Parking & Registration

Saturday, July 8, 2000 9:00 a.m. Pit Gate Opens & Park Haulers 10:00 a.m. Crew Chief Meeting (USAR Renegade Hauler) 10:15 a.m. Rookie Drivers Meeting (USAR Renegade Hauler) 12:00-2:00 p.m. Hooters ProCup Practice 2:30 p.m. Hooters ProCup Drivers Meeting 2:45-3:00 p.m. CHAPEL SERVICE (USAR Renegade Hauler) 4:00 p.m. Front Gate Opens 4:30 p.m. Hooters ProCup Qualifying Time Trials (2 Laps) 5:30 p.m. Local Division Practice & Qualifying 6:30 p.m. Line-Up Cars 7:00 p.m. Hooters ProCup Series Autograph Session 7:40 p.m. Drivers Introduction and Pre-Race Ceremonies 8:00 p.m. State Fair Corn Dogs 250 presented by Johnsonville Bratwurst Begins (USAR Reserves the Right to Change Schedule)

THE RACE: The track hosted its first Hooters ProCup Series event last season.

RECORDS: Driver Date Speed Time Qualifying: Mario Gosselin 7/10/99 89.411 mph 15.421

1999 TOP 10 IN EVENT: 1999 STATS: 1) Derrick Kelley Discount Auto Parts Pole: Mario Gosselin 2) Bobby Gill Time of Race: 2:37:26 3) Jay Fogleman Average Speed: N/A 4) Mario Gosselin Margin of Victory: 1.963 seconds 5) Jeff Agnew Caution Flags: 12 for 66 laps 6) Steven Christian Lap Leaders: 1-116 Mario Gosselin; 117- 7) Andy Thurman 126 Bobby Gill; 127-137 Randy 8) Karen Schulz Porter; 138-195 Jay Fogleman; 9) Mardy Lindley 196-254 Derrick Kelley. 10) Toby Porter

PAST RESULTS OF THIS EVENT Winner Discount Auto Parts Pole 1999 Derrick Kelley Mario Gosselin


Discount Auto Parts, Lucas Oil Products, State Fair Brand Corn Dogs, Miller Lite Beer, W.J. Plemons Investments, Incentive Risk Management, BRC Performance, CV Products, Ford Motorsports SVO, Earl's Performance Plumbing, Eibach Springs, Griffin Thermal Products, Hawk Saw Blades, Holley Ignitions, Isky Race Cams, Landrum Springs, Manley Performance Products, MSD Ignitions, Quarter Master Industries, Racing Electronics, Rev Inc., Tri-Star Racewear


Karen Schulz recorded one of her three top-10 finishes of 1999 at the track last year.

Derrick Kelley used his win at HMS to help him win at $25,000 Four Champions Challenge bonus last season. Kelley won the season-ending race (Alan Kulwicki Memorial) to collect the bonus.

The race will be homecoming to Shane Huffman who won the 1999 track championship at HMS.

HPCS Race Winners in 2000: HPCS DAP Pole Winners in 2000: 1) Andy Thurman, USA International 1. Stacy Puryear, USA International 2) Bobby Gill, Florida Speedpark 2. Mario Gosselin, Florida Speedpark 3) Bobby Gill, Ace Speedway 3. Jon Wood, Ace Speedway 4) Mardy Lindley, Myrtle Beach Speedway 4. Clayton Rogers, Myrtle Beach 5) Mardy Lindley, Peach State Speedway 5. Steven Christian, Peach State 6) Brian Vickers, USA International 6. Mario Gosselin, USA International 7) Bobby Gill, Montgomery Motor. Speedway 7. Mario Gosselin, Montgomery 8) Bobby Gill, Lonesome Pine Raceway 8. Bill Plemons, Jr., Lonesome Pine

CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: MILLER LITE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR STANDINGS: Driver Pts. Wins Driver Pts. Mario Gosselin 1,268 0 1. David Pletcher 1,082 Mardy Lindley 1,136 2 2. Jon Wood 1,026 Bobby Gill 1,136 4 3. Brian Vickers 1,003 Steven Christian 1,105 0 4. Clayton Rogers 952 David Pletcher* 1,082 0 5. Stacy Puryear 811 Jon Wood* 1,026 0 6. Sean Studer 787 Jeff Agnew 1,013 0 7. Regan Smith 783 Brian Vickers* 1,013 1 8. Darryl Hayes 752 Andy Thurman 1,008 1 9. Kertus Davis 681 Charlie Ford 1,003 0 10. Shane Huffman 546

* Denotes Rookie

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Jon Wood , Brian Vickers , Regan Smith , Kertus Davis , Mario Gosselin , Shane Huffman , Jeff Agnew , Alan Kulwicki
Teams CIP