USAR: Daniel Johnson - 2001 Rookie-of-the-Year

USAR Announces New Rookie of the Year Award Winner Fayetteville, GA (Dec. 12, 2001)& ...

USAR Announces New Rookie of the Year Award Winner

Fayetteville, GA (Dec. 12, 2001)– United Speed Alliance Racing President Gene Cox has declared Daniel Johnson 2001 Miller Lite Rookie of the Year Award winner for the 2001 Hooters ProCup Season. Johnson, who originally finished second in the final standings for the award, was given the title after a post-season audit of records indicated rookie status had been awarded to Toby Robertson who had competed in more than five events during the 2000 ProCup season.

“ In conducting our standard reviewing process in preparation for administering awards and for the 2002 USAR season, an oversight in the qualification process was found,” said Cox.“ Once the discrepancy was found all parties involved were contacted, and all parties agreed this was the only proper course of action. Robertson competed in six events in 2000. Mr. Robertson congratulates Daniel Johnson and his efforts.”

“ The application process for rookie of the year status has been re-evaluated and improved in an effort to ensure that guidelines qualifying a driver’s status as a rookie cannot be misinterpreted in the future,” added Cox.“ We regret the oversight but also acknowledge the fact that there were no intentions to compromise the integrity of the rookie of the year title, USAR, or any of its competitors.”

USAR would like to congratulate Daniel Johnson and the entire Johnson Motorsports team on winning the rookie of the year.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car