UMP results (Aug. 1)

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor Email address: Web site: ...

DirtNews Digest Your Online News Source for Late Model Dirt Track Racing "Get Some Dirt On Your Computer!" Todd Turner, editor

Email address: Web site: =================================== CONTENTS: July 28-30 results (published Aug. 1) CAPSULES: Roundup of weeknight UMP racing UMP UPDATE: Outlaw nationals schedule and results POINTS: Standings for Western Tour, UDTRA, NLMS =================================== MONDAY'S RACE CAPSULES

MOYER WINS $5,000 AT HIGHLAND SPEEDWAY: Polesitter Billy Moyer set sail early in the race and never looked back in winning the rain-delayed Madison County Fair race at Highland (Ill.) Speedway. Driving the Ed Petroff-owned No. 21 Rayburn chassis, Moyer pocketed $5,000 for the victory in a race rained out the previous Monday. Mark Anderson of Lexington, Ill., was impressive in finished second while Kevin Weaver was third in a race where 15 of 22 starters finished. Three drivers -- Jim Rarick, Ed Bauman and Kevin Claycomb -- were eliminated before an official lap was scored in a nine-car pileup in Turn 3. Moyer set fast time (14.039 seconds) among 35 entrants. FEATURE: (1) Billy Moyer, (2) Mark Anderson, (3) Kevin Weaver, (4) Mark Oller, (5) Billy Drake, (6) Ed Dixon, (7) Randy Korte, (8) Mark Gansmann, (9) Brian Wolfmeier, (10) Doug McCammon, (11) Mark Faust, (12) Mike Hammerle, (13) Tom Carson, (14) Lumpy Loughery, (15) Dick Taylor, (16) Jimmy Burwell, (17) Ron Sensel, (18) Chad Zorbish, (19) Shannon Babb, (20) Jim Rarick, (21) Ed Bauman, (22) Kevin Claycomb.

LONG LEADS FLAG-TO-FLAG AT BENTON COUNTY: Polesitter Roger Long of Fithian, Ill., led all 50 laps to win the opening event of the 12-race UMP Outlaw National Series at Benton County Speedway in Boswell, Ind. Tony Izzo Jr., was second while Steve Barnett drove his brother Gerald's car to a third-place finish. Bob Pierce recorded the fast time (15.000 seconds) among 21 qualifiers. FEATURE (50 laps): (1) Roger Long, (2) Tony Izzo Jr., (3) Steve Barnett, (4) Wayne Maffett Jr., (5) Bob Pohlman Jr. ------------------------------------------------------------- TUESDAY'S RACE CAPSULE

MOYER WINS ON MILE AT INDIANAPOLIS: Polesitter Billy Moyer, driving Ed Petroff's No. 21, led all 30 laps for a $10,000 victory at the Indiana State Fairgrounds mile racetrack in Indianapolis. Bob Pierce of Danville, Ill., was strong in finishing second, but Moyer kept him in check the entire distance in the second leg of the UMP Outlaw National Series. Tony Stewart, a regular with the Indy Racing League, drove Steve Barnett's car to a heat-race victory and fourth-place finish in the feature, while fifth-place feature finisher Jack Hewitt was behind the wheel of the Hodge Brothers-owned Rat1 machine. Moyer was the fast qualifier among 26 cars. FEATURE (30 laps): (1) Billy Moyer, (2) Bob Pierce, (3) Ray Guss Jr., (4) Tony Stewart, (5) Jack Hewitt, (6) Kris Patterson, (7) Tony Izzo Jr., (8) Gary Webb, (9) Bryan Dunaway, (10) Steve Metz. ------------------------------------------------------------- WEDNESDAY'S RACE CAPSULE

IZZO WINS THIRD LEG OF OUTLAW NATIONALS AT KOKOMO: Polesitter Tony Izzo Jr. of Bridgeview, Ill., captured the third leg of the UMP Outlaw National Series, a victory worth $5,000 at Evans Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway. Izzo led the first lap, but Rick Aukland held the point the next 14 circuits. Aukland's car, however, began smoking, forcing him out of action and giving the lead to Izzo, who pulled away in the final laps of the 40-lap feature. Fewer than 10 cars finished the feature on a rough track. Aukland was the fast qualifier (14.738 seconds) of 26 cars, setting a track record. Chad Reichenbach of Bakersfield, Calif., flew in to drive the Hodge Brothers-owned Rat1 car, but finished back in the pack. FEATURE (40 laps): (1) Tony Izzo Jr., (2) Kris Patterson, (3) Don O'Neal, (4) Shawn Toczek, (5) Terry Sroufe. ------------------------------------------------------------- CAPSULE CREDITS: Jack Pugh <> and Rex Marskamp. ------------------------------------------------------------- UMP OUTLAW NATIONALS SCHEDULE/RESULTS

July 28, Benton County Speedway, Boswell, Ind., $5,000 to win (ROGER LONG) July 29, Indiana State Fairgrounds, Indianapolis, $10,000 to win (BILLY MOYER) July 30, Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway, $5,000 to win (TONY IZZO JR.) July 31, Southlake Speedway, Crown Point, Ind., $5,000 to win Aug. 1, Farmer City (Ill.) Speedway, $5,000 to win Aug. 2, Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway, $5,000 to in Aug. 3, Shady Hill Speedway, Medaryville, Ind., $5,000 to win Aug. 4, Vermilion County Speedway, Danville, Ill., $5,000 to win Aug. 5, Butler (Mich.) Battlegrounds, $5,000 to win Aug. 6, Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio, purse TBA Aug. 8, Central Park Raceway, McHenry, Ky., "Wayne Coakley Memorial," $5,000 to win Aug. 9, Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway, $5,000 to win ------------------------------------------------------------- SERIES POINT STANDINGS (Most lists include driver, car no., hometown, points and wins. All points are current unless otherwise noted.

***United Dirt Track Racing Association***

1. Ken Essary (55), Galena, Mo., 273 (4) 2. Patrick Duggan (15), Lenoir City, Tenn., 253 (8) 3. Randy Weaver (116), Crossville, Tenn., 253 (7) 4. Billy Ogle Jr. (201), Knoxville, Tenn., 225 (4) 5. Derrick Rainey (87), Powder Springs, Ga., 219 (2) 6. Granger Howell (81), Kingston, Ga., 217 (5) 7. Frank Ingram (9), Acworth, Ga., 212 (2) 8. Billy Romans (18), West Plains, Mo., 198 (3) 9. Leslie Essary (5), Crane, Mo., 197 (3) 10. Carmon Vincent (9), Moody, Mo., 192 (1)

***National Late Model Sportsman Series*** (Through 9 of 17 events)

1. Gene Maine, Valdosta, Ga., 820 (2) 2. Ricky Brant, Pooler, Ga., 645 3. Wendell Durrance, Gainesville, Fla., 620 (2) 4. Henry Carter Jr., Swainsboro, Ga., 585 5. Cecil Eunice, Blackshear, Ga., 565 (2)

***Western Dirt Late Model Tour*** (through 13 events)

1. Ryan Cole (98), Santa Maria, Calif., 914 (5) 2. Greg Voigt (17), Goleta, Calif., 902 3. Chad Reichenbach (32C), Bakersfield, Calif., 878 (1) 4. Mike Collins (11), Terra Bella, Calif., 798 (3) 5. Scott Pounds (86X), Bakersfield, Calif., 752 (2) 6. Dana Nelson (02), Downey, Calif., 748 7. Jay Ellenberger (13), Bakersfield, Calif., 722 8. Buck Cox (86), Bakersfield, Calif., 694 9. Jerry Stewart (4), Bakersfield, Calif., 654 10. Darrell Hood (23), Oildale, Calif., 654 -------------------------------------------------------------

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Tony Stewart , Jack Hewitt , Mark Anderson , Tom Carson , Steve Metz , Mike Collins