Susquehanna Speedway results 2004-07-25

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (July 25, 2004) - Pat Cannon scored his first Susquehanna Speedway Park Super Sportsman win in Sunday evening's 25 lap feature event. Other winners in a show that was postponed from Thursday evening were Ashley Barrett in the ...

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (July 25, 2004) - Pat Cannon scored his first Susquehanna Speedway Park Super Sportsman win in Sunday evening's 25 lap feature event. Other winners in a show that was postponed from Thursday evening were Ashley Barrett in the Street Stock/Thundercar Open Competition event, and double Xtreme Enduro features went to Larry Hare and Charlie Pensinger

Polesitter Craig Morrow paced the 25 lap Super Sportsman feature for ten laps before mechanical problems forced him off the pace and turned the lead over to Paul Miller. Miller fended off Cannon for several laps before yielding the lead on the 19th circuit. Cannon went on to best Frankie Herr who had charged forward from the last row to get second place. Miller took third followed by Rick Barr and Steve Wilbur in the top five. Ken Carberry, Rich Eichelberger, Paul Troutman, Greg foster and Smokey Snellbaker completed the top ten. Heat wins went to Morrow, Dave Ort and Troutman, while Leroy martin won the consy.

In the 20-lap event for the open competition Street Stock/Thundercar racers, Barrett advanced from the ninth starting spot to take the lead on the third lap. He went on to outdistance Bobby Rudisill for the win. Third went to Bobby Beard with Jim Hulse and Neil Smith in the top five. Heat wins went to Craig Wagaman and Tim Fedder.

Larry Hare led every lap to win the make-up event for the Xtreme Enduro stocks. Following Hare in the 20 lapper were Pat Hires, Larry Hughes Jr., Bryon Sipe, and Mike Goodwin. In the nightcap for the Enduros, Charlie Pensinger took home the win over Sam Rial, Goodwin, Tom Johns, and Ronnie Thomas. Goodwin won the Pepsi Challenge Dash.

The next race will be Thursday Night, July 29 as SSP hosts the Y.C.R.C. (York County Racing Club) Nostalgia Night. All Y.C.R.C. members will receive a $1.00 discount on general admission tickets for the remainder of the 2004 racing season. A membership card must be shown to receive the discount. The 410 Sprint Cars will return along with the Xtreme Enduro Stock Cars and the Penn Mar Vintage Club Tour Race.

Gates open in the pit area at 4:00 p.m. with the grandstand gates opening at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. Grandstand ticket prices are Adults (18 & older) $12.00; Teens (13-17) $8.00; Children (6-12) $4.00; and Children (5 & under) are free. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount on general admission for each person with a ticket stub from the July 25 event only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for July 29 with and Adult ticket stub from the July 25 event. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders. A track license is $25.00 for the year. There is no raindate for Sunday due to the scheduled 410 Sprint Car race at the Selinsgrove Speedway on Sunday.

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170.


SUPER SPORTSMAN FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Pat Cannon 2. Frankie Herr 3. Paul Miller 4. Rick Barr 5. Steve Wilbur 6. Ken Carberry 7. Rich Eichelberger 8. Paul Troutman 9. Greg Foster 10. Smokey Snellbaker 11. Rodney Adams 12. Jason Fry 13. Richie Hartman 14. Leroy Martin 15. Allen Hunter 16. Brian Boughter 17. Denny Willey 18. Bill Heckert 19.Craig Morrow 20. Dale Hammaker 21. Dave Ort 22. Russ Mitten 23. Scott Dellinger 24. Billy Schoffstall

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Morrow 1-10, Miller 11-18, Cannon 19-25
HEAT WINNERS: Morrow, Ort, Troutman

XTREME ENDURO FEATURE (20 laps) Make up event from July 15 1. Larry Hare 2. Pat Hires 3. Larry Hughes Jr. 4. Bryon Sipe 5. Mike Goodwin 6. Tom Slanker 7. Alan Miller 8. Kevin Armstrong 9. Jerry Blauch 10. Paul Vance 11. Brian Sanders 12. Matt Smith 13. Tom Johns 14. Curtis Nichols 15. Greg Miller 16. Wayne Eurich 17. Rick Lomman 18. Ricky Hippensteel Jr. 19. Karl Windish 20. Jason Failor 21. Charlie Pensinger 22. Travis Horan 23. Brian Lomman 24. Adrian Barnhardt 25. Sam Rial 26. Bobby Glass Jr.

XTREME ENDURO FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Charlie Pensinger 2. Sam Rial 3. Mike Goodwin 4. Tom Johns 5. Ronnie Thomas 6. Jerry Blauch 7. Matt Smith 8. Matt Wampler 9. Tom Slanker 10. Greg Miller 11. Jason Failor 12. Brian Sanders 13. Adrain Barnhardt 14. Larry Hare 15. Rick Lomman 16. Alan Miller 17. Travis Horan 18. Gerald Barnes 19. Bobby Glass Jr. 20. Brian Lomman 21. Ricky Hippensteel Jr. 22. Karl Windish 23. Wayne Eurich 24. Tony Tumas 25. Paul Vance 26. Kevin Armstrong 27. Pat Hires 28. Larry Hughes Jr. 29. Bryon Sipe 30. Curtis Nichols


OPEN COMPETITION STREET STOCK/THUNDERCARS FEATURE (20 laps): 1. Ashley Barrett 2. Bobby Rudisill 3. Bobby Beard 4. Jim Hulse 5. Neil Smith 6. Sam Troup 7. Randy Zechman 8. Jim Rost 9. Duane Hahn 10. Craig Wagaman 11. Dave Conrad Jr. 12. Justin Mong 13. Jake Markey 14. Kody Sites 15. Bruce Nichols 16. Eric McClane 17. Mike Gladfelter 18. Tim Fedder 19. Mike Gladfelter II

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Hahn 1-2, Barrett 3-20
HEAT WINNERS:Wagaman, Fedder


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Matthew Smith , Paul Miller , Mike Goodwin , Neil Smith