Susquehanna results 2005-05-29

Mitten Wins Trail Motors Super Sportsman Feature at SSP on Sunday Newberrytown, PA (May 29, 2005) -- Russ Mitten picked up the victory in the Trail Motors Super Sportsman Series at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Sunday evening. Brian...

Mitten Wins Trail Motors Super Sportsman Feature at SSP on Sunday

Newberrytown, PA (May 29, 2005) -- Russ Mitten picked up the victory in the Trail Motors Super Sportsman Series at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Sunday evening. Brian Hauenstein of Carlisle was victorious in the Street Stock main event. Bob Campbell of Danville picked up the PENNMAR Vintage Club Tour win.

Polesitter Rich Eichelberger jumped out to an early lead in the Sportsman feature event until mechanical problems put him out of the event on lap 5. Russ Mitten inherited the lead from Eichelberger and led the remaining 15 laps for the win. While Mitten led those laps he was never home free. Paul Miller tracked Mitten the entire distance and made several challenges in the closing laps. In lapped traffic on the final lap, Miller made one final attempt, but lost the second spot to Pat Cannon at the finish. However, Cannon's car failed post race tech inspection, and Miller was moved back up to second spot. Steve Wilbur took third, with Steve Cannon and Frankie Herr completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Jason Fry, Joey Biaci, Scott Dellinger, Gregg Foster, and Dave Calaman. Heats went to Eichelberger, Mitten and Miller. Foster took the consolation.

Brian Hauenstein took the lead from his pole position and led all 15 laps of the Street Stock feature. While Hauenstein was pacing the field a multi car battle developed for second spot. In the end Paul Morgen took the second spot ahead of Kory Sites, Bob Scott Jr., and Wes Alleman. Heats went to Hauenstein, Morgan and Kirby Sites.

Bob Campbell led wire to wire in the 12 lap PENNMAR Vintage Club Tour feature event in his 1937 Plymouth Coupe. Following in second was Bryan Brooks of Mechanicsburg. Rob Casti, Tom Swanger and Jeff Gamble rounded out the top five.

The next race at SSP will be Thursday night, June 2 with the "Big 33 Football Classic Night at the Races" and the York County Racing Club Night featuring the Sprint Cars, Xtreme Stocks and Classic Cars along with a Smashmasters sanctioned Demolition Derby. Advance tickets are available by calling Big 33 at (717) 774-3303 with a portion of the proceeds going to the Big 33 Scholarship Foundation. Gates open in the pit area and grandstands at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount for each person with a ticket stub from the May 26 or May 29 events only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for June 2 with and Adult ticket stub from the May 26 or May 29 event. Returning fans are encouraged to write their name, address and phone number on the back of the stub to be entered into special drawings to be held during the season for great prizes. Last season, the grand prize was two tickets to the NASCAR race in October at the Lowe's Motor Speedway in Charlotte, North Carolina. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders.

Next Sunday night, June 5, the Trail Motors Super Sportsman Series returns to SSP along with the Silver Springs Street Stocks and the Four Cylinder Stock Cars. Also featured will be the ever-popular One-on-One Street Car Drags paying $250 to win. The Drags are limited to 16 entries and entry forms may be obtained online at or by contacting the SSP home office.

SSP Results from Sunday, May 29, 2005

Trail Motors Super Sportsman Feature (20 laps): q. Russ Mitten, 2. Paul Miller, 3. Steve Wilbur, 4. Steve Cannon, 5. Frankie Herr, 6. Jason Fry, 7. Joey Biaci, 8. Scott Dellinger, 9. Gregg Foster, 10. Dave Calaman, 11. Richie Hartman, 12. John Stehman, 13. Jerry Wolfe, 14. Leroy Martin, 15. Glenn Keller Jr., 16. Ryan Rupp, 17. Scott Ausherman, 18. Dave Ort, 19. Aaron Eichelberger, 20. Lanny Hake, 21. Danny Hager, 22. Rich Eichelberger, 23. Paul Troutman; DQ - Pat Cannon; DNS -- Bill Brown, Rob Hockenberry, Steve Fannasy, David Socks, Dave Finch, Brian Boughter, Justin Stewart, Joe Orsulakm Ken Carberry, Raymond Myers

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Eichelberger 1-5, Mitten 6-20
HEAT RACE WINNERS: Eichelberger, Mitten and Miller

Street Stock Feature (15 laps): 1. Brian Hauenstein, 2. Paul Morgan, 3. Kory Sites, 4. Bob Scott Jr., 5. Wes Alleman, 6. Craig Morgan, 7. Kevin Wirt, 8. Mike Leonard, 9. George Eash, 10. Gary Welsh, 11. Joey Hoffer, 12. Skip Findley, 13. Mike Arnold, 14. Chad Milliken, 15. Bruce Nichols, 16. Jim Rost, 17. Scott Thunberg, 18. Kirby Sites, 19. Sam Leonard, 20. Mike Herman, 21. Bruce White, 22. Brian Henise; DNS Justin Rhoads, Tim Wirt, Lance Grove

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Hauenstein 1-15
HEAT RACE WINNERS: Hauenstein, P. Morgan, Kirby Sites

PENNMAR Vintage Car Club Tour Feature (12 laps): 1. Bob Campbell (M), 2. Bryan Brooks (M), 3. Rob Casti (M), 4. Tom Swanger (M), 5. Jeff Gamble (M), 6. Stew Wenrich (M), 7. Larry Felty (M), 8.Paul Hoffman (Sportsman 1st place), 9. Paul Bacchus (S), 10. John Dobish (S), 11. Gary Vandergrift (S), 12. Bill Spencer (S), 13. Terry High (S)

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Campbell (Modified), Hoffman (Sportsman)


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Bill Brown , Paul Miller , Paul Morgan , Bruce White