Southern Iowa results 2005-05-27

CHECKERS TO MCDANIEL, CRISS, MOYER, DRIPPS AT CARRIKER FORD SOUTHERN IOWA SPEEDWAY OSKALOOSA, Iowa (April 27, 2005) -- On a cool Wednesday evening, racing action was held at the Carriker Ford Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa for the second ...


OSKALOOSA, Iowa (April 27, 2005) -- On a cool Wednesday evening, racing action was held at the Carriker Ford Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa for the second night of points racing action for the USRA Casey's General Stores Championship Series. The night featured four classes of racing action with the Karl Chevrolet Dirt Trucks added to the night's racing card.

The night was filled full of exciting racing action with the USRA Hobby Stock feature kicking off the night's feature events with Colt Mather of Webster and Bill Gibson of Knoxville leading the field to the drop of the green. The 15-lap feature had several drivers battling for the top spot with Randy Veldhuizen of Oskaloosa leading the first five laps before Jason McDaniel took the top spot from Veldhuizen working the bottom side of the Speedway. McDaniel led the final 10 laps to take his first ever win at the Carriker Ford Southern Iowa Speedway. Veldhuizen took the runner-up spot followed by Mather in third, and Bobby Greene of Eddyville taking fourth after starting in the 10th starting spot.

The second feature was the USRA Stock Car main event with 22 cars checking in for racing action with Brian Mitrisin of Oskaloosa and Ross McCombs of Oskaloosa leading the field to the start of the race. Mitrisin took the early race lead with McCombs running second. McCombs night came to a end, however, after his motor blew, sending him to the trailer. Last week's winner, Zack VanderBeek of New Sharon, took the race lead on lap 5 of the 18-lap event. T.J. Criss of Oskaloosa closed in on VanderBeek with five laps remaining to take the top spot from VanderBeek, who worked the top side of the Speedway while Criss ran the low line. Criss led the final five laps to take the victory with VanderBeek in second, followed by Independence driver Tom Schmitt taking third after starting in the 11th starting spot. Brad Pinkerton of New Sharon finished fourth.

In the Karl Chevrolet Dirt Truck feature, Ben Nading of Ankeny took the race lead but on lap 4 of the 10-lap feature Karl Moyer of Ankeny and Bret Moyer of Polk City closed in on Nading, taking the top two spots from Nading. The father-son team raced side-by-side for the top spot with Bret taking the win from his father, Karl, on the last lap. Karl took the second spot followed by Nading in third and Al Thayer of Indianola in fourth.

For the fourth and final feature of the night, the USRA Modified feature took to the Speedway for the 20-lap feature event. The field was paced to the green by Shane Paris of Muscatine and Steven Blattler of Oskaloosa, with Blattler taking the early race lead into turns 1-2 before O'Reilly USMTS regular Corey Dripps of Waterloo took the race lead in turns 3-4. From there, Dripps led all 20 laps for the win. Dean Mahlstedt of Garner took home the runner-up spot followed by a good battle between Brad Pinkerton of New Sharon and Zack VanderBeek of New Sharon who raced wheel-to-wheel for the third spot over the final five laps, with Pinkerton taking third and VanderBeek in fourth after starting 10th in the feature event.

Next week's racing action will be the Oskaloosa Herald Kids Night at the races with hot laps at 7 p.m. and racing action at 7:15, with kids 11 years old and under admitted FREE to the grandstand.

Make plans on attending the racing action at the Carriker Ford Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa because there's something for the whole family to enjoy at the races!

USRA Casey's General Stores Championship Series
Carriker Ford Southern Iowa Speedway, Oskaloosa, Iowa
Wednesday, April 27, 2005


Heat #1 - 1. Colt Mather, Webster; 2. Bill Gibson, Knoxville; 3. Robert Rupprecht, Oskaloosa; 4. Rodney Fairchild, Oskaloosa; 5. Rick Landgrebe, Sigourney.

Heat #2 - 1. Nathan Wood, Sigourney; 2. Steve Allen, Oskaloosa; 3. Tyler Ford, Lovilia; 4. Al Bunnell Jr., New Sharon; 5. Chase Mitrisin, Oskaloosa.

Heat #3 - 1. Randy Veldhuizen, Oskaloosa; 2. Bobby Greene, Eddyville; 3. Jason McDaniel, Eldon; 4. Mike Shelton, Ottumwa; 5. Jason VanZomeren, Oskaloosa.

Feature - 1. McDaniel; 2. Veldhuizen; 3. Mather; 4. Greene; 5. Shelton; 6. Bunnell; 7. Gibson; 8. Ford; 9. R. Landgrebe; 10. Allen; 11. Fairchild; 12. Mitrisin; 13. Dave Breuklander, Oskaloosa; 14. VanZomeren; 15. Lonnie Greiner, Fairfield; 16. Wood; 17. Rupprecht; 18. Steve Landgrebe, Oskaloosa.


Heat #1 - 1. Brian Mitrisin, Oskaloosa; 2. Jim Brown, Fremont; 3. Darrin Thompson, New Sharon; 4. Brandon Bandstra, Lynnville; 5. Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon.

Heat #2 - 1. Tom Schmitt, Independence; 2. Josh Newell, Oskaloosa; 3. Shane Weller, Agency; 4. Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon; 5. Lorne Parks, Ottumwa.

Heat #3 - 1. Ross McCombs, Oskaloosa; 2. T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa; 3. Matt Greiner, Washington; 4. Ryan Cook, West Point; 5. Rick VanDusseldorp, Oskaloosa.

Feature - 1. Criss; 2. VanderBeek; 3. Schmitt; 4. Pinkerton; 5. Mitrisin; 6. Rick Brown, Kellogg; 7. J. Brown; 8. Eric Flander, What Cheer; 9. M. Greiner; 10. VanDusseldorp; 11. Kevin Booy, Oskaloosa; 12. J. Cook; 13. Bandstra; 14. Thompson; 15. Newell; 16. R. Cook; 17. McCombs; 18. Parks; 20. Jeff Joldersma, McClelland; 21. Mark Steinke, Gibson; 22. Bobby Greiner Jr., Ottumwa.


Heat #1 - 1. Dean Mahlstedt, Garner; 2. Corey Dripps, Waterloo; 3. Terry Walker, Riverside; 4. Toby Vandekamp, Knoxville; 5. Shane Paris, Muscatine.

Heat #2 - 1. Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon; 2. John VanDenBerg, Oskaloosa; 3. Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon; 4. Steven Blattler, Oskaloosa; 5. Steve Stewart, Washington.

Feature - 1. Dripps; 2. Mahlstedt; 3. Pinkerton; 4. VanderBeek; 5. Ron VerBeek, Oskaloosa; 6. Roger Baxter, Oskaloosa; 7. Brian Edel, Oskaloosa; 8. Vandekamp; 9. Blattler; 10. Paris; 11. Stewart; 12. Kevin Stoa, Polk City; 13. VanDenBerg; 14. Walker; 15. Brad Stephens, Bussey; 16. Scott Dickey, Packwood.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Mark Stein , Shane Paris , Jim Brown , Steve Allen