Shippensburg results 2005-05-14

Dulls shines in 600 main. Defrieitas wins his first 270 feature Shippensburg, PA. -- Steve Dull from Mechanicsburg, PA. made his return to the oval pay off as he sped to victory in the 20 lap main. A shower delayed the start of the event, but...

Dulls shines in 600 main. Defrieitas wins his first 270 feature

Shippensburg, PA. -- Steve Dull from Mechanicsburg, PA. made his return to the oval pay off as he sped to victory in the 20 lap main. A shower delayed the start of the event, but also left the track super fast as the extra moisture gave the drivers a super quick surface. Dull who started on the point, jumped in front on the opening lap. Jimmy Dawson who started third and Eddie Rice was waging a torrid battle for second. Dawson was finally able to secure second and began to close on Dull as he got caught up in lapped traffic. A caution on lap 11 allowed the field to close up, but also gave Dull the clear racetrack he needed. He was able to maintain a 2 car length advantage until another caution on lap 18 when Brandon Little and Alex Bright got together in turn two brought out the second caution of the event. On the restart, Dull was able hang on and win by a car length over Dawson. Rice, with another fine showing came home a strong third. Coming home fourth was Dustin Sheffield and Kevin Lamphere completed the top five. Sixth thru tenth was Drew Heistand, Chris Crull, Bo Gordon, Richard Gilmore and Rick Brehm. Heats were won by Rice and Dustin Foust.

In the 270 main, it was Marcus Defreitias from New Market, PA. winning his first feature ever at the speedway. Defreitias who began racing at the facility in 2004 had shown much improvement in the short time he had been racing and Saturday night he looked like a seasoned veteran as he had to fight off numerous challenges of two time winner Mike Holley. Defreitias had started upfront assumed command on the opening lap. First he had to battle Brandon Yarlett who made his return to the speedway. Yarlett's job was double tough as he also had Holley, who had started sixth moved into third on lap 3 and began to pressure for the runner up spot. Holley was able to move into second on lap 9, and began to pressure Defreitias. Numerous times Holley would pull alongside Defreitias on the backstrech, but was unable to make the pass. In victory lane, Defreitias remarked "I knew Mike was back there and he raced me hard, but raced me clean". Holley settled for second, while Yarlett had a fine showing to come home third. Fourth went to Bo Gordon, while Jason Hall completed the top five. Sixth thru tenth were Jason Stahl, B.J, Brehm, Rick Brehm, Lin Bowie, and John Baker. Heats were won by Bowie and Hall.

In Thunder car action, it was local driver Tina Ingram capturing her first win of 2005. Ingram who started up front had to withstand numerous challenges from R.T. Bulger who was trying to win his first feature of the season. Several caution flags would keep the field close but each time Ingram was able to get a good restart and able to hold on to capture her first win of the season. Bulger settled for second, while Russ Clavey had his best finish of the year coming home third. Fourth went to Nick Ruhl, while Donald Stoudt completed the top five. Sixth thru tenth were Keith Armolt, Carl Rowe, Donny Stine, Rusty Neil, and Randy Heckman. Heats were won by Ingram and Bulger.

In Mini Stock action, it was Charles Wengard fron Ono, PA. winning his first feature ever at the oval. Wengard, who has ran strong all year started the main event in fourth position. A early race battle between pole sitter Mark Lenker and Mike Kershner result in the cars tangling coming out of two turn, sending Lenker to the rear and Kershner pitside. This move Wengard who had been running third into the top spot and he was able to withstand the challenge from Mike Crate and capture his first win. Crate settled for second, while Bryan Neff was a strong third. Fourth went to Gary Newell, while Lenker came back to score a top five finish. Sixth thru tenth were Larry Long, Tim Mangle, Dave Thomas, Joe Linn, and Howard Silvers. Mini Stock heats were won by Lenker and Kershner.

In the Modified Lite event, it was Todd Rahley of Wrightsville, PA. back in the winners circle. Rahley who led most of last week's event only to see a faulty fuel pump force him to a third place finish, came back strong. Starting third in the event, Rahley was able to pass early race leader Gary Funk on lap six. From there Rahely was able to open up a eight car six car length lead and capture another win. Funk held on for second, while his team mate Eddie Benedict came home third. Fourth went to Josh Sigman, while Jimmy Ford completed the top five. Chuch Grimm, Denny Kaylor, and Barry Shearer completed the field. The modified heat was won by Rahley.

Micro 600 Finish Order:
1) Steve Dull, 2) Jim Dawson, 3) Eddie Rice, 4) Dustin Sheffield, 5) Kevin Lamphere 6) Drew Heistand, 7) Chris Crull, 8) Bo Gordon, 9) Richard Gilmore, 10) Rick Brehm 11) Brandon Little, 12) Dustin Foust, 13) Brenden Bright, 14) Jason Heckert, 15) Alex Bright, 16) Zachary Newlin, 17) Gary Cramer

Micro 270 Finish Order:
1) Marcus Defreitias, 2) Mike Holley, 3) Brandon Yarlett, 4) Bo Gordon, 5) Jason Hall 6) Jason Stahl, 7) B.J. Brehm, 8) Rick Brehm, 9) Lin Bowie, 10) John Baker, 11) Kyle Moody, 12) Michael Dougas, 13) Eric Walls, 14) Scott Watkins, 15) Ken Poff, 16) Adam Warner, 17) Jason Klinger

Thunder Finish Order:
1) Tina Ingram, 2) R.T. Bulger, 3) Russ Clavey, 4) Nick Ruhl, 5) Donald Stoudt, 6) Keith Armolt, 7) Carl Rowe, 8) Donny Stine, 9) Rusty Neil, 10) Randy Heckman, 11) Jason Armolt, 12) Chris Smith

Mini Stock Finish Order:
1) Charles Wengard, 2) Mike Crate, 3) Bryan Neff, 4) Gary Newell, 5) Mark Lenker, 6) Larry Long, 7) Tim Mangle, 8) Dave Thomas, 9) Joe Linn, 10) Howard Silvers, 11) Mike Kershner, 12) Bill Bass, 13) Tony Linn

Modified Lite Finish Order:
1) Todd Rahley, 2) Gary Funk, 3) Eddie Benedict, 4) Josh Sigman, 5) Jimmy Ford, 6) Chuck Grimm, 7) Dennie Kaylor, 8) Barry Shearer


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Chris Smith , John Baker