Selinsgrove report 2001-07-28

7/28/01, SELINSGROVE, PA -- After a week away, Harrisburg's Chad Layton found his way back to victory lane at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday night. Worth $1,000, the win was Layton's tenth overall on the 2001 season and he earned every bit of ...

7/28/01, SELINSGROVE, PA -- After a week away, Harrisburg's Chad Layton found his way back to victory lane at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday night. Worth $1,000, the win was Layton's tenth overall on the 2001 season and he earned every bit of it.

"I lost the power steering on the first lap," expressed a tired Layton from victory lane. "Other than that, the car worked fairly well!" In stock car action, Bobby Croop drove to victory in the late model division while Gerald Kratzer picked up the win in the pro stock feature. Coming up on August 4 at Selinsgrove Speedway it will be Kids Night, with hundreds of prizes up for grabs by the youngsters, including bicycles, scooters, shirts and much more. Including an autograph session with T.J. Stutts, Chad Layton, Dale Kerstetter and Jake Buck, the night boasts $5.00 general admission for the three-division program of sprint cars, late models and pro stocks. Gates open at 4 p.m. for the program that will also include bicycle, big wheel and big foot racing for tomorrow's racers on the speedway's frontstretch during intermission.

Babe Mader of New Cumberland jumped from the pole to lead early in the 25-lap sprint car feature over Bob Camilli and Joe Whitcomb. With five laps complete, a torrid race for the lead developed between the trio as all three pilots diced for the top spot while pulling away from the field. Camilli had just surrendered second to Whitcomb after clouting the outside wall when Tracy Templin looped his mount in turn four, slowing action for the first time with ten laps down. Mader found Whitcomb, Camilli, Jim Nace, T.J. Stutts and Layton on his tail for the restart. Mader pulled away slightly when action resumed but found Whitcomb hounding for the lead just two laps later as both Nace and Layton began advancing to the front. Nace moved into third on the 14th lap and Layton followed suit a lap later to take over fourth from Camilli before action slowed once more with ten to go.

Whitcomb made his move for the win on the restart but failed to pull it off as Layton and Nace battled. It was Layton who prevailed in taking the spot and once around Nace, the Harrisburg upstart made quick work of the rest of the field. After disposing of both Whitcomb and Mader to take over the lead with five to go he literally muscled to the win ahead of last weeks winner Nace, Stutts, Mader and Whitcomb.

"I spent the early part of the race trying to feel it out," said Layton of his ill handling racer. "When the first yellow came out I gave my guys the thumbs down but we came around toward the end. My guys set this car up to come on late and that's what happened tonight despite the steering."

"I am very proud of what this track is doing for all the guys that race here. This is the most stout field of 358's anywhere."

Sixth through tenth went to Camilli, Buzz Wilson, Troy Long, James Layton and Billy Johns.

Wilson and Layton picked up sprint car qualifying events.

Just like last week, Sunbury's Jimmy Adams led early in the 20-lap late model feature followed by Lou Schultz and Billy Marvin. While Adams was out front, Danville's Jeff Rine seemed to be the man on the move early, moving into fourth on the sixth circuit after starting tenth.

Rine was not alone in his run to the front however as both Bobby Croop and Dale Kerstetter had similar ideas. With eight down, Adams found Marvin, Rine, Croop and Kerstetter lined up behind him for a restart.

Croop made a bold outside move at the new green to move past Rine as did Kerstetter a lap later, all the while gaining on the leaders. Their pace was halted with eight to go however for a five-car tangle on the backstretch involving Tony Adams and Robbie Smith.

Nescopeck's Croop continued his winning run on the restart by bolting underneath Marvin in turn one and then reeling in Adams. It was with a similar turn one move that the veteran took the lead with six to go before streaking to his second Selinsgrove win of the season and his 65th overall at the track.

Croop was followed to the line by Adams, Kerstetter, Dan Stone, Rine, Schultz, Don Schick, Marvin, Robbie Smith and Glen Heddings. Stone, Rine and Marvin won late model heats.

McClures Gary Kerstetter led the first nine laps of the 12-lap pro stock main only to give way to Gerald Kratzer with three to go. Once able to make it around Kerstetter, Selinsgrove's Kratzer checked out for his third Selinsgrove win of the season over Kerstetter, Troy Miller, Kyle Bachman and Jake Buck. Bachman and Kerstetter took heats for the pro stocks.


RACE SUMMARY Sprint Cars - 18-entries Heat winners: Buzz Wilson, Chad Layton. Feature finish: 1. Chad Layton, 2. Jim Nace, 3. T.J. Stutts, 4. Babe Mader, 5. Joe Whitcomb, 6. Bob Camilli, 7. Buzz Wilson, 8. Troy Long, 9. James Layton, 10. Billy Johns, 11. Bob Beidleman, 12. Tracy Templin, 13. Charlie Anderson, 14. Tim Seiler, 15. Joe Ross, 16. Jon Keller, 17. Roger Grub, 18. Ron Orwig, 19. Nate Snyder.

Late Models - 21- entries Heat winners: Dan Stone, Jeff Rine, Billy Marvin Feature finish: 1. Bobby Croop, 2. Jimmy Adams, 3. Dale Kerstetter, 4. Dan Stone, 5. Jeff Rine, 6. Lou Schultz, 7. Don Schick, 8. Billy Marvin, 9. Robbie Smith, 10. Glen Heddings, 11. Kenny Day, 12. Jeremy Stone, 13. Brian Cochran, 14. Tony Adams, 15. Jim Farley, 16. Doug Miduri, 17. Randy Brokaw, 18. Mike Bingamin, 19.Bryan Coffey , 20. Chris Wilkinson.

Pro Stocks -11-entries Heat winners: Kyle Bachman, Gary Kerstetter Feature finish: 1. Gerald Kratzer, 2. Gary Kerstetter, 3. Troy Miller, 4. Kyle Bachman, 5. Jake Buck, 6. Matt Drum, 7. Darrel Nieman, 8. Mark Benson, 9. Meade Hahn, 10. Will Mitch , 11. Doug Hendricks.

-Shawn Brouse for the Selinsgrove Speedway

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car