Selinsgrove report 2001-07-21

SELINSGROVE, PA -- Five-time track champion Jimmy Nace of Thompsontown completed his comeback at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday night. After a four-year absence from the sport, Nace returned to the weekly sprint car wars at the beginning of the...

SELINSGROVE, PA -- Five-time track champion Jimmy Nace of Thompsontown completed his comeback at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday night. After a four-year absence from the sport, Nace returned to the weekly sprint car wars at the beginning of the season and found his way back to victory lane in fine fashion by besting all three previous speedway winners in the form of Brian Buckwalter, Chad Layton and T.J. Stutts. "It's been a while," said the 47-year-old Nace from the winners circle. "We took some time off and life was boring without it and we had to do it again."

In stock car action, Dan Stone drove to a well-deserved victory in the late model division while Jake Buck recorded win number five on the season in the pro stock feature.

Coming up on July 28 it will be Pepsi Night at Selinsgrove Speedway. On tap will be a three-division program of sprint cars, late models and pro stocks, getting underway at 7 p.m. Courtesy of the Pepsi Cola Bottling Company of Selinsgrove, hats are slated to be given away and an autograph session involving sprint car driver Bob Beidleman, late model pilot Jeff Rine and pro stock chauffeur Kyle Bachman gets underway behind the grandstand at 5:00.

Outside front row starter Troy Long jumped into the early lead of the 25-lap sprint car feature over Babe Mader and fourth starter Brian Buckwalter of Royersford. After a near win and eventual second place run on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway, Buckwalter was flying aboard his Penn-Selin Air sponsored No. 24 and wrestled second away from Mader on just the second lap. Two-time winner Buckwalter wasted little time securing the top spot, passing Long for the lead with an inside turn one move with four away to begin driving off from the field as Jimmy Nace and seven-time winner Chad Layton raced through the field. As Buckwalter extended his lead to a straightaway at the halfway point, Nace moved into second with Layton third.

Buckwalter appeared headed to an easy win with eight laps to go when the pace was halted for the first time for a vicious crash by Jamie Schwartz, who hit the outside turn-four guardrail head on. Luckily, no injuries were reported and Buckwalter found one lapped car separating himself from Nace and Layton for the restart.

Nace proved himself on the restart, disposing of the lapped machine at the new green and immediately closing on Buckwalter. Running the bottom, Nace was finally able to edge ahead of Buckwalter with five to go and distance himself from the field. His winning pace was slowed with two to go however for a second turn spin that gave both Buckwalter and Layton a clear shot at the win.

Nace was not to be denied however, pulling away from the field for a very popular win of less than 6 car-lengths over a fast closing Layton, who took second on the final lap. Buckwalter finished third followed by Stutts and Joe Whitcomb.

"I'm pretty tickled to be back here," said Nace. "These young boys are tough, I thought wed be back here quicker than this. Layton, Stutts and Buckwalter really go hard."

Of Layton taking second on the last lap, Nace quipped, "I've done this quite a while and we just run the wheels off of the car and hope to take her home at the end of the night."

Sixth through tenth went to Long, Nate Snyder, Buzz Wilson, Babe Mader and James Layton.

Mader and Long picked up sprint car qualifying events.

Billy Marvin led the first half of the 20-lap late model feature before giving way to one-time winner Dan Stone of Thompson . After attempting to take the lead on the bottom just shy of the halfway point, Stone regrouped and made the outside lane work to assume command of the field on the backstretch over Marvin and 12th starter Bobby Croop.

Stone's torrid pace was slowed with six laps remaining when for the second time in the event, seven-time winner Dale Kerstetter brought out the caution flag, regrouping the field. Stone was trailed by Marvin and Croop for the restart and it was Nescopeck's Croop who showed his hand when action resumed by taking second and tracking down the leader.

Croop had pulled even with Stone for his 65th career speedway win on the last lap when the final yellow appeared, setting up a one-lap dash to the checkers. Stone prevailed after a six-car pile up on the last restart to post his second career win over Croop, Marvin, Robbie Smith, Jeff Rine, Don Schick, Tony Adams, Brian Cochran, Eric Hons and Dave Shulski. Stone, Marvin and Jimmy Adams won late model heats.

Fourth starter Jake Buck extended his point lead in the 12-lap pro stock feature by wiring the field for the win. Buck beat Troy Miller to the line for the win ahead of Kyle Bachman, Scott Dorman, Jason Schmidt, Matt Drum, Mark Aucker, John Heane, Greg Brouse and Dave Brouse Jr. Matt Drum and Troy Miller took heats for the pro stocks.

In track news, Selinsgrove tri-promoters have announced that the Sprint Car National Open scheduled for September 15 will pay $2,000 to the winner of the 30-lap feature for the tracks weekly division. In order to be eligible to compete in the speedway's premier event of the season, entrants will be required to have competed in at least three programs during the course of the season. The 410 sprint cars will also be on the card for the 19th Annual National Open. <pre>

RACE SUMMARY Sprint Cars -19 -entries Heat winners: Babe Mader, Troy Miller. Feature finish: 1. Jimmy Nace, 2. Chad Layton, 3. Brian Buckwalter, 4. T.J. Stutts, 5. Joe Whitcomb , 6. Troy Long, 7. Nate Snyder, 8. Buzz Wilson, 9. Babe Mader, 10. James Layton, 11. Charlie Anderson, 12. Tim Higgins, 13. Bob Beidleman, 14. Kenny Day, 15. Brian Powell, 16. Joe Ross, 17. Jamie Schwartz, 18. John Keller, 19. Bill Fannasy .

Late Models -20 - entries Heat winners: Dan Stone, Billy Marvin, Jimmy Adams. Feature finish: 1. Dan Stone, 2. Bobby Croop, 3. Billy Marvin, 4. Robbie Smith, 5. Jeff Rine, 6. Don Schick, 7. Tony Adams, 8. Brian Cochran, 9. Eric Hons, 10. Dave Shulski, 11. Lou Schultz, 12. Glenn Heddings, 13. Mike Bingamin, 14. Kenny Day, 15. Jeremy Stone, 16. Jimmy Adams, 17. Dale Kerstetter, 18. Chris Wilkinson, 19. Brian Coffery, 20. Jim Farley.

Pro Stocks -16-entries Heat winners: Matt Drum, Troy Miller Feature finish: 1. Jake Buck, 2. Troy Miller, 3. Kyle Bachman, 4. Scott Dorman, 5. Jason Schmidt, 6. Matt Drum, 7. Mark Aucker, 8. John Heane, 9. Greg Brouse, 10. Dave Brouse Jr. , 11. Ray Rothfuss, 12. Peanut Heintzelman, 13. Scott Dunham, 14. A. G. Hasko, 15. Bob Baumgardner, 16. Jeff Jurasich.

-Shaun Brouse

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Teams Williams