Salem top guns

Pendleton, Ind. (September 10, 2003) - In 38 previous ASA Racing Series events at the famed .54-mile Salem Speedway, seven-time ASA National Champion Mike Eddy, 1989 Rookie of the Year Scott Hansen and all-time victory leader Bob Senneker top ...

Pendleton, Ind. (September 10, 2003) - In 38 previous ASA Racing Series events at the famed .54-mile Salem Speedway, seven-time ASA National Champion Mike Eddy, 1989 Rookie of the Year Scott Hansen and all-time victory leader Bob Senneker top the victory charts. Eddy has drove into the winner?s circle on five occasions with Hansen and Senneker both earning four victories. Darrell Waltrip won the inaugural event at Salem, labeled the first national event in October of 1973.

Dominating the second half of the Third Annual Raider 100, Eddy wheeled his No. 88 Chevrolet to a first victory at Salem in August of 1976. He passed Ohio?s John Anderson on the 41st circuit and then lapped all but the runner-up finisher. The race was made official at the 96th circuit after an accident. Anderson finished second with Florida?s Bob Schippers in third.

Leading the final 95 circuits, Eddy scored his second victory in three events at the high- banked track. On the sixth lap, Eddy bypassed early pacesetter Ellis Herbert and then finished ahead of Bob Coffey, Dennis Miles and L.J. Lines.

Scoring his third victory, Eddy initially won the pole position and then led every lap of the final segment of the Midwest 300 in September of 1978. Eddy got the jump on Mark Martin at the start of the event and then lapped all but Martin and third-place finisher Bob Sensiba.

The final win for Eddy occurred in April of 1979, finishing ahead of Bob Sensiba and Terry Senneker. Eddy got by early leader Rick Knotts on the 16th lap and then was the only competitor to finish the 150 laps.

Completing the race-winning pass on Tim Steele with 12 laps remaining, Wisconsin?s Scott Hansen recorded his first victory at Salem. Bob Senneker was second, just .18 seconds behind the race winner. Johnny Benson Jr. finished in third position.

Earning a second consecutive victory, Hansen again made a late-race pass. With eight laps remaining, Hansen drove around Jay Sauter, who dominated the conclusion of the event. Hansen drove away at he end, finishing .41 seconds ahead of Tony Raines with Jay Sauter finishing third.

Diving around Joe Nott on lap 255 of 300, Hansen bagged his third win, finishing ahead of Tim Sauter and Steve Holzhausen. Hansen also grabbed the pole position earlier in the day to make it a clean sweep.

Leading on four occasions, Hansen captured his fourth victory at Salem in July of 2000, the initial event at the high-banked oval with the current package of fuel-injected engines and BFGoodrich T/A Radial Tires. Hansen took the lead for a final time on the 221st circuit, passing series veteran Mike Miller. At the finish, Garvey placed second with former champions Gary St. Amant and Kevin Cywinski close behind.

Recording his first of four victories, Bob Senneker crossed the line in first position in August of 1975, beating Joe Wallace and Roland Van Arsdale. Charlie Glotzbach was fourth with Moose Myers rounding out the top-five finishers. Eddy and Miles were lap leaders, until Senneker took control on the 27th circuit.

Ending a five-race winless streak at Salem, Bob Senneker returned to the winner?s circle in October of 1977, controlling the second half of the Championship 100. Senneker bypassed early race dominator Dick Trickle on the 45th circuit, leading the remainder of the event. Rick Knotts of Michigan was second with Mark Martin and Dick Trickle filling out the top performers.

In a lop-sided event, Senneker crushed the competition in October of 1988 in the Midwest 300. Senneker took the lead on lap 163 after powering around Butch Miller. At the finish, Senneker finished 14.20 seconds in front of Dick Trickle with Miller crossing the line in third.

Bob Senneker turned in another impressive performance in June of 1990, finishing almost four seconds ahead of Harold Fair with Johnny Benson Jr. and Junior Hanley rounding out the top-four finishers.

John Anderson and Darrell Waltrip have recorded three wins at Salem with Randy Sweet visiting the winner?s circle on two occasions. Single-event winners included Ed Angle, Harold Fair, Dick Freeman, Don Gregory, Jerry Makara, LaMarr Marshall, Mark Martin, Denny Miles, Butch Miller, Mike Miller, Tony Raines, Tim Sauter, Neal Sceva, Tim Steele, Bob Strait, Gary St. Amant and David Stremme.

ASA returns to Salem Speedway for the Pep Boys 300 presented by Greased Lightning Orange Blast on Saturday, October 4, with the first of two practice sessions beginning at noon. Pole qualifying is set for 4 p.m. with a fan autograph session and live musical entertainment to follow. The Pep Boys 300 presented by Greased Lightning Orange Blast goes green at 8 p.m. (Central)

Tickets are available through the ASA office at a cost of $25 for general admission seats. Discounts are available when purchasing in advance. For additional information, contact the ASA ticket line at 1-888-ASA-1020.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Darrell Waltrip , Dick Trickle , Jay Sauter , Johnny Benson , Tony Raines , Tim Sauter , Tim Steele , David Stremme , Butch Miller , John Anderson , Charlie Glotzbach , Mark Martin , Scott Hansen