Rain stops Texas Spring Challenge

FORT WORTH-DALLAS (March 28, 2001) - Rain postponed Wednesday night's United Dirt Track Racing Association Pro DirtCar Series Albertson's Supermarkets Spring Challenge at Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track. The 75-lap $15,000-to-win event has been...

FORT WORTH-DALLAS (March 28, 2001) - Rain postponed Wednesday night's United Dirt Track Racing Association Pro DirtCar Series Albertson's Supermarkets Spring Challenge at Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track. The 75-lap $15,000-to-win event has been rescheduled for Saturday night.

A total of 49 entries had drawn for qualifications and were getting ready to hot lap when rain showers that have plagued the area for two days returned. The 49 entries will keep their drawn positions for qualifications on Saturday night. Included in the entry list were NASCAR Winston Cup drivers Tony Stewart and Ken Schrader.

The pit gate will open at noon on Saturday, with the grandstand gates opening at 5 p.m. Hot laps are set for 5:30 p.m., with time trials at 6:30 p.m., and racing scheduled for 7:40 p.m. Texas Motor Speedway is located 20 miles north of Fort Worth on I-35W at exit 70.

Tickets for the Albertson's Spring Challenge are available at the speedway ticket office, by calling (817) 215-8500, online at www.texasmotorspeedway.com or at Ticketmaster locations.

<pre> Albertson's Spring Challenge, Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track Saturday, March 31, 2001 Qualifications Order:

POS CAR # DRIVER HOMETOWN SPONSOR CHASSIS ENGINE CAR MAKE 1 50 Jeff Wildung Nassau, MN Viet Companies Fegers Custom Grand Prix 2 s9 Dan Schlieper Pewaukee, WI Performance Roofing Systems Rayburn Pro Power MonteCarlo 3 20s Tony Stewart Columbus, IN J.D. Byrider GRT K-Motion MonteCarlo 4 28 Dennis Erb Jr. Carpentersville, ILL C.J. Rayburn Race Cars Rayburn Hatfield MonteCarlo 5 00 Freddy Smith Knoxville, TN Christenberry Trucking & Farms GRT Custom MonteCarlo 6 166 Joe Izzo LaSalle, IL Jeff's Engine Masters GRT Pro Power MonteCarlo 7 96 Terry English Benton, KY Car City Rayburn Dickens MonteCarlo 8 125 David Siegert Monroe, LA Barthold Tire Rocket Craft MonteCarlo 9 89b Steve Barnett Franklin, IN J.D. Byrider GRT K-Motion MonteCarlo 10 15b Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA Seubert Calf Racnhes Rocket Russell Baker Grand Prix 11 5a Michael Coleman Tyler, TX Armadillo Willie's Mastersbilt Coleman = Grand Prix 12 28m Jimmy Mars Elk Mound, WI Parker Stores Mastersbilt Pro Power MonteCarlo 13 1* Chub Frank Sugar Grove, PA Mac Trailers Rocket Draime MonteCarlo 14 C28 Kenny Merchant Ruston, LA J.D. Caver Warrior Eatmon Mustang 15 31 Skip Arp Georgetown, TN Curits Equipment GRT Cornett Mustang 16 11x Steve Drake San Luis Obispo, CA Drake Farms Transportation GRT Drake Grand Prix 17 99s Kenny Schrader Fenton, MO Federated Auto Parts GRT Dickens Grand Prix 18 0s Craig Scott Rosemont, MN Cobra Transportation Mastersbilt Weseman Grand Prix 19 17m Dale McDowell Rossville, GA Larry Shaw Race Cars Larry Shaw Hatfield Grand Prix 20 99w Edwin Wells Morrilton, AR Hightower Oil GRT Custom Grand Prix 21 30 Steve Shaver Parkersburg, WV Simonton Windows/Poske Perf. Rocket Malcuit MonteCarlo 22 1k John Anderson Omaha, NE Gerdes Racing GRT Hatfield Grand Prix 23 1j Davey Johnson Greensburg, PA Rocket Chassis Rocket Draime MonteCarlo 24 57k Kelly King Iowa Park, TX M&R Motors GRT King MonteCarlo 25 45k John Kresser Jr. Bridgeview, IL Kresser Motorsports GRT Pro Power MonteCarlo 26 88 John Hill Callente, CA R.J. Hill Company Rayburn Cowan MonteCarlo 27 12m Raymond Merrill Salisaw, OK Merrill Self Storage GRT Russell Baker Grand Prix 28 26 Steve Boley West Liberty, IA Ron Alpen Ford Mastersbilt Cornett Mustang 29 14r Robert Holman Drexel, MO Central Fire Equipment Hoffman Kerns MonteCarlo 30 99 Donnie Moran Dresden, OH McCullough Motorsports Boss Fisher MonteCarlo 31 66 Bill Frye Greenbrier, AR UniFirst Uniforms GRT Kuntz Mustang 32 24 Rick Eckert York, PA Raye Vest Rocket Cornett Mustang 33 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC English Mountain Spring Water GRT Cornett Mustang 34 11c Jeff Chanler Minden, LA Luigi's Restaurant Rayburn ETS MonteCarlo 35 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN Miller Brothers Coal Warrior Custom Mustang 36 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY Valvoline/Mopar Performance Rocket Stanton Dodge 37 w7 Thomas Ware Cynthianna, KY Ware Funeral Home Rocket Cropper MonteCarlo 38 21w Ronnie Warman San Angelo, TX Roadmaster Active Suspension GRT Warman MonteCarlo 39 89 Marshall Green Dalton, GA Barto Enterprises Warrior Hatfield MonteCarlo 40 B12 Kevin Weaver Gibson City, IL Luigi's Restaurant Rayburn PTS MonteCarlo 41 00k Randy Korte Highland, IL Mid Continental Fuel Larry Shaw Hatfield MonteCarlo 42 18 Shannon Babb Decatur, IL Car City/Petroff Towing Rayburn Dickens MonteCarlo 43 a1 Duke Whiseant Texarkana, AR A1 Auto Salvage Rocket Dickens Grand Prix 44 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR Petroff Towing Rayburn Clements Grand Prix 45 50b Larry McDaniels Valley Center, KS Trio Machine GRT Cornett Mustang 46 6m Wendell Wallace Batesville, AR GRF Graphics GRT Russell Baker Grand Prix 47 33 Al Purkey Coffeyville, KS American Made Race Cars American Hatfield Grand Prix 48 71m Lance Mathees Winona, MN Fegers Racing Equipment Fegers Custom MonteCarlo 49 83 Scott James Lawrenceburg, IN Sheppard Excavating Rocket AMS MonteCarlo


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Tony Stewart , Ken Schrader , Scott Bloomquist , Bill Frye , Freddy Smith , Donnie Moran , Rick Eckert , Jimmy Mars , Lance Mathees , Brian Birkhofer , John Anderson , Steve Francis