Potomac Speedway race report 2002-03-23

Eckert claims Bobby Allen Memorial at Potomac Budds Creek, MD... Rick Eckert powered to a season opening victory on Saturday night at the Potomac Speedway in the ITSI Bobby Allen Memorial Late Model main. Eckert led the final 53 laps of the...

Eckert claims Bobby Allen Memorial at Potomac

Budds Creek, MD... Rick Eckert powered to a season opening victory on Saturday night at the Potomac Speedway in the ITSI Bobby Allen Memorial Late Model main. Eckert led the final 53 laps of the 55-lap event to post a three-car length victory over Tom Wagner. Booper Bare, Allan Brannon, and Jim Bernheisel completed the top five. In other action, Paul Cursey captured the Bell Motor Company Limited Late Model 20 lap feature while Jimmy Jesmer picked up the win in the time shortened Coors Light Street Stock main. Other winners included John Sellner in the 15 lap Hobby Stock feature, Scotty Scott in the 12 lap 4 Cylinder event, and Dale Moore collected the victory in the 15 lap Chesapeake Web Design Bomber feature.

Tom Wagner and Scott Cross led the 25 car Budweiser Super Late Model field to the green flag to begin the 55 lap Bobby Allen Memorial. Wagner would get the jump on the initial start but the yellow would wave for a spin involving Deane Guy after he received some assistance. The field would be reset and Scott Cross would get the jump on the second attempt. Cross led the field for the first two laps before spinning at the exit of turn two just in front of Eckert and Wagner. When the green flag waved on lap four Eckert led Wagner, Scott Richwine, Booper Bare, and Dan Stone. Eight caution flags would keep the field tight through the first 19 laps but only three cautions would slow the field in the remaining thirty-six. Eckert felt challenges from Wagner before Bare squeezed by on the 32nd lap. Bare applied pressure on Eckert in lapped traffic but the Raye Vest Excavating driver was up to the challenge with each push. A caution with just two laps remaining would give Bare one last shot. Eckert was too strong and headed to the victory. Wagner slid by on the restart for the runner -up spot while Bare settled for third. Allen Brannon and Jim Bernheisel did not fare well in their heat races and started the feature in the 22nd and 25th spots respectively. They worked through the field with power and finesse to round out the top five. Completing the top ten were Richwine, George Moreland, Ernie Jones, James Adkins, and Tim Murphy. Heat races were won by Wagner, Cross, and Eckert. Bernheisel picked up the Metropolitan Auto Racing Fans Club Hard Charger Award.

Paul Cursey and Ronnie Hollidge led the fourteen car Limited Late Model field to the green flag. Hollidge got to the front first and held off the hard pressing Cursey for the first nine laps. Cursey forced his way by to lead at the halfway mark of the 20-lap feature and never looked back. Hollidge tried on several occasions to regain the top spot but had to settle for second. Kevin Nelson worked his way into the third position after out braking Johnny Smith in turn three of the eleventh lap. Nelson tried to challenge Hollidge but had to settle in for the third spot. David Puckett started last in the field but ended the night in fourth while defending division champion Sommey Lacey rounded out the top five. The qualifying heat was won by Cursey.

Seventeen cars followed Chris Nelson and Billy Tippet to the green flag for the 15 lap Coors Light Street Stock feature. Two cautions would fly before one lap was completed but Billy Tippet got the top spot when the green flag dropped for the third time. Tippet would feel challenges from Deuce Wright and then Nelson through the first six laps. A Nelson slip would let Jimmy Jesmer and Joe Scaggs by as they began their pursuit of Tippet. A series of yellow flags would keep the field tight and earned the drivers a two-lap dash at the eight-lap mark due to the time limit established for the support divisions. Tippet was getting set to take the green when he made the hard left turn for the pits, handing the lead and eventual victory over to Jesmer. Jesmer held off Scaggs for a three-car length victory. Nelson claimed third while Billy Lackey and Wright wrapped up the top five. Bobby Tipton and Nelson won the heats.

Chuck Williams and Bill Kessler led the fourteen-car field to the green in the 15 lap Hobby Stock main event. Ray Weaver worked by Williams from his third starting position to take the lead. The caution free event featured Weaver way out on front with John Sellner racing to second. Weaver crossed the stripe with a three-second advantage but even that was not enough when he was disqualified for an illegal exhaust. Sellner received the win with Jeff Helsel getting the runner-up spot. Barry Lear Jr., John Latham, and Tommy Randall completed the top five. Chuck Williams won the 5-lap heat race.

Scotty Scott led from flag to flag in the 12 lap 4 cylinder feature event as he went unchallenged. Linda Wright cruised to a second place finish while Billy Crouse collected third. Jerry Dick and Calvin Wright finished fourth and fifth respectively.

The Chesapeake Web Design Bomber class exploded over the off season as seventeen cars took the green flag. Kyle Nelson jumped out front at the drop of the green but surrendered the top spot to Earl Whitehouse on the seventh circuit. Dale Moore worked his way from the eight starting spot to finally take over the lead at the halfway mark of the 15-lap feature. Moore never would relinquish the lead and picked up the season opening victory. Whitehouse held off Nelson for second but was later disqualified in a postrace inspection giving second to Nelson. Jimmy Suite finished third. Mike Manginell earned a fourth and Debbie Williams placed fifth in her bomber debut in a feature that saw three caution flags slow the pace. Heats were won by Suite and Nelson.

The Potomac Speedway returns to action Saturday night March 30 with a 25 lap Budweiser Super Late Model feature. The Limiteds, Street Stocks, Bombers, Hobby Stocks, and 4 cylinders will also be featured on the racing card. The Metropolitan Auto Racing Fan Club will be on hand to hand out awards to the winners. Gates open at 4:30 with racing underway at 6 pm. The 3/8ths mile high-banked oval is located seven miles off US Route 301 on MD Route 234. For more information please call 301-884-4624 or check out the website at www.potomacspeedway.com.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Rick Eckert , Kevin Nelson
Teams Williams