Potomac Speedway May 5th preview

Budds Creek, Md., -- The regular racing action at Potomac Speedway took the week off in honor of the NASCAR Winston Cup Series event in Richmond, Va. The racing action will resume this coming Saturday, May 12th for the running of the annual 25-lap...

Budds Creek, Md., -- The regular racing action at Potomac Speedway took the week off in honor of the NASCAR Winston Cup Series event in Richmond, Va. The racing action will resume this coming Saturday, May 12th for the running of the annual 25-lap Mike Wathen Memorial Coors Light Pure-Street feature along with the regular show. There will also be bike races for the kids. Pit gates open at 4:30pm with racing action starting at 6:00 pm.

With six races in the books, there hasn't been one dominant driver at the track so far this year in the Budweiser Super Late Model series. Deane Guy currently leads the point standings by a 132-point advantage with one feature win to his credit.

Jackie Booth resides in second place, still knocking on the door for his first feature win. Rookie-driver Darryl Hills, the 2000 Bell Motor Company Late Model points champion, has showed a lot of strength so far this year. Hills has two wins to his credit and is currently in third place, only 11 points out of second.

Defending Budweiser Super Late Model points champion George Moreland is the current fourth-place runner. Moreland has yet to visit victory lane this year. Only two points behind Moreland is one-time feature winner Rick Jones in the fifth position.

So far this year, there have been five different winners.

Harold Dorsey, Jr., is currently sixth in the standings, followed by Ernie Jones in seventh, Frank Smith in eighth, Tom Wagner, Jr., in ninth, and with Pat Wood rounding out the top 10.

With only two I.T.S.I. Late Model feature in the books, Les Hare the winner of the Gene Van Meter Memorial, is currently the points leader. Allen Brannon follows in second, with Deane Guy, the winner of the Bobby Allen Memorial in third, Ernie Jones in fourth, Darryl Hills in fifth, George Moreland in sixth, James Adkins, Jr., in seventh, Rick Jones in eighth, Jackie Booth in ninth, and Ray Kable in 10th.

The next scheduled I.T.S.I. event is the 50-lap Mike Clore Memorial. The event will have be $3,000 to win and will be sponsored by Carruth Concrete.

Everyone has been watching a close battle develop between the current points leader, Sommey Lacey and former Bell Motor Company Late Model Points Champion, Paul Cursey. Both drivers have three wins a piece to their credit, not allowing anyone else to visit victory lane. And, only five points separates the two drivers.

Ronnie Hollidge currently sits in the third position, followed by rookie driver and 2000 Coors Light Pure-Street Stock points champion Johnny Smith in fourth, Chet Gagon in fifth, Craig Bowling in sixth, Kevin Nelson in seventh, Jeff Burroughs in eighth, Ed Gryszluewicz in ninth, and Billy Hubbard in 10th.

Although he hasn't won any feature events yet this year, Jimmy Jesmer currently leads the Coors Light Pure-Street Stocks standings. Kirk Confair is currently second, 11 points out of first, with one win to his credit.

One-time feature winner Jamie Lathroum is currently third, followed by one-time feature winner Tom Turner in fourth, Craig Tankersley in fifth, one-time feature winner Mike Latham in sixth, Bill Tippett in seventh, Dan Dotson in eighth, Scott Thompson in ninth, and two-time feature winner Tommy Hitt in 10th.

Thirty-two points separates Potomac Speedway Four-Cylinders points leader Sam Woods, Jr., and Linda Wright. Neither Woods nor Wright has a feature win to their credit just yet this year. Chappy Knaack is currently third with one feature win followed by Philip Woods in fourth, Pop Woods in fifth, two-time winner Bob Tester, Jr., in sixth, Billy Crouse in seventh, one-time feature winner Calvin Wright in eighth, Butch Mclanigan in ninth, and one-time feature winner Jerry Dick in 10th.

Wayne Suite is at the top of the standings in the Cliff's Heating and Air Conditioning Enduro/Hobby Stock with one-feature win to his credit. Defending enduro points champion, Joe Adams is currently in second with two wins to his credit and only 14 points behind Suite. One-time feature winner John Burch, is currently third, followed by two-time winner Ben Bowie in fourth, Ray Weaver in fifth, John Latham in sixth, Bill Kessler in seventh, Chuck Williams in eighth, John Sellner in ninth, and Marty Page in 10th.

In the Chesapeake Web Design Bombers, Eric Hanson leads the standings with a 110-point advantage over second-place runner and two-time winner Jerry Oliver. Dale Moore, Jr., is currently third, followed by one-time feature winner JoAnn Jackson in fourth, one-time winner Jimmy Suite in fifth, Rob Hitt in sixth, Brian Thompson in seventh, Dennis Maxey in eighth, Ronnie Doss in ninth, and one-time winner Brian Thompson in 10th.

Come out to see these drivers and more compete in Potomac's month of May filled racing action. For more information on these events or others, contact Potomac Speedway at (301) 884-6284 or look us up on the Chesapeake Web Design maintained site at www.potomacspeedway.com.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Kevin Nelson , Chappy Knaack , Tom Turner
Teams Williams