Pocono Mountain Speedway results 2001-09-23

Ammon Collects 1st Pocono Mountain Speedway MOD Win Of The Year ST JOHNS, PA. Chris Ammon dodged a bullet in the opening laps of the Modified feature at Pocono Mountain Speedway. After that, Ammon grabbed the lead and stayed in front the rest...

Ammon Collects 1st Pocono Mountain Speedway MOD Win Of The Year

ST JOHNS, PA. Chris Ammon dodged a bullet in the opening laps of the Modified feature at Pocono Mountain Speedway. After that, Ammon grabbed the lead and stayed in front the rest of the way to the checkered flag for his first win of the season.

Doug Yanders took the early lead from the pole when the green flag dropped. Mike Adams was 2nd, followed by Roger Heffelfinger Jr, Andy Szapacs, and Ammon. A pair of cautions on lap 3 dramatically changed the look of the top 10, sending a number of cars to the pits. Ammon found himself out in front, with Russ Frantz now in 2nd. Shaun Carrig was 3rd, followed by John Markovic and Don Wagner.

Once back under the green, the field went on a 20 lap run to the final caution. Ammon and Frantz battled for the lead, with the pair putting some distance on the rest of the field. Frantz stalked Ammon, looking for a way to make the pass. On lap 10, Frantz's bid for the win and evening ended in a puff of smoke, then coasting to the infield.

Ammon's lead was erased when the caution fell on lap 23. Carrig, Markovic, and Wagner held spots 2-4, with Eric Beers moving up to 5th.

Over the remaining laps, there was no change in the top 5. On the restart, Ammon was pressured by Carrig, but by the time they crossed the line, Ammon lead by two car lengths for the win. Carrig had his hands full with Markovic, but held on for 2nd. Wagner and Beers rounded out the top 5.

A total of five cautions fell in the first nine laps of the Late Model feature. That forced track officials to a single file restart in order to give fans a good race to watch. Phil DeFranco lead the way through all the early cautions, keeping all the action behind him.

At the 10 lap mark, DeFranco was still leading, with Doug Yanders close behind. Dan Ballentine Jr started deep in the field and avoided the early wrecks to take 3rd, followed by Dave Christman and Dean Kline Jr.

At halfway, DeFranco got caught up a little too high on the race track, allowing Yanders to take over the lead and Ballentine Jr to move up to 2nd. DeFranco dropped back in line in the 3rd spot, followed by Christman and Kline Jr.

Yanders brought out the final caution of the race on lap 16, when he spun in turn 2. Ballentine Jr was now leading, followed by DeFranco, Christman, Kline Jr, and Paul Koehler Jr.

On the restart, Ballentine Jr immediately began putting space between himself and the rest of the field. Christman got around DeFranco to take over 2nd, while Koehler Jr passed Kline Jr for 4th.

With five to go, Ballentine Jr, Christman, and Koehler Jr held the first three spots and raced unchanged to the checkered. Ballentine Jr picked up his 2nd feature win in a row. Kline Jr managed to get around DeFranco to finish 4th, while Rick Collins got by DeFranco to round out the top 5.

Jack Cassidy's bad luck seems to be behind him, visiting victory lane in the Pro Stock Fall Championship. Scott Meckes clinched the Street Stock title, winning the division's Fall Championship. In taking the Factory Stock Fall Championship, Paul Frantz increased his points lead.

MODIFIED (30): CHRIS AMMON, Shaun Carrig, John Markovic, Don Wagner, Eric Beers, Matt Hirshman, Tim Santee, Andy Szapacs, Jim Hauser Jr, Brain DeFebo, C.J. Jones, Doug Yanders, Billy Swartz, Tim Henry, Russ Frantz, Adam Horwith, Paul Koehler Jr, Roger Heffelfinger Jr, Mike Adams, Cal Snyder.

LATE MODEL (25 LAPS): DAN BALLENTINE JR, Dave Christman, Paul Koehler Jr, Dean Kline Jr, Rick Collins, Barry Callavini, Phil DeFranco, Doug Yanders, Tom Scales, Tom George, Steve Pilman, Jon Faust, Bob Parton, Joe Hutto, Mike Radocha Jr, Kevin Kromer, Mike Snyder, Jerry Brightaupt.

PRO STOCK FALL CHAMPIONSHIP (30 LAPS): JACK CASSIDY, Mike Higgins, Joe Hoffman, Richie Spaide, Joe Barbush, Chris Hamilton, Chris Burge, Ralph Kennedy, Frank Hughes, Tom Spencer Jr, Alan Decker, Paul Monkowski. DNS - Bob Ankner.

STREET STOCK FALL CHAMPION SHIP (25) LAPS: SCOTT MECKES, Ron Babula, John Swerdon Jr, Mike Kowalczuk, Jennifer Kutz, John Tombasco, Dave Imler, J.R. Roth, Frank Katona, Larry Kibler, Robert Fink, Lou Mitchalk.

FACTORY STOCK FALL CHAMPIONSHIP (20 LAPS): PAUL FRANTZ, Mark Corbisiero, Shaun Burd, Brad Kline, Andrew Monkowski, Tom Casagrande, Mike Sweeney, Todd Barbush, Steve McCracken, Val Lichtenstein, Sue Collins, Frank Bursese, Del Snyder, Lou Cervino, Josh Labatch.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Michael Sweeney , Eric Beers