Path Valley Strictly Stock results 2005-06-18

Ladies Take Over on Path Valley Strictly Stock Track Spring Run PA__ The ladies took over Fan Appreciation Night with powder puff ten-lap features in all three Strictly Stock classes Saturday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park, and the...

Ladies Take Over on Path Valley Strictly Stock Track

Spring Run PA__ The ladies took over Fan Appreciation Night with powder puff ten-lap features in all three Strictly Stock classes Saturday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park, and the result was three first time Path Valley winners.

In the regular Strictly Stock features, Bruce Ginther Jr. of Lebanon won his third V-8 feature, Rob Keller of Shippensburg won for the third time in 6-Cylinders and Barron Taylor of Blairs Mills won his second feature in 4-Cylinders.

The low-budget Strictly Stocks return to Path Valley Saturday night, July 2, and at least one 4-cylinder pickup prototype is promised for an exhibition of future racing. Path Valley hosts the four regular weekly classes next Friday night, June 24, along with the PA 305 Sprints and the Central PA Legends Cars. Next Saturday the kids get a treat with Candy Scrambles set for both the afternoon kart and quad races and that evening's AMA motorcycle races.

Stacie Naugle of South Mountain opened the powder puffs with a run-away win in the V-8 class as she and Beth Verno lapped the field repeatedly. She said this was her third race ever and that she also won a powder puff in Orbisonia on Mother's Day. At the finish she led by half the track.

Rachel Scofield took the lead away from Barbara Mills on lap four of the 6-cylinder powder puff and led to the checkered flag by up to half a turn. The Spring Run racer said it was her third try ever and her first win. Tammy Hutchinson of Reeds Gap moved from her 16th place start to third by lap four and on lap nine beat by Cathy Frazier with a high wide pass down the back stretch. She thanked her son, Dakota, for letting her drive his strictly stock to her first win ever.

All three powder puff features raced without cautions.

The regular features that preceded the powder puffs saw experienced veterans racing far ahead of wreckage toward the rear. From the pole, Bruce Ginther Jr. scooted ahead of Tom Brady all the way to the checkers with help from a few lapped cars that kept Brady and, in the front five Luther Daywalt Jr., Steve Frazier and Ben Naugle working hard to keep up. Ginther and Brady won the heats. The race saw three cautions thin slower cars in the first two laps.

Friday night announcer and past champion Rob Keller led all the way from the pole in 6-cylinders as Dave Dunkle and Bob Elbin battled for second place. Dunkle took second for keeps on lap 18, but by then Keller was too far gone to catch. The front five were Keller, Dunkle, Elbin, Jason Ege and Josh Walstrum, and Ege won the single heat race. Keller dedicated his win to Dave and Jeanine Kitzmiller who were married Saturday with Keller as best man. Dave drives the #71 in V-8 Strictly Stock.

Mark Campbell took the early lead ahead of the full field of 24 4-cylinders, and Campbell held off pursuers until lap six when Johnny Runk got to his inside coming out of turn two. Runk began lapping cars on lap 11, but on lap 13 a tire went away and Barron Taylor, up from his start at 16, took over the lead and skillfully used lapped cars to keep it ahead of Brian Campbell, Tony Thurber, Matt Howsare and Keith Walls in the front five. Jared Wible, Campbell and Jeremy Mumma won the heats.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. From March to October, Path Valley races stock cars, Legends and sprints Friday nights, karts and quads on Saturday afternoons and AMA bikes or Strictly Stock junkyard cars Saturday nights.


4-Cylinder Powder Puff -- Tammy Hutchinson (started 12), Cathy Frazier, Darlene Grance, Tasha James, Crystal Taylor, Tina Eaffer, Alma Walstrum, Heather Thurber, Tiffany Stull, DNS Ashley Yocum.

V-8 Powder Puff -- Stacie Naugle (2), Berth Verno, Tana McGee, Tracey King, Amber Patterson.

6-Cylinder Powder Puff -- Rachel Scofield (6), Barbara Mills, Wanda Grimes, Becky Wolf, Jen DeArmitt, Jackie Ege.

6-Cylinder Strictly Stock -- Rob Keller (1), Dave Dunkle, Bob Elbin, Jason Ege, Josh Walstrum, Jeff Dicken, Terry Golden, Dave Lambert, Bill DeArmitt. Heat to Ege.

4-Cylinder Strictly Stock -- Barron Taylor (16), Brian Campbell, Tony Thurber, Matt Howsare, Keith Walls, Fred Jamison, Eddie Machel, Jared Wible, Shawn Phelan, Curt Souders, Dakota Hutchinson, Jason Gordan, Todd Price, Brandon Burdge, Johnny Runk, Denny Scofield, Dave Strait, Jeff Koser, Kevin Knepper, Gary Walls, Eric Grubb, Mark Leedy, Mark Campbell, DNS Joe Reisher, DQ Jeremy Mumma. Heats to Wible, Campbell, Mumma.

V-8 Strictly Stock -- Bruce Ginther Jr. (1), Tom Brady, Luther Daywalt Jr., Steve Frazier, Ben Naugle, Robert Naugle, Dan Gelwicks, Dustin Pietrak, Tim Burdge, Joe Daywalt, Joe Croyle, David Reaugh, Joey Burdge, Jim DeArmitt, DNS Jeremy Woodring, Tony Verno. Heats to Brady, Ginther.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Eddie M , Johnny R