Path Valley Strictly Stock results 2005-06-04

Path Valley Features Three New Winners Spring Run PA__ First time winners in every class visited victory lane at the Path Valley Speedway Park Saturday night after fierce Strictly Stocks features. Robert Naugle of Waynesboro in V-8, Jason...

Path Valley Features Three New Winners

Spring Run PA__ First time winners in every class visited victory lane at the Path Valley Speedway Park Saturday night after fierce Strictly Stocks features.

Robert Naugle of Waynesboro in V-8, Jason Ege of Fannettsburg in 4-cylinder, and Jeff Koser of Newville in 6-cylinder each won their first features of the year in the low budget Strictly Stocks that are also called guardrail or junkyard cars.

Multiplying the excitement, Senior Race Director John Winsett announced that the season's first powder puff race will be featured when the Strictly Stocks return in two weeks. Mothers, wives, daughters and girlfriends should be ready to meet safety rules including shirts, shoes and helmets. Complete safety and tech rules are at the track's website at

Next Friday night's racing will include the regular four classes and also the PA 305 Sprints and the INEX sanctioned Central PA Legends Cars. Path Valley will host on Saturday the regular afternoon karts and quads racing and then a special track points motorcycle and four-wheeler race.

From third Naugle passed Tom Brady at the end of lap two and started lapping the rear of the field on lap eight. Brady pulled alongside to lead lap 12 and again briefly on lap 17 but could not complete the pass. The front five were Naugle, Brady, Joey Burdge, Bruce Ginther Jr., and Dustin Pietrak. Brady and Burdge won the ten-car heat races. In victory lane the Waynesboro excavator said his boys strip and do all the work on the cars, and that this is his first win in more than two years.

The four-cylinders saw at least seven different leaders, including Chester Atherton who led the first seven laps and Barron Taylor who led until a flat put him off and then came back and regained all but one spot. After a crash on lap 17 put consi winner Matt Howsare in the lead, six more tries to complete lap 18 saw leaders dropping into the junkyard with flats and thrown wheels until finally Koser started on the pole and finished the lap before Fred Jamison spun for a lap 19 caution. Johnny Runk, who had started on the pole, took second on lap 19 and then quickly fell back as only Taylor challenged Koser for the checkers.

The front five four-cylinders were Koser, Taylor, Eddie Machel, Brandon Burdge, and Mark Leedy. Chester Atherton, Runk and Machel won the heats and Howsare won the consi. "It was awesome, just awesome," said Koser, in victory lane for the first time this season.

Jason Ege stayed close and watched for a chance as the six-cylinders ran fast and spaced out with Chris Cogan in the lead. On a lap nine restart after Josh Walstrum flipped in turn three, Ege passed Dave Lambert for second place. Ege pulled even with Cogan on lap ten and finally used a lapped car to get inside and past Cogan on lap 12 and kept at least one lapped car between his own #12 and Cogan's 85 as the race went non-stop to the checkers. The front five finishers were Ege, Cogan, Rob Keller, Dave Lambert and Bill DeArmitt and Cogan and Terry Golden won the heats.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. From March to October, Path Valley races stock cars, Legends and sprints Friday nights, karts and quads on Saturday afternoons and AMA bikes or Strictly Stock junkyard cars Saturday nights.

The phone number at the track is 717-349-7111. For information on the 2005 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


V-8 -- Robert Naugle (started 3), Tom Brady, Joey Burdge, Bruce Ginther Jr., Dustin Pietrak, Jim DeArmitt, David Reaugh, Joe Daywalt, Ben Naugle, Joe Croyle, Steve Frazier, Danny Burdge, David Kitzmiller, Larry Risser, Jeremy Woodring, Dan Gelwicks, Luther Daywalt Sr., Tony Verno, DNS Jerry Fleming, Chuck Arentz. Heats to Brady, Joey Burdge.

4-Cyl. -- Jeff Koser (started 20), Barron Taylor, Eddie Machel, Brandon Burdge, Mark Leedy, Todd Price, Dakota Hutchinson, Johnny Runk, Fred Jamison, Dave Strait, Chester Atherton, Matt Howsare, Tony Thurber, Eric Grubb, Derek Atherton, Gary Dehart, Mark Cekovich, Chad Fauson, Brian Campbell, Denny Scofield, Curt Atherton, Jared Wible, Adam Bottenfield, Keith Walls. Consi to Howsare, heats to Atherton, Runk, Machel.

6-Cyl. -- Jason Ege (started 3), Chris Cogan, Rob Keller, Dave Lambert, Bill DeArmitt, David Stuff, Dale Martin, Jeff Dicken, Jerry Golden, Josh Walstrum. Heats to Cogan, Golden.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Eddie M , Johnny R