Path Valley race results 2004-10-30

Spring Run, PA_ "Wow, what a thrill to beat these guys," said Shawn Hancock of Honey Grove after winning his first feature ever in the Hobby Stock class Saturday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park. Hancock said he has been racing for twelve...

Spring Run, PA_ "Wow, what a thrill to beat these guys," said Shawn Hancock of Honey Grove after winning his first feature ever in the Hobby Stock class Saturday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park.

Hancock said he has been racing for twelve years in enduros and two years in the affordable V-8 Hobby Stocks, and when he found himself and his blue #9 on the front row, he just "put the pedal down." The front five were Hancock, Joe DeArmitt, Matt Mellott, Craig Imes and Jesse Snyder and Imes won the heat race. The V-8 Hobby Stocks are being added to the Path Valley schedule as a regular attraction in 2005.

Strictly Stock experts won the night's regular features with Jerry Fleming of St. Thomas first in V-8, Ricky Rosenberry of Willow Hill first in 6-Cylinder and Bruce Ginther Jr. of Lebanon winning his fifth straight in 4-Cylinder.

Mechanics Races closed the 2005 Path Valley season and Sam Bates won after ten laps in V-8 driving the #31 of Dustin Pietrak; Brett Chevaux in the #78 of Josh Walstrum won in 6-Cylinder; and Lonnie Fisher in the #93 of Buddy Jeffers won the 4-Cylinder Mechanic's feature.

The Strictly Stock cars have been racing every other Saturday night, and the top three in each class will be recognized at the annual awards banquet Nov. 20 in Pleasant Hall. Minor changes announced for 2005 include a clearer tire rule allowing the smallest street legal stock tire or no more than two sizes larger, and excluding full roll cages.

The Six-Cylinders opened the show with Josh Walstrum in control until lap 15 when he went off with a flat and Ricky Rosenberry took over after an outside charge from almost last. The front five were Rosenberry, Chad Gambol, Jeff Dicken, Dave Lambert and Dale Martin and Bob Elbin and Rosenberry won the heats.

Jerry Fleming passed Tom Brady on lap five to take control of the V-8 Strictly Stocks, and in victory lane Fleming said, "I handled the lapped cars better this time than I did in the 50-lapper." On lap 18 Dustin Pietrak pulled alongside Fleming, but settled for second with Dave Dunkle, Donnie Farling and Dustin Brown completing the front five finish order. Brown and Dave Kitzmiller won the heats.

Tony Thurber of Shade Gap took control and led the Four-Cylinders for a dozen laps. Then with the field lined up on the front stretch for a restart and sitting still, Thurber's right front wheel fell off. By that point Bruce Ginther had moved from twelfth into second and thereupon took over the lead. The front five were Ginther, Denny Schofield, Buddy Jeffers, Josh Smith and Johnny Runk.

Ginther has now won five consecutive four-cylinder races and said that he will move up, to V-8 Strictly Stocks, next season. "We're going to find out if they really are faster," he said.

As in past years, a tentative 2005 schedule will be released at the annual Path Valley Speedway Park awards banquet Nov. 20. Limited to 400 seats, ten tickets remained Saturday night.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111.

For information on the 2004 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the track's website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


V-8 Mechanics -- Sam Bates, Mel DeArmitt, Luther Daywalt Sr., Aaron Bartone, Jamie Reeder, Ryan Brown, Steve Frederick, Shane Spade, DNS Mike Pentz.

Six-Cylinder Mechanics -- Brett Chevaux, Anthony Dodson, Stacie Naugle, Mike Gipe, Wanda Grimes, Shawn Waite, DQ Tony Loy.

Four-Cylinder Mechanics -- Lonnie Fisher, Mike Guise, Ron Parsons, Tim Cassel, Sam Middaugh.

Four-Cylinder Strictly Stock -- Bruce Ginther Jr. (started 12), Denny Schofield, Buddy Jeffers, Josh Smith, Johnny Runk, Brian Walls, Dakota Hutchinson, Mark Cekovich, Johnathon Middaugh, Jeff Koser, Jeff Arcq, Jason Fredrick, Tony Thurber, Mark Campbell, Craig Duvall, Scott Fisher, DNS James Arcq, Wilbert Barker. Heats to Smith, Ginther.

V-8 Strictly Stock -- Jerry Fleming (6), Dustin Pietrak, Dave Dunkle, Donnie Farling, Dustin Brown, Jim DeArmitt, Dan Gelwicks, Joey Burdge, Paul Gambol, Scott Deaner, Jacob Cottle, Joe Daywalt, David Kitzmiller, Tom Brady, Randy Hockenberry, DNS Luther Daywalt Jr. Heats to Brown, Kitzmiller.

Six-Cylinder Strictly Stock -- Ricky Rosenberry (12), Chad Gambol, Jeff Dicken, Dave Lambert, Dale Martin, Barry Stetler, Jason Ege, Bob Elbin, Josh Walstrum, Tim Burdge, Kevin Arcq II, Todd Price, Travis Waite. Heats to Elbin, Rosenberry.

Hobby Stocks -- Shawn Hancock (2), Joe DeArmitt, Matt Mellott, Craig Imes, Jesse Snyder, Mark Smith, DNS Chad Walter. Heat to Imes.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Johnny R