Odessa: I-70 Speedway preview

Trickle, Eddy have dominated at I-70 Pendleton, Ind. (May 29, 2003) -- Since making its debut at the high-banked I-70 Speedway in March of 1977, the ASA Racing Series has competed at the .54-mile oval on 26 occasions. Two-time...

Trickle, Eddy have dominated at I-70

Pendleton, Ind. (May 29, 2003) -- Since making its debut at the high-banked I-70 Speedway in March of 1977, the ASA Racing Series has competed at the .54-mile oval on 26 occasions. Two-time series champion Dick Trickle and seven-time ASA champion Mike Eddy have dominated the competition, winning a total of nine events at the Missouri track.

Trickle produced the first of his five victories after dominating the last portion of the 300- lap event on May 22, 1977. Wheeling the No. 99 Chevrolet, Trickle bypassed Joe Shear on the 218th circuit, leading the final 83 laps of the event. Shear finished second with Larry Detjens in third.

Starting in the second spot in the Championship 100, Trickle took the first position from eventual 1977 series champion Dave Watson on the 60th-go-around. Trickle then powered to the win, lapping all but second Larry Phillips and third place Mark Martin.

Scoring his third consecutive victory at I-70 in July of 1977, Trickle finished first of the 30-car field that took the green flag. Trickle initially passed Joe Shear for the top spot on lap 13, leading a total of 182 of the 300 circuits. He made the race-winning pass with 11 laps remaining on Dave Goldsberrry after he was involved in an accident.

Taking top honors at the third annual World Cup 400 in October of 1978, Trickle bagged $9,500 of the $58,200 in posted awards. The Wisconsin standout started 23rd in the event, working his way to the first position on lap 321 and taking the point for good on lap 387, passing Eddy.

Making another late-race pass for victory, Trickle drove his No. 99 Superamerica Chevrolet around Shear for the leadership honors on the 292nd circuit. Trickle held off Shear in the final laps of the event.

Eddy captured his first of four victories at I-70 in the second of twin 150-lap events in April of 1977. From his sixth starting slot, Eddy darted into the first position on lap five, pacing the next 44 circuits. He returned to the top spot on lap 98 after bypassing Tom Reffner of Wisconsin. At the checkers, Eddy finished ahead of lead lap finishers Larry Phillips, Jimmy Pierson and Larry Detjens.

Bypassing Four-time ASA champion Mark Martin with 25 laps remaining, Eddy returned to the winner's circle at I-70, holding off the late-race challenge of Martin and 1983 ASA champion Rusty Wallace.

Leading the final 52 circuits of the Western Auto 300, Eddy, driving his No. 88 Nationwise Pontiac, captured his third victory at the high-banked oval. At the finish, the Michigan legend pulled away from Harold Fair, to win by 2.89 seconds.

Winning his first season opener in a legendary ASA career, Eddy drove into the Missouri 300 winner's circle at I-70. Making a late-race charge, Eddy grabbed the lead for the first time on lap 239. He passed Wisconsin competitor Jay Sauter with a move that has henceforth been known as "The Bump." Johnny Benson Jr. crossed the finish line in second spot with Ken Schrader celebrating third-place honors.

In the 2002 stop at I-70 Speedway, eventual series champion Joey Clanton continued his impressive performance by winning for the seventh time that season. Clanton passed three-time ASA champion Butch Miller with 11 circuits remaining in the Missouri 300 Presented by Jani-King and Price Chopper, finishing .350 seconds ahead of David Stremme in the No. 11 Meijer Chevrolet.

All-time victory leader Bob Senneker and Georgia racer Mike Miller have both captured two victories at I-70. Single event winners include, Glenn Allen Jr., Clanton, Detjens, Todd Forbes, Brad Loney, Martin, Butch Miller, Adam Petty, Joe Ruttman, Johnny Sauter, Tim Sauter, Gary St. Amant and Dave Watson

Practice for the Missouri 250 Presented by Jani-King is scheduled for 1 p.m. on Saturday, June 14. Pole qualifying is at 5 p.m. with the autograph session taking place at 7:45. The Missouri 250 Presented by Jani-King goes green at 9 p.m. (Central)

Tickets are available through the ASA office at a cost of $25 for general admission seats. Discounts are available when purchasing in advance. For additional information, contact the ASA ticket line at 1-888-ASA-1020 or log onto www.asaracing.com.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Dick Trickle , Rusty Wallace , Ken Schrader , Jay Sauter , Tim Sauter , Mike Miller , David Stremme , Joey Clanton , Butch Miller , Mark Martin