New Egypt Speedway Results 98-08-08

LAURENO PADS POINT LEAD, WINS THIRD OF SEASON AT NEW EGYPT New Egypt, NJ, August 8, 1998...... Roger Luareno of Ivyland, PA captured his third win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway in the special 40 lap Modified feature Saturday night.


New Egypt, NJ, August 8, 1998...... Roger Luareno of Ivyland, PA captured his third win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway in the special 40 lap Modified feature Saturday night. Laureno used the bottom groove of the very fast, tacky oval to charge from his 16th starting spot to his second win in the last three weeks. Laureno collected $3000 for the win, and again increased his already large point lead in the process. “The track was smooth and fast tonight and I just tried to be consistant and stay out of trouble, ” stated a happy Laureno, “Once I had the lead I knew we had a good shot.”

Tim Tanner Jr. lead the 25 car field down to starter Frank Resta’s green flag. Tanner Jr. quickly took command followed closely by Johnny Leach and his dad Tim Tanner Sr. Tanner Sr. was looking strong as he grabbed second from Leach on lap 6, then charged into the lead on lap 11. Laureno was now just appearing into the top five, and he smoothly worked his way into second just before halfway. Then on lap 21, Laureno made the winning pass as he slid under his brother-in- law (Tanner Sr.) in turn #3. Once in front, Laureno cruised home to victory a comfortable 10 car lengths ahead.

Tanner Sr., also of Ivyland, PA collected $2000 for his strong second place finish, which was his third runner-up finish of the season. Rich Polenz of Flemington captured the $1000 third prize, as the top three positions all paid more than usual for this 40 lapper. Brian Jones of East Windsor ran a strong race to post a fourth place finish, and Fritz Epright of Whitehouse Station NJ had another solid outing in the Michael Bros. #51M finishing fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Kenny Brightbill, Steve Moss, Carmen Infante, Fred Dmuchowski, and Tom Hager. The three heat winners were Brightbill, Johnny Leach, and Laureno, while last weeks winner Tom Carberry took top honors in the consolation.

In the best Mid-State Communications 5 lap Cash Dash so far this season, Kenny Brightbill edged last weeks winner Tom Carberry by a bumper at the finish line to take home the $540 first prize.

In the 20 lap Sportsman feature event, Richie Cass Sr. of Hightstown NJ wheeled the Gunther #307 to his first win here in 1998. Rick Grosso Jr. of Belle Mead NJ was coming on strong late in the race, but had to settle for second. Keith Brightbill of Sinking Spring PA had another strong outing in the Tabloid Graphics #19 as he picked up third. Rich Scagliotta of Bound Brook NJ came home fourth, while Mt. Laurel’s own Bob Worthington rallied back after an early race mishap to grab another top five finish. Sportsman heats were won by George Garies, Cass Sr., and Larry McVay while Jack Swain won the consolation.

In the fifteen lap Street Stock feature, the top three cars of Ralph Garguilo, Jeff Carpenter and Ted Hargrove all tangled together going into turn three on the final lap, and when the smoke cleared, Al Cheney III of Cranbury had claimed his first win here at New Egypt. Second was Kenny Guyer of Browns Mills NJ, who came all the way from a last row starting position, Rocco Infante of Hamilton ended up in third, followed by Ken Hammond and Glen Dugan.

Next week, Saturday August 15, the ARDC Carquest Midget Series returns to New Egypt for a repeat performance, as they will join the regular show of Street Stocks, Sportsman and Modifieds, with the Modifieds capping off the evening with a regular 30 lap feature paying $2500 to win. Gates will open at 3pm, with Warm-ups at 5pm and the first heat a half hour early at 5:30.

Also, next week on Wed. August 19th will be the Heat Wave 50, a 50 lap open competition Modified event paying $5000 to win. Although the tire rule is open, all cars must run a 92” right rear tire and have a DIRT or Tri-track style body. NES’ regular weight rules apply. This show will also feature Sportsman and will get underway at 7pm. 8/8/98 MODIFIED RESULTS

1st Heat: 1.Brightbill 2.Drayton 3.Tanner Sr. 4.McClaren 5.Sena 6.Infante 7.Velenger 8.Grbac 9.Cranmer 10.Butler 11.Singley

2nd Heat: 1.Leach 2.Jones 3.Polenz 4.Tanner Jr. 5.Hendrickson 6.Radd 7.Hager 8.Carberry 9.Wismer 10.Amundson

3rd Heat: 1.Laureno 2.Myers 3.Dmuchowski 4.Epright 5.Hendershot 6.Moss 7.Rue 8.Makuch 9.Bitner 10.Van Gorder

‘B’ Main: 1.Carberry 2.Hager 3.Cranmer 4.Velenger 5.Butler 6.Van Gorder 7.Singley 8.Rue 9.Makuch 10.Amundson 11.Wismer 12.Grbac 13.Bitner (Fans Prov.): Singley

Cash Dash: 1.Brightbill ($540)

Feature (40 laps):

1.Roger Laureno 2.Tim Tanner Sr. 3.Rich Polenz 4.Brian Jones 5.Fritz Epright 6.Kenny Brightbill 7.Steve Moss 8.Carmen Infante 9.Fred Dmuchowski 10.Tom Hager 11.Gary Butler 12.Johnny Leach 13.Archie Myers IV 14.Mike Hendershot 15.Scott Van Gorder 16.Bob Drayton17.Gary Velenger 18.Todd Singley 19.Tim Tanner Jr. 20.Mike Sena 21.Tom Carberry 22.Donnie Radd 23.Wade Hendrickson 24.Scott McClaren 25.Eddie Cranmer DNQ: Chris Grbac, Mark Bitner, Ralph Rue, Kenny Wismer III, George Makuch, Jack Amundson, Johnny Gray


1st Heat: 1.Gareis Robbins 2.Papiez Adams 3.Eppolite 4.Worthington McCoy 5.Dallet Koczon 6.Grosso Jr. 7.Swain 8.Scagliotta 9.Foy 10.Archer 11.Kline 12.Lawrence

2nd Heat: 1.Cass Sr. 2.Keimig 3.McIntyre 4.Coffey 5.Kessler 6.Lippencott. 7.Roth 8.Gallmayer 9.Koczon 10.Priore 11.Harris 12.Mears

3rd Heat: 1.McVay 2.Huchko 3.Robbins 4.David 5.Marra 6.Brightbill 7.Sarvis 8.Adams 9.Pfister10.Ely 11.McCoy 12.Irwin 13.Taylor Jr.

‘B’ Main: 1.Swain 2.Scagliotta 3.Sarvis 4.Koczon 5.Roth 6.McCoy 7.Mears 8.Archer 9.Foy 10.Adams 11.Kline 12.Priore 13.Ely 14.Gallmayer 15.Harris 16.Irwin 17.Pfister 18.Lawrence 19.Taylor Jr.

Feature (20 Laps):

1.Richie Cass Sr. 2.Rick Grosso Jr. 3.Keith Brightbill 4.Rich Scagliotta 5.Bob Worthington 6.Kenny Huchko 7.Kevin McCoy 8.Dick Robbins 9.Larry McVay 10.Bryan Coffey 11.Mike David 12.Tom Eppolite Jr. 13.Joe Sarvis 14.Korey Keimig 15.George Gareis 16.Matt Papiez 17.Jim Dallett 18.Paul Marra 19.Mickey Kessler 20.Kenny Roth 21.Keith McIntyre22.Larry Lippencott 23.Ron John Koczon 24.Jack Swain DNQ: Rob Gallmayer, Rob Pfister, J.C. Mears, Lee Lawrence, Donnie Kline, Jim Harris, Pat Priore, Larry Archer, Art Adams, Johnny Foy, Brian Ely, Lee Taylor DMV


1st Heat: 1.Carpenter 2.Mongiello 3.Wier 4.Hollaway 5.Dugan 6.Hammond 7.Garguilo 8.Bauma 9.Bifulco 10.Search 11.Fleming 12.Guyer

2nd Heat: 1.Hargrove 2.Infante 3.Cheney 4.Leote 5.Morrison 6.Conaway 7.Horner 8.Rudolph 9.Giris10.Grant 11.Freiberger 12.Hurley 13.Borden (DNS)

Feature (15 laps):1.Al Cheney III 2.Ken Guyer 3.Rocco Infante 4.Ken Hammond 5.Glen Dugan 6.Mick Search 7.Mike Rudolph 8.Tony Horner 9.Kevin Bifulco 10.Tom Holloway 11.Ralph Garguilo 12.Jeff Carpenter 13.Allen Hurley 14.Ted Hargrove15.Nick Giris 16.Pat Freiberger 17.Steve Mongeillo 18.Billy Bauma 19.Bruce Leote 20.Pat Conaway 21.Jay Morrison 22.Dan Wier 23.Kory Fleming 24.Chip Grant 25.Ian Borden (DNS)

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Mike David , Johnny Gray , Brian Jones