New Egypt Speedway Results 2000/08/26

It's Lucky 13 For Pauch At New Egypt New Egypt, NJ (Aug. 26) -- Frenchtown, NJ's Billy Pauch continued his unbeatable streak at New Egypt Speedway, cruising in for his 13th Modified feature win of the season on Saturday night. In the highly ...

It's Lucky 13 For Pauch At New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (Aug. 26) -- Frenchtown, NJ's Billy Pauch continued his unbeatable streak at New Egypt Speedway, cruising in for his 13th Modified feature win of the season on Saturday night. In the highly publicized Modified Future Winner's bonus event, sponsored by Mid-State Communications, Mike Hendershot popped the champagne for his first career victory.

"The track was really tricky. I had to search for a fast line tonight," said Pauch, who scored lucky number 13 on his wife Barbara’s birthday.

Mike Hendershot was in control, leading the first 19 laps of the regular 30-lap Modified feature until falling victim to a left-rear flat and the patented Pauch charge. Pauch swooped and took over when Hendershot faltered and held the point through to the end. Kenny Brightbill's eleventh hour heroics earned him a second-place finish with Tim Tanner Jr. third, Rick Grosso Jr. fourth and Keith Hoffman fifth.

Hendershot, of Hackettstown, NJ, got a second chance to shine in the 20-lap Mid-State Communications Future Winner's event, a bonus race for Modified drivers who have never won on the New Egypt clay. Hendershot shot from 12th to show sixth at the halfway point. When the top six were inverted during a competition yellow, Hendershot had his way, holding off a strong bid from Darren McCaughey to score his career-first Modified win. Gary Velenger, Rocco Infante and Rick Grosso Jr. finished third through fifth.

New Egypt, NJ's Ron John Koczon took the lead on lap 8 and outpowered the competition to score his fifth win this year in the 20-lap Sportsman main event. Tom Eppolite made it a race to the end, finishing second, with Donnie Kline, Rich Scagliotta and Larry Archer right behind.

It was win number 6 for Flemington, NJ's Billy Bauer in the 15-lap Street Stock fray. Bauer used the high line to pass runner-up Pat Conaway and third-place Pat Freiberger for the victory. Ralph Gargiulo and Bill Gerber completed the top five.

Winners of the OfficeMates 5 of Englewood Cliffs Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature event were Pauch (Mods, 15.346), Koczon (Sportsman, 16.284) and Bauer (Street Stock, 17.195).

This Saturday, September 2, it's 724 Auto Sales Night at New Egypt Speedway, with big-block Modifieds, Sportsman and an extra-distance, double-points show for Street Stocks. Gates open at 4 pm, with racing getting underway at 6:30 pm. Adult admission is $12, children 7-12 are $4, and kids 6 and under are free. For more information, call the track at (609) 758-1900. <pre> 8/26/00 MODIFIED RESULTS

1st Heat: 1.Grosso Jr. 2.Hendershot 3.Tanner Jr. 4.Pauch 5.Worthington 6.McCaughey 2nd Heat: 1.Velenger 2.Osmun 3.Carberry 4.Drayton 5.Wismer 6.Ostwald 3rd Heat: 1.Brightbill 2.Adams 3.Hager 4.Moss 5.Bohn 6.Hoffman B Main: 1.Butler 2.Bitner 3.Hager 4.Keimig 5.Dubovick 6.Miloszar (Fans Prov: Tanner Sr.)

Feature (30 laps):

1.Billy Pauch 2.Kenny Brightbill 3.Tim Tanner Jr. 4.Rick Grosso Jr. 5.Keith Hoffman 6.Gary Butler 7.Steve Moss 8.Bob Drayton 9.Darren McCaughey 10.Mark Bitner 11.Gary Hager 12.Bob Worthington 13.Bill Dubovick 14.Tim Tanner Sr. 15.Kenny Wismer III 16.Mike Hendershot 17.Tom Carberry 18.Gary Velenger 19.John Miloszar 20.Eddie Bohn 21.Tom Hager 22.Willie Osmun 23.Korey Keimig 24.Doug Ostwald 25.Art Adams

DNQ: Craig Pondish, Barry Voss, Phil McCloughan, Bryant Brown, Kenny Hammond.

Future Winners Feature (20 laps):

1.Mike Hendershot 2.Darren McCaughey 3.Gary Velenger 4.Rocco Infante 5.Rick Grosso Jr. 6.Eddie Bohn 7.Gary Hager 8.Tim Tanner Sr. 9.John Miloszar 10.Art Adams 11.Craig Pondish 12.Doug Ostwald 13.Kenny Wismer III 14.Barry Voss 15.Korey Keimig 16.Bill Dubovick DNS: Bryant Brown, Willie Osmun, Kenny Hammond.


1st Heat: 1.Stravinsky 2.Eppolite 3.Papiez 4.Toth 5.Pearson 6.Ely 2nd Heat: 1.Archer 2.Kline 3.Reed 4.Hoffman 5.Koczon 6.Tomasko 3rd Heat: 1.Wasson 2.Scagliotta 3.Liedl 4.Kessler 5.Pfister 6.Flesch 1st B Main: 1.Infante 2.Hager 3.Marra 4.McClelland 2nd B Main: 1.Godown 2.Swain 3.Foster 4.David

Feature (20 Laps):

1.Ron John Koczon 2.Tom Eppolite Jr. 3.Donnie Kline 4.Rich Scagliotta 5.Larry Archer 6.Keith Foster 7.Joe Infante 8.Jack Swain 9.Gary Hager 10.Jeff Carpenter 11.Matt Papiez 12.Dave Hoffman 13.Brien Ely 14.Mike Toth 15.Gene Stravinsky 16.Paul Marra Sr. 17.Chuck Flesch 18.Mike David 19.John McClelland 20.Brian Pearson 21.Mickey Kessler 22.Doug Liedl 23.Chris Wasson 24.Rob Pfister 25.Ryan Godown 26.Larry Reed 27.Tom Tomasko

DNQ: Mike Reutter Jr., J.C. Mears, Lee Taylor Jr., Joe Szwed, Mike Mongiello III, Mike King, Joey Tinnes Jr., Chuck Barker, Dave Bailey, Keith Fleming.


1st Heat: 1.Freiberger 2.Fleming 3.Berardi 4.Bauer 5.Ensinger 6.Miscoski 2nd Heat: 1.Quick 2.Cologna 3.Reed 4.Gerber 5.Bauma 6.Conaway 3rd Heat: 1.Quinlan 2.Whitehouse 3.Giannino 4.Cheney 5.Gargiulo 6.Search B Main: 1.Page 2.Haines 3.Wagner 4.Hewitt 5.Snook 6.Nixon 7.Horner

Feature (15 laps):

1.Billy Bauer 2.Pat Conaway 3.Pat Freiberger 4.Ralph Gargiulo 5.Bill Gerber 6.Carol Whitehouse 7.Bryan Reed 8.Rich Page 9.Al Cheney III 10.Kory Fleming 11.Brian Wagner 12.Jim Hewitt 13.Dale Haines 14.George Quinlan 15.Dave Cologna 16.Spider Ensinger 17.Rick Giannino 18.Joel Quick 19.Ken Snook 20.Billy Bauma 21.Evan Berardi 22.Tim Horner 23.Brian Nixon 24.Mick Search DNS: Bill Miscoski.

DNQ: Steve Mongiello, Pat Hires, Art Avery, Adam Guker, Jeff Bethman, Shawn Carr, Allen Hurley, Jon Hewitt, Rich Roveda Jr., Jason Seredy.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Mike David , Billy Pauch