New Egypt Speedway results 2000-08-19

New Egypt, NJ (Aug. 19) -- Frenchtown, NJ's Billy Pauch worked traffic with relative ease to post his 12th Modified feature win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night. "Tommy (Carberry) always runs good and I didn’t...

New Egypt, NJ (Aug. 19) -- Frenchtown, NJ's Billy Pauch worked traffic with relative ease to post his 12th Modified feature win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night.

"Tommy (Carberry) always runs good and I didn’t know where Kenny (Brightbill) was," Pauch informed the huge crowd on hand. "It was a tough track tonight -- I had to move around to find the fast groove."

Two-time feature winner Carberry quickly took command at the drop of the green flag, with Pauch and Kenny Brightbill weaving their way through to the front. Just prior to half-way, Pauch grabbed second and set his sights on the leader. On lap 16, Pauch took control claim but Brightbill wasn't far out of the picture. Pauch opened his lead on the field, while Brightbill finally dropped Carberry to third on lap 23. Brightbill tried to take a bead on the leader, but he was too far gone. It was Pauch notching Number 12 on the year with Brightbill second, Carberry third, Eddie Bohn fourth and Tim Tanner Jr. fifth.

Mt Laurel, NJ's Jack Swain came out on top after a torrid battle with Lee Taylor Jr. to score his first Sportsman feature win of the season. "I’ve got to thank my wife (Carol) for letting me race on our anniversary," Swain related. Taylor led much of the event until Swain was able to power out front just past the crossed flags to take charge. Swain led Taylor, Larry Archer, Matt Papiez and Mickey Kessler to the line.

Relative newcomer Rich Page captured his career-first win in the 15-lap Street Stock main. "I knew the best guys were coming," Page exclaimed afterward. Page grabbed the point at the start and fought off several challengers, including defending track champion Pat Conaway, to grab the win. Trailing Page at the checker were Conaway, George Quinlan, Bill Gerber and Bryan Reed.

Winners of the OfficeMates 5 of Englewood Cliffs Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature event were Carberry (Mods, 15.593), Papiez (Sportsman, 16.693) and Gerber (Street Stock, 17.647).

Kids were in the spotlight all night long at New Egypt, as John and Shirley Leach of Delran Auto Body sponsored the second annual Kids' Big Wheel Challenge, awarding trophies to the top three in three age groups. The younger set also grabbed markers to design the paint cheme on Adam Guker's new Street Stock, creating "The Kids' Car," as Guker proudly called it.

This Saturday, August 26, it's Mid-State Communications Future Winner's Race for Modifieds, a bonus event for drivers who have never won a feature at the track; Modifieds, Sportsman and Street Stocks fill the regular card.Gates open at 4 pm, racing gets underway at 6:30 pm. Adult admission is $14, children 7-12 are $5, and kids 6 and under are free. For more information, call (609) 758-1900.



1st Heat: 1.Grosso Jr. 2.Tanner Jr. 3.Bohn 4.Hoffman 5.Brown 6.Hammond

2nd Heat: 1.Carberry 2.T.Hager 3.Osmun 4.Worthington 5.Wismer III 6.Ostwald

3rd Heat: 1.Pauch 2.Butler 3.Moss 4.Bitner 5.McCaughey 6.Adams

B Main: 1.Brightbill 2.Infante 3.Hendershot 4.Drayton 5.Ploski 6.Voss (Fans Prov: Tanner Sr.)

Feature (30 laps):

1.Billy Pauch 2.Kenny Brightbill 3.Tom Carberry 4.Eddie Bohn 5.Tim Tanner Jr. 6.Bob Drayton 7.Gary Butler 8.Mark Bitner 9.Steve Moss 10.Keith Hoffman 11.Willie Osmun 12.Bob Worthington 13.Darren McCaughey 14.Stan Ploski III 15.Barry Voss 16.Doug Ostwald 17.Bryant Brown 18.Kenny Hammond 19.Tim Tanner Sr. 20.Art Adams 21.Mike Hendershot 22.Kenny Wismer III 23.Rick Grosso Jr. 24.Rocco Infante 25.Tom Hager

DNQ: Korey Keimig, John Miloszar, John Thompson, Craig Pondish.


1st Heat: 1.Papiez 2.Reed 3.Pearson 4.Mears 5.Scagliotta

2nd Heat: 1.Taylor Jr. 2.Koczon 3.Eppolite 4.Foster 5.Kessler

3rd Heat: 1.Pfister 2.Swain 3.Tinnes Jr. 4.Tomasko 5.David

4th Heat: 1.Archer 2.Stravinsky 3.McClelland 4.Toth 5.Hager

1st B Main: 1.Reutter Jr. 2.Wasson 3.Fleming 4.Flesch

2nd B Main: 1.Ely 2.Priore 3.Marra Sr. 4.Romano

Feature (20 Laps): 1.Jack Swain 2.Lee Taylor Jr. 3.Larry Archer 4.Matt Papiez 5.Mickey Kessler 6.Rich Scagliotta 7.Mike Toth 8.Mike Lyons 9.Ron John Koczon 10.J.C. Mears 11.Gary Hager 12.Tom Eppolite Jr. 13.Gene Stravinsky 14.Mike Reutter Jr. 15.Brian Pearson 16.Brien Ely 17.Paul Marra Sr. 18.Joey Tinnes Jr. 19.Pat Priore 20.Keith Fleming 21.John McClelland 22.John Romano Jr. 23.Keith Foster 24.Chris Wasson 25.Larry Reed 26.Tom Tomasko 27.Rob Pfister 28.Mike David 29.Chuck Flesch

DNQ: Brad Force, Jeff Carpenter, Drew Grosso, Jeff Geigis, Barry Christ, Jimmy Spence, Joe Szwed, Jim Zangli, Mike Mongiello III, Darrell Delnero, Jimmy Hoelterling, Kyle Morrison, Donnie Kline, Doug Leidl, Dominick Buffalino Jr., Steve Ramsey, Dave Bailey, Chuck Barker, Ryan Godown, Scott Reid, Dave Hoffman.


1st Heat: 1.Freiberger 2.Reed 3.Cooke 4.Quinlan 5.Conaway 6.Bauma

2nd Heat: 1.Gargiulo 2.Whitehouse 3.Cheney 4.Bauer 5.Jo.Hewitt 6.Page

3rd Heat: 1.B.Gerber 2.Cologna 3.Mongiello 4.Mongeau 5.Berardi 6.Bifulco

B Main: 1.Guyer 2.Wagner 3.Ensinger 4.Garey 5.Nixon 6.Haines

Feature (15 laps):1.Rich Page 2.Pat Conaway 3.George Quinlan 4.Bill Gerber 5.Bryan Reed 6.Ralph Gargiulo 7.Carol Whitehouse 8.Al Cheney III 9.Billy Bauer 10.Evan Berardi 11.Kim Cooke 12.Kenny Guyer 13.Pat Freiberger 14.Billy Bauma 15.Dale Haines 16.Kevin Bifulco 17.Brian Wagner 18.Brian Nixon 19.Joe Garey 20.John Hewitt 21.Joe Mongeau 22.Spider Ensinger 23.Steve Mongiello 24.Dave Cologna

DNQ: Nick Giris, Jason Seredy, Kory Fleming, Jim Hewitt, Shawn Carr, Art Avery, Chip Grant, Tony Horner, Bill Miscoski, Art Hanson, Joel Quick, Rich Roveda Jr.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Stock car
Drivers Mike David , Billy Pauch , John Romano , John Thompson